We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
See the most recent reviews
Showing 323: English reviews
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Stayed here again after a long overnight flight. Was checked in by Isabella who I think is the manager here, she was so friendly, helpful and attentive - checked me in early and found me a preferred room to ensure minimal noise. Any staff I have spoken to at this hotel all have the same helpful, kind manner as their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daren777
GMStrathclyde, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review

Darren Thank you so much for your feedback. The GM and the rest of the team will be delighted with your very kind comments I will certainly pass this on to them and our housekeeping department. I look forward to your next stay here at the hotel Kind Regards.

Weston-super-Mare
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Not the fault of the hotel or the staff, but due to extensive road works on the motorway island, I found this a nightmare to find due to diversions. Hotel is modern, clean and the staff were extremely welcoming. However, I found the menu very limited. Breakfast OK, but would not want to eat here very often as would find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 540RegA
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your feedback. Sorry about the Limited Menu Choice we will look at the offering with the view to adding further items. I totally sympathise with problems guests have trying to negotiate the roadworks outside the hotel this is unavoidable but will be worth it when the project is completed as access will be much better...

Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Stayed here one night while attending a friend's party in the Motherwell area. Check in was fine and staff were friendly. Room looked fine but no pillow selection :o(. Inside of our window had bird poop on it which was not very nice and not sure why housekeeping had not taken care of this. Windows were also in need of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfall in product. I have passed on our comments to our orange juice supplier for review. The information you provided regarding the bus drivers running their engines early in the morning will also be passed to the tour group. Your feedback will also be reviewed with our maintenance and housekeeping team. .I hope...

Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, it was originally planned two but checked out early and went to another hotel for the second night. Struggled to get a hotel in the area so booked into here, I have stayed at several Holiday Inn Express hotels, unfortunately this is the worst one I have stayed at. It needs modernising, the bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Milo999
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. The Hotel is undergoing a refurbishment programme and we are making continuous improvements. The staffing levels will be reviewed based on your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies. Kind regards Isabella

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

I'm staying at the holiday inn on business. The hotel itself is just what you'd expect for a budget hotel but the poor staff just don't seem able to cope with anything. It's not their fault, they're all very nice but I think the communication just isn't there, especially in the restaurant. They brought me the wrong order first, then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littleemma88
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations . I will use your comments to improve our service Thanks you for your feedback. Kind Regards Isabella

near ASCOT, UK
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Rooms were good for a budget hotel - good shower. Breakfast was better than I thought it would be with Fresh Fruit as well as hot items. Others found their rooms a bit noisy - but I slept through fine. However even those getting there by car had trouble as there were massive road works on the roundabout by it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HelenSunninghill
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Yes I agree it is a mission to get here as the road works are creating many problems for our guests. Please bear with this as it will benefit guests in the future by reducing the traffic coming onto the roundabout.. Kind Regards Isabella

Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

Staff are great, location good but generally the hotel needs a face lift. My room was grim, the carpets where covered in stains, the walls are paper thin. I had a disabled room which if fine but the shower room is dangerous, the floor floods with water from the shower as the shower curtains hang so far off the floor....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LCJuce
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. My sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. Your feedback will be used to improve our product and services Kind Regards Isabella Little

Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015

The hotel is a Holiday Inn Express - basic, no frills and probably good for a one night stay, which is what it is designed for. We stayed there for three nights as part of a group and it was just about adequate. Room was fine if basic, breakfast was good and the bar prices excellent. The only real downer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain R
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review

Dear guest please accept my apologies for not coming up to our usual high standards. Your feedback will be used to improve our product and services Kind Regards Isabella

Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

Typical holiday inn, clean and tidy rooms, needs a few quick spending on it to bring it into the twentieth century, TV are about the size of a postage stamp and not HD( what year are we in?) NO SKY SPORTS.....(why? ) (used to have it) really friendly staff, but tired hotel. Worst holiday inn I've stayed inn(and I've stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ste p
GMStrathclyde, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review

Dear Mr Patton My most sincere apologies. Your stay here was certainly not the best. I will address your concerns with the team and make the changes needed to improve our offering. Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015

room was basic with a sofa bed, tv with sky 1 and the normal 5 channels, bathroom was a shower room with no bath. Bed was ok not amazing but passable. Breakfast was a buffet with sausage, scrambed egg, beans and bacon available hot, or cereals, toast, cheese etc, It was quite nice, but if you arrive late like i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faye J
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that we did not come up to your expectations with Breakfast. We are reviewing our breakfast offering and will take your comments on board to improve our breakfast product Kind Regards Isabella.

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
0.1 km away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
3.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
8.2 km away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Motherwell) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
408 reviews
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
5.6 km away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 120 bedroom Express by Holiday Inn Strathclyde Park M74, JCT.5, is ideal for Corporate and Leisure clients, offering ensuite accommodation including Complimentary Continental Breakfast with selected Hot Items, FREE Car Parking spaces for upto 120 cars. We are on Jct 5 off the M74. The Express By Holiday Inn Strathclyde is located in the Strathclyde Country park with Motherwell Food Park with Companies like Honeywell and TNT close by. Hamilton,Motherwell and Eurocentral are within 5 minutes driving distance from the Hotel. Glasgow Airport is a 25 minute drive and Edinburgh Airport is a 40 minute drive from the Hotel.The Hotel is situated within the complex of attractions, such as Strathclyde Country Park with its Watersports centre, country walks and purpose built M & D's Theme Park (open all year round with FREE entry). Other places of interest are David Livingston Centre, the Time Capsule Leisure Centre and a Golf Course just 1.5 miles away. Glasgow City Centre is just a 25 minutes drive from the Hotel and easily accessible to Gleneagles and St. Andrews Golf Courses . There is a Bar/ Lounge available for resident guests from 11am to 3am daily and 2 Meeting rooms for upto 30 people offering all audio / visual equipment and business facilities. High Speed Internet Access available throughout the Hotel ( FREE in the Lounge Area.) Sorry but we Do Not Accept Pets! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5

Address: Strathclyde Country Park 1 Hamilton Road | Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Price Range: $90 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park Hotel Motherwell
Holiday Inn Express Motherwell
Holiday Inn Motherwell
Motherwell Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 Motherwell, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Belfast. northern ireland
St. Maarten-St. Martin
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“any room farthest from the motorway”
 of 5 bubbles peter202, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room was at the rear (second floor, 210) and had a great view over the park. It was really quiet even with the windows open.”
 of 5 bubbles bmcglone42, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 2nd floor(of 2) and there was no external noise.Sadly, can't say the same internally about noise levels due to children.”
 of 5 bubbles wolvesgal, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Overlooking main car park is better than back car park.”
 of 5 bubbles Burnland, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor rooms at the back are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Havana_Blast, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5