We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Woodhouse Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Woodhouse Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 78: English reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We arrived late after traveling all day and a young lady greeted us and checked us in promptly. The room was very clean and a nice touch of mugs and tea cakes in a little biscuit tin was cute. We went down to the bar area which was a decent size and had a night cap, was nice and relaxing....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aleisha D
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Woodhouse Hotel on a recommendation of a friend and we were not disappointed. Our room was warm, clean,very comfortable and our kids slept soundly in this family room. Our meal at night was lovely and could not fault it and the Breakfast we had this morning was very nice with plenty of choice to suit everyone....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil R
LILIANWOOD99, Owner at Woodhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks and really appreciate the feedback

Wallasey
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Great room great staff great food cant fault it. Special shout out to the hotel management who took great care of us the bottle of Prosecco on arrival was very welcome and the local knowledge of restaurants and bars came in very useful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Musa I
LILIANWOOD99, Owner at Woodhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks and really appreciate the feedback

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2016

My partner and I were booked overnight for the weekend of the Open, just a couple of weeks before my 14 year old son decided that he wanted to come along too. I called the hotel and advised of the situation and they said that it was no problem and they would provide a Z bed for our room. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NeetSully
LILIANWOOD99, Owner at Woodhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your review and feedback. Best Regards, Willie

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Overall I would say we've had a good stay here when we stayed at The Woodhouse Hotel when going to The Open golf at Troon. The rooms are fine, breakfast is nice and cannot fault the staff/owner as far as being friendly and the fact they provided breakfast earlier than normal at the weekend since most of their guests like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndrewPilgrim
LILIANWOOD99, Owner at Woodhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Many Thanks for the feedback, Apologies for our confusion over the restaurant opening times, the web site has now been amended. Thanks again. Best Regards, Willie

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

greeted by Willie the owner who was friendly and very helpful offering to carry my suitcase to our room. a bottle of prosecco was delivered to our room with their compliments. we decided to have an evening meal in which was very nice. we were told that guests were allowed to order any take away and if so to ask...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tcparky
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

We were given a very friendly welcome and shown to our adequate room. The room and toilet were clean, the shower could have been a lot more powerful but the bath was small and I'm of average size so a big fellow would struggle to stretch his legs when having a bath. The bed and floor boards were very squeaky....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albert S
LILIANWOOD99, Owner at Woodhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feed back and comments, we will investigate the squeaks, regarding the shower we have a plumber looking at installing an additional pump on the hot and cold feeds but it must be balanced otherwise there is a danger of the water running hot and cold intermittingly so hopefully a solution in hand. Best Regards, Willie

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We stayed here for one night whilst on our way home to Sussex following a family visit. This is a small, privately owned hotel which has all the amenities to be expected for the sensible price charged. Our room was large and comfortable – the only issue being the shower head which was supported by a piece of scotch tape;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David K
LILIANWOOD99, Owner at Woodhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feed back and comments, we will investigate the tape as new to us. Pleased you enjoyed your stay. Best Regards, Willie

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Returned to the Woodhouse after 3 years and we were disappointed. The room was clean but a little tired. The shower stall was tiny and the shower head had mildew/mould. Breakfasts were freshly cooked and enjoyable except for Sunday, when there was a buffet. When we arrived for breakfast the selection of food had been sitting for a considerable time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
LILIANWOOD99, Owner at Woodhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us, your comments will be added to our on going pre-planned maintenance and refurbishment lists, it is a pity that during your visit while in conversation with us you did not mention your unhappiness as we would have liked the opportunity to rectify. Thank you again, Willie

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Stayed for one night as a couple, during the Viking Festival last year, lovely little place, basic but all we needed. returned after a long day/night out, slept well, breakfast was best we've had when staying in somewhere like this, all fresh and well cooked. would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzooz
LILIANWOOD99, Owner at Woodhouse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for kind words - its always nice to get positive feedback - hope to see you at this years festival.

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Largs
0.7 km away
Brisbane House Hotel
0.2 km away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
145 reviews
11.5 km away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 1 in West Kilbride
1,324 reviews
0.5 km away
Tigh-na-Ligh Guesthouse
0.3 km away
The Queen's Hotel
The Queen's Hotel
#19 of 24 in Largs
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Woodhouse Hotel

Address: 2 Barr Crescent, Largs KA30 8PX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Price Range: $132 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Woodhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhouse Hotel Largs, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Woodhouse Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Four poster bed with balcony”
 of 5 bubbles musatvt, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is free wi-fi but we couldn't get onto it even with the password provided.”
 of 5 bubbles NeetSully, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We did not stay here but only had dinner in their restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles Janet14M, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Room no 1. With the 4-poster bed and the balcony. it has views to the sea and overlooks the garden.”
 of 5 bubbles SiggeBjork, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Go for the four poster bed room,it has lovely views.”
 of 5 bubbles andysc387, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay