We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bankes Arms Hotel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corfe Castle
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
The Bankes Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Bankes Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 102: English reviews
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Called in for a quick drink before catching the steam train to Swanage and thought it was a lovely place. On our return we called in again to have a late lunch and found the food to be equally as good as the view. Can highly recommend the Tropical Chicken Burger and Thai Fish Cakes that we had - the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonesyx2
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed the whole offering from the food and drink to the special location. The menu is always evolving and we hope to see you back here again soon for more of the same. Kindest regards, George

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017

The Dorset Gold beer was an excellent start to the evening. A very good choice of starters on the menu and the specials board; black pudding and mushrooms on brioche were good picks. Another good selection of mains; the lemon sole was plentiful and tasty and the gammon steak very satisfying. Staff were attentive and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are delighted that you had a good experience and enjoyed meals from both the specials board and the menu. I will pass your comments onto all of the staff as they work very hard to make sure that every customer has a positive experience. We hope that...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We have been for meals on three previous occasions and were satisfied with all aspects. On this occasion we were extremely disappointed, we arrived to be greeted by two separate couples complaining about their meals, their problems were being sorted out by the young waitresses in full hearing of the Manager who was standing behind the bar, we said to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry H
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We will take your comments on board and look into what happened on your visit and see where we can improve. I note that you have had a good experience on your previous visits with us and these have not been reviewed. We are building a good reputation...

Sheffield, South Yorks.
Reviewed 4 April 2017

I wanted a light lunch in Corfe and my wife did not need to eat but fancied a glass of wine. We saw the menu outside the Bankes Arms and thought it might be slightly pricey but offered a good choice. I opted for the spicy chicken wrap and we both chose a glass of Merlot. A good decision -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YorkshirePud_7
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the whole experience. The prices reflect the offering that we provide and believe that it is fantastic value for money. Our French Bar Merlot is unique to us in the area as well as many of the other wines and spirits. The...

Reviewed 27 March 2017

We came here recently for my son's 18th. The hotel was very busy with it being St Patrick's Day but the staff were very attentive. The food was amazing. There were not enough sweets left for us all to have our first choice and the waiting staff did get our orders mixed up. However they were very quick and willing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennie P
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your sons 18th held with us. We are all delighted that your group enjoyed such a special occasion and had a good time. I will pass all of your comments back onto the staff. We will look into the mix up and ingrain that in ongoing staff training to ensure that all...

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2017

About the bar, not the hotel. After a long walk across the hills we finished with a visit to this lovely bar. Four people and an Airedale dog all thoroughly welcomed. The guy behind the bar remembered our round (not too taxing), lit the fire for us without us asking and then when we were thinking of leaving to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. What fantastic feedback and we hope that every customer that walks in has the same experience. We are gaining a reputation as a home away from home where you can spend an afternoon and while away the hours. We look forward to welcoming you back for more of...

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend and I visited this lovely hotel and restaurant for the first time this weekend having been recommended by friends. The food was excellent and the staff were friendly and accommodating. We had a great evening and even got to thank the chef at the end :). Would highly recommend. Thank you! Alex

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro198419
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. The whole team is delighted that you have had an enjoyable visit and all of your feedback will be passed on. All of the staff work extremely hard to ensure that each and every customer has the same experience as you have had. We hope to see you...

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Just had the biggest con ever , rack of lamb for near £20 , got three lamb lolly pops about 1/4" thick and some form of potato and cold green beans , an apologie from the waitress that did not seem to surprised , but no offer of any discount , or voucher for a reason to return. Not to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank steve_5736
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. Please can you drop me a line at George@bankesarmshotel.co.uk so that we can arrange for you to revisit for another meal as we are all disappointed that you did not enjoy your anniversary dinner. We look forward to hearing from you. Kindest regards, George

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We used to enjoy coming here. We popped in for lunch and it was very disappointing. The coffee was very nice. My wife had an omelette which was good but served with what appeared to taste like yesterday's reheated vegetables. My ploughman's was yesterday's salad, horrible dry Italian bread (with a ploughman's) and 4 small slices of dried up crusty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrisKarenAndJake
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit. We will be looking at the Ploughmans and making sure every serving is up to the standard that we expect. All of the ingredients are fresh and we do not re-use food for the sake of it. We...

Reviewed 27 February 2017

We came up on the steam train from Swanage and went here for lunch as recommended by a friend.We were not disappointed. Quick, friendly service and very friendly, i just had the soup of the day which was really nice and served with toasted garlic ciabatta - yummy. some of our party had more substantial meals and were also very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are all delighted that you had such a good visit with us and it is great that you were recommended by a friend. All of the team work hard to ensure that every customer has the same experience and I will pass your feedback onto them. We...

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
0.1 km away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
907 reviews
7.6 km away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
7.4 km away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
402 reviews
11.2 km away
Harbour Heights Hotel
9.5 km away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Boutique Hotel offering fine food and a selection of Real Ales Ciders Spirits Wines and Soft Drinks, Garden and Terrace. We are continuing with our extensive renovation and will be opening our Hotel rooms shortly. Meanwhile we have opened our fully renovated bar and restaurant ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bankes Arms Hotel

Address: 23 East Street | Corfe Castle, Corfe Castle BH20 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Price Range: $69 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bankes Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bankes Arms Hotel
Bankes Arms Corfe Castle
The Bankes Arms Hotel Corfe Castle, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bankes Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Bankes Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As far as I know the rooms are not ready yet, we went into the Restaurant”
NoraJ210, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Cant advise on the rooms as we only had a meal”
BoBBournemouth, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Did not use the rooms only the pub for lunch.”
breakychef, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you go into the beer garden for a drink, take your camera you can pictures of the trains pulling in and out of Corfe Castle station”
600arthurd, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay in the hotel. We only had food.”
Space1985, 12 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5