We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bankes Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corfe Castle
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Bankes Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 87: English reviews
Start your review of The Bankes Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

About the bar, not the hotel. After a long walk across the hills we finished with a visit to this lovely bar. Four people and an Airedale dog all thoroughly welcomed. The guy behind the bar remembered our round (not too taxing), lit the fire for us without us asking and then when we were thinking of leaving to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. What fantastic feedback and we hope that every customer that walks in has the same experience. We are gaining a reputation as a home away from home where you can spend an afternoon and while away the hours. We look forward to welcoming you back for more of...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My girlfriend and I visited this lovely hotel and restaurant for the first time this weekend having been recommended by friends. The food was excellent and the staff were friendly and accommodating. We had a great evening and even got to thank the chef at the end :). Would highly recommend. Thank you! Alex

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro198419
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. The whole team is delighted that you have had an enjoyable visit and all of your feedback will be passed on. All of the staff work extremely hard to ensure that each and every customer has the same experience as you have had. We hope to see you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just had the biggest con ever , rack of lamb for near £20 , got three lamb lolly pops about 1/4" thick and some form of potato and cold green beans , an apologie from the waitress that did not seem to surprised , but no offer of any discount , or voucher for a reason to return. Not to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank steve_5736
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. Please can you drop me a line at George@bankesarmshotel.co.uk so that we can arrange for you to revisit for another meal as we are all disappointed that you did not enjoy your anniversary dinner. We look forward to hearing from you. Kindest regards, George

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We used to enjoy coming here. We popped in for lunch and it was very disappointing. The coffee was very nice. My wife had an omelette which was good but served with what appeared to taste like yesterday's reheated vegetables. My ploughman's was yesterday's salad, horrible dry Italian bread (with a ploughman's) and 4 small slices of dried up crusty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrisKarenAndJake
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit. We will be looking at the Ploughmans and making sure every serving is up to the standard that we expect. All of the ingredients are fresh and we do not re-use food for the sake of it. We...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came up on the steam train from Swanage and went here for lunch as recommended by a friend.We were not disappointed. Quick, friendly service and very friendly, i just had the soup of the day which was really nice and served with toasted garlic ciabatta - yummy. some of our party had more substantial meals and were also very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are all delighted that you had such a good visit with us and it is great that you were recommended by a friend. All of the team work hard to ensure that every customer has the same experience and I will pass your feedback onto them. We...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Dipped in for a quick bite having travelled up from Swanage on the steam railway. Great service, good food served very quickly. Dogs welcome which was good as we had two with us. In the summer they have a beer garden with views of the railway and castle. Worth dipping in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simes2762
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are all delighted that you had a good experience and enjoyed the surroundings so much. We are happy to welcome dogs and always try and ensure that they receive a treat when they arrive. We are very lucky to have such great views of the whole castle...

Swanage, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Arranged to meet our friend Jeanette here for a drink, we had a look at the menu and could not resist trying something , I had Fish & chips my partner had Seafood Lingune (sorry bad spelling) Jeanette's looked super to can't remember what it was called, the wine and the service was first class and would highly recommend The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nora J
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are delighted that you had such a great experience when you visited us. All of the team from the kitchen to the front of house all work together to make sure that everyone that walks in the door is made to feel welcome and given great service....

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

I have given this review a while before writing to allow the management ample time to rectify the situation. However I am now assuming the manager is hiding away hoping we have forgotten our experience and will not bring to light the sorry tale. Last year we decided we would celebrate New Years Eve in style and booked by telephone...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MarkandNicAllen
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I have only just become aware of all of this and have written an e-mail to you. You have been invited back for a full complimentary meal for your party. I can only apologise again. We were fully booked on New Years Eve due to the...

Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We called in for Sunday lunch without a booking and my dog with us , so we thought we might not be that welcome but the staff couldn't have been more helpful and with great food , great service , good beer and a roaring fire it was pretty much perfect !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. The whole team is delighted that you enjoyed the visit from start to finish. I know how hard everyone works here to ensure that everyone is catered for and every customer is made to feel like they are in a home away from home from the minute they...

Wimborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

On arrival, the staff appeared disorganised and vague about where we should sit. Eventually, we were shown to a table at the back of the hotel. This was also where the coffee was being made and the constant banging to empty the coffee grounds throughout our meal did not make for a relaxing atmosphere. I had been looking forward to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank littlebear56
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. There should always be a member of staff present to greet each customer on arrival and ensure that there is table space and you are shown to your table prior to assigning a waiter/waitress to you. If this was not the case then I apologise. Unfortunately the coffee...

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfe Castle
0.1 km away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
877 reviews
7.6 km away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
7.4 km away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
389 reviews
6.2 km away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
323 reviews
11.2 km away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Boutique Hotel offering fine food and a selection of Real Ales Ciders Spirits Wines and Soft Drinks, Garden and Terrace. We are continuing with our extensive renovation and will be opening our Hotel rooms shortly. Meanwhile we have opened our fully renovated bar and restaurant ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bankes Arms Hotel

Address: 23 East Street | Corfe Castle, Corfe Castle BH20 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Corfe Castle
Price Range: $65 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bankes Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bankes Arms Hotel
Bankes Arms Corfe Castle
The Bankes Arms Hotel Corfe Castle, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bankes Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Bankes Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As far as I know the rooms are not ready yet, we went into the Restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles NoraJ210, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Cant advise on the rooms as we only had a meal”
 of 5 bubbles BoBBournemouth, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Did not use the rooms only the pub for lunch.”
 of 5 bubbles breakychef, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you go into the beer garden for a drink, take your camera you can pictures of the trains pulling in and out of Corfe Castle station”
 of 5 bubbles 600arthurd, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay in the hotel. We only had food.”
 of 5 bubbles Space1985, 12 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5