We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Alona Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Alona Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

418 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Alona Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 414: English reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2017

just back from an overnight in alona hotel for wedding. must say our room was excellent very spacious and clean we were on ground floor and very handy for everything breakfast was good and plenty of choice. staff very helpful bar prices bit steep but normal for this type of hotel would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Agnes M
Reviewed 4 February 2017

This is the third time at this venue for a family celebration. The food is poor ,the alcohol is way overpriced and of a very poor selection and quality, Now I have booked a different venue for another family party. N The venue itself is in a good location the staff are pleasant and helpful and that made the night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael M
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Fabulous. Celebrating my partners 60th Birthday with a meal at the Alona, from start to finish couldn't fault it. The staff were great Louise the manager ensured everything ran smoothly, the staff serving the meal Emma and William also very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Have a jazz band on a Saturday night and they sung Happy Birthday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Alona for 4 nights whilst in the area on business. Room was massive and very clean, bathroom much the same. Food at breakfast was very good and the restaurant in the evening was top class. Well done to all staff. I will return when next in the area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2017

My Husband and I stayed at the Alona for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year, whilst visiting family. Our room was ground floor, quiet, spacious and well presented, with clean quality linen and towels, the bathroom was immaculate. 'Customer Service' from Housekeeping, Reception and Restaurant staff was excellent, everyone was very friendly and helpful with nothing being too much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OurOpinion1
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

I took my wife for an over night let me start by saying front of house were great were things went pear shape is the restaurant 1 hour before food was served I complained the manageress spoke to me like rubbish I will not be back she made you feel like your where a competitive winner I sent an email...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James D
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for staying with us at the Alona Hotel and I am pleased that you found the staff to be helpful and pleasant. I regret very much that you had to wait on your dinner in the restaurant however I believe the wait to be 35 minutes form the point of order to the meal being served...

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Took my autistic son for a wee hotel break over the Christmas period. The best thing about this hotel, is that they are very autistic friendly and very welcoming towards him, and accommodated for his dietary peculiarities. That said, the online site I used to book the break, stated that this was a four star hotel. It wasn't. 1. While...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank IndraJoyce
cambridge
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We spent 1 night here while visiting family nearby. Our room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. We were on the ground floor next to the car park and didn't hear any noise despite a couple of functions being on at the hotel. Staff were friendly and polite and breakfast well set out with lots of choice. Especially liked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spice01
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Despite being given 6 month's notice, the Alona hotel cannot cater to dietary requirements or maintain any agreements. After confirming a menu via email, an entirely different, substandard meal was served. The chef appears to have no imagination and no understanding of how to prepare a menu without animal products (i.e. Melon for starter and dessert, tomato couscous for a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JakeEnhader
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest I do thank you for your comments and I can assure you that we do cater for all dietary requirements wherever possible. We have had many varied requests regarding diets this festive period and the chef waits to a few days before the event to decide on the ingredients for the menu. The menu you have quoted was...

Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

firstly the staff were amazing they were so helpful and polite, the meal was outstanding everyone loved it and then the band were absolutely amazing everyone was on their feet all night yet again and amazing Christmas party booking again for next year it was that good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McFarlane1
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your very positive comments regarding our Christmas party nights. We have had a very positive feed back and are pleased that you have enjoyed the whole experience. We look forward to welcoming you again next year. Kind Regards IAN DONNACHIE General Manager Alona Hotel

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
0.6 km away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
3.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
606 reviews
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
5.3 km away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Alona Hotel

Address: Strathclyde Country Park Hamilton Road, Motherwell ML1 3WB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Price Range: $121 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alona Hotel Motherwell
The Alona Hotel Motherwell, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Family Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Alona Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Alona Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front facing rooms have beautiful outlook”
157ws, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Some 1st or 2nd floor rooms have French balconies for a great view of Strathclyde Loch”
bobsG9894ZM, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“View on to the lake is lovely”
caral463, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Hotel in Strathclyde Park with Olympic Lake but next to M&Ds Amusement park.”
PrincesMargaret, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are decent!”
AviemoreScotland, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5