We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Beacon Hotel

PricelineUSD 96*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Beacon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Royal Beacon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 352: English reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 5 days. Rooms are dated but very clean. The staff were exceptional. They went above and beyond to accomodate my elderly parents. A special call out to Emily and Olga. The food was first class all freshly prepared and presented. Everyone mentions parking issues and yes that was my only complaint, I have a big car and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie Your feedback is greatly appreciated and please be assured we have passed these comments onto our staff here. The hotel's location makes us very popular and the service and meals make our guests return for more, on many occasions. Parking facilities are limited by space but do change minute by minute on the surrounding roads and you are...

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Great hotel been there for many years and hopefully many more to come. The view from the room was fantastic. The room was very clean and tidy when we got there. The breakfast was great and very filling. We will be back next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathan c
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan Many thanks for taking the time to provide some lovely feedback after your recent stay with us. The hotel's sea view rooms are extremely popular, as are the wonderful meals our guests enjoy. We share all these comments with our team, as this will help us maintain our standards. Happy travelling and we look forward to your return....

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the hotel. It's in an ideal location. We always found parking. The staff were friendly and the room was clean, quiet and comfortable, with a great view of the estuary from our 3rd floor room. The only thing we were a little disappointed with, was the price of the breakfast, when it is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah We are very pleased to read of your enjoyment after your recent stay with us, so thank you for using this popular website to provide feedback. You are quite correct in describing the lovely views from our hotel bedrooms. We do offer various room rates which offer inclusive breakfast and other value rates which don't, which gives a...

Cornwall
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Sweet old fashioned hotel, but be warned if you stay when they've got a function on... "BRING YOUR EARPLUGS"! The room walls are thin! Rooms are cleanish if you don't look too hard. Faded glamour with no thought to 21st century about sums it up.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GwavasLake
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GwavasLake Thanks for your feedback and I was sorry to read of your noise disruption, we do try to move guests who are not part of a celebration, to areas where it is quieter. unfortunately our hotel is so popular sometimes we can't. All our celebrations finish at 12midnight which hopefully isn't too late. Yours sincerely John E. Pye...

cheltenham
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Booked a room at The Royal Beacon as I wanted to visit Exmouth again and stayed here before (see my previous review) . Staff extremely pleasant. Room and bathroom large with wonderful views of the sea. However hotel is rather tired in many areas. Bed uncomfortable. Shower very difficult to maintain temperature. Carpet and chairs stained, the curtain hooks needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilyCheltenham
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lily We're always delighted to receive feedback after our guests have stayed with us, so thank you for the comments you have provided. There is a note on our website advising of Donato's closure. Please be assured we take all comments on board and utilise these to monitor and maintain our standards. We're hopeful the hotel is about to...

Guildford
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We stayed here for one night in August 2015 and one night August 2016. Both times we had the most fantastic evening meal in the same Hotels 1810 restaurant. The Hotel is run by very friendly staff and has a really good bar.. The menus on line are out of date and we did mention this at reception and this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank millsano
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Millsano Thank you for the lovely comments you have provided after your recent stay at our popular sea facing hotel. We're delighted you have enjoyed the service and meals provided by our excellent members of staff. They have worked here for many years and take great pride in their work. Please be assured we pass on all these remarks...

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed 4 nights here whilst attending a family funeral and spending time with my family. I was very impressed with my room, yes it's old but it has loads of charm too. There were a few issues with the alarm going off and I had a problem with the lights in my room. The alarm issue was annoying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne J
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lynne J Many thanks for the valuable feedback you have provided, we are always interested in what our guests feel after they've stayed at our popular hotel. We offer great value, superb sea views, excellent service and tremendous locally sourced food. We always discuss these comments and they, very much, form part of our future planning for improvements. I'm...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely location on the sea front and helpful staff, but the bed was very hard and uncomfortable and I was disturbed by the noises of other guests, dripping showers/taps and passing traffic behind the hotel all night keeping me awake :( such a shame!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bambam2803
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bambam 2803 Thank you for complimenting our staff and I am pleased your thought our location suitable. Sorry the other things spoiled you nights sleep, our location is close to many local attractions and the free parking close by means many people pass by. As one of our enchanted guests, we're always pleased to read comments on this popular...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Though this building could do with of TLC our stay was truly lovely. The bed was comfortable everything was clean but slightly dated. We stayed in room 308 and had incredible views of the beach and harbour. It was a spacious attic room a little warm on a hot day but not too hot to complain about. Shame the sash...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah J It is always very pleasing to read what our guests feel after staying at our sea facing hotel, so many thanks for your feedback. I can assure you we pass on all remarks to our team members, when discussed at our team briefings. You are quite correct in describing the wonderful views our sea facing rooms have...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016

A second visit here as convenient when seeing friends in Exmouth. We just use the room so have budget double in the courtyard at the back. Can see what others mean about rather 'tired' decorative order in some places, expensive to renovate these big old typically British seaside hotels. We will return because staff are pleasant, excellent shower, nice toiletries,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drmary145
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Drmary145 We're delighted to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. Our budget rooms offer excellent value and are extremely popular and also offer a contrast to our sea view rooms, if used as you did. Our hotel location is terrific as we are close to the town centre and also to the wonderful sea...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.2 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.4 km away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.1 km away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#10 of 11 in Exmouth
154 reviews
0.4 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range: $91 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Beacon Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Langley, Buckinghamshire
St Ives, United Kingdom
2 months ago
4 months ago
Toronto
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Beacon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor annexe rooms are right next to a road albeit a quiet one.”
applegate69, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front are bigger and have a sea view.”
873wendyf, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“I can only talk about The Courtyard adjoining the back of the hotel and I certainly wouldn't recommentd that based on my recent experience”
mikeward124, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for main hotel for more character. Upper floors quiet with good views.”
morgano12, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“I imagine front rooms are best rather than those over courtyard.”
jvgregory, 5 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 96* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 96
Hotwire.com
Hotels.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates