We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Alona Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Alona Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 401: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed at the Alona for 4 nights whilst in the area on business. Room was massive and very clean, bathroom much the same. Food at breakfast was very good and the restaurant in the evening was top class. Well done to all staff. I will return when next in the area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My Husband and I stayed at the Alona for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year, whilst visiting family. Our room was ground floor, quiet, spacious and well presented, with clean quality linen and towels, the bathroom was immaculate. 'Customer Service' from Housekeeping, Reception and Restaurant staff was excellent, everyone was very friendly and helpful with nothing being too much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tagmeg50
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I took my wife for an over night let me start by saying front of house were great were things went pear shape is the restaurant 1 hour before food was served I complained the manageress spoke to me like rubbish I will not be back she made you feel like your where a competitive winner I sent an email...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James D
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for staying with us at the Alona Hotel and I am pleased that you found the staff to be helpful and pleasant. I regret very much that you had to wait on your dinner in the restaurant however I believe the wait to be 35 minutes form the point of order to the meal being served...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Took my autistic son for a wee hotel break over the Christmas period. The best thing about this hotel, is that they are very autistic friendly and very welcoming towards him, and accommodated for his dietary peculiarities. That said, the online site I used to book the break, stated that this was a four star hotel. It wasn't. 1. While...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IndraJoyce
cambridge
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 1 night here while visiting family nearby. Our room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. We were on the ground floor next to the car park and didn't hear any noise despite a couple of functions being on at the hotel. Staff were friendly and polite and breakfast well set out with lots of choice. Especially liked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spice01
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Despite being given 6 month's notice, the Alona hotel cannot cater to dietary requirements or maintain any agreements. After confirming a menu via email, an entirely different, substandard meal was served. The chef appears to have no imagination and no understanding of how to prepare a menu without animal products (i.e. Melon for starter and dessert, tomato couscous for a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JakeEnhader
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest I do thank you for your comments and I can assure you that we do cater for all dietary requirements wherever possible. We have had many varied requests regarding diets this festive period and the chef waits to a few days before the event to decide on the ingredients for the menu. The menu you have quoted was...

Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

firstly the staff were amazing they were so helpful and polite, the meal was outstanding everyone loved it and then the band were absolutely amazing everyone was on their feet all night yet again and amazing Christmas party booking again for next year it was that good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McFarlane1
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your very positive comments regarding our Christmas party nights. We have had a very positive feed back and are pleased that you have enjoyed the whole experience. We look forward to welcoming you again next year. Kind Regards IAN DONNACHIE General Manager Alona Hotel

Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

The Alina hotel is set in the beautiful Strathclyde park. Very picturesque whether it's summer or winter. Great views of the lake from my hotel window. The reception staff are always friendly and efficient when checking you in. The rooms are very spacious and very comfortable. Mood lighting in the room and brighter lights in the bathroom with big mirrors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aqmissy2016
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights on my monthly trip to Scotland and I have to say what a pleasant place. Good size and well fitted out rooms, good food and friendly staff This is one to keep on your radar if you are ever in the area as it is very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D-J-Griffith
Coulsdon, Surrey
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Stayed for three nights with my wife visiting family in Motherwell. Have stayed at the Alona before on a business trip some years ago, and first impressions on the revisit were very good. The hotel is very clean and tidy. The room on the second floor over looked the car park. It was spotless and well prepared. Stayed B &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James A

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
3.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
5.3 km away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
771 reviews
6.2 km away
Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
589 reviews
3.9 km away
Avonbridge Hotel
Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
319 reviews
22.3 km away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Alona Hotel

Address: Strathclyde Country Park Hamilton Road, Motherwell ML1 3WB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Price Range: $101 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Alona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alona Hotel Motherwell
The Alona Hotel Motherwell, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Family Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Business Hotel in Motherwell
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Alona Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Alona Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are decent!”
 of 5 bubbles AviemoreScotland, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the park/road. On the other side there is a wedding hall, which may be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles amosp955, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Great location, questionable service, overpriced.”
 of 5 bubbles bellissimomare, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles Janet3197, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the front of hotel if you want a quiet night and if you know in advance a wedding is going on”
 of 5 bubbles fysit, 6 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay