We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Beacon Hotel

Booking.comUSD 81*
View Deal
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Beacon Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 353: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Beacon Hotel
 Click to rate
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked this hotel for a weekend break. On arrival, we were welcomed and checked in very efficiently. We appreciated the complimentary ticket for tea or coffee in the lounge bar when we had unpacked and the lift to our 2nd floor bedroom. We were glad that we had pre-booked a car parking space as there were no spaces on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I had a one night stay on business. Booking the room was ok and check in was efficient. My room was in the annexe building and I think it had recently been refurbished. The Wifi does not work in this part of the hotel and receptionist said they were looking into it but it still did not work. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank applegate69
SamanthasDavies, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear applegate69, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the Royal Beacon. I am disappointed to hear of the problems you had throughout your stay. I have shared these comments with the relevant teams. Thank you very much for your feedback, without such feedback we would be unable to change our...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed for one night visiting family nearby so went for the cheaper courtyard rooms. Ours was spotlessly clean although the decor was tired and the mattress was basic and very soft. I was too frightened to try and open the ancient sash windows so got a bit hot. The welcome on arrival was friendly and efficient. The complementary tea/coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
SamanthasDavies, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wendy F, Thank you very much for your review following your stay at the Royal Beacon. I am delighted to hear that you had a friendly and efficient welcome to the hotel and that your room was clean. Thank you for your feedback in regards to the rooms we are in the progress of refurbishing the hotel now and...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel was very nice and the staff friendly. Room was okay but with it being a room on the third floor we had sloping ceilings which caused a few banged heads! We were also able to hear the people in the next room talk clearly ..... and snore! Breakfast was delicious and the service and prices in their bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkandCaroline2013
SamanthasDavies, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MarkandCaroline2013, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectation with the standard of our rooms but I am delighted to hear that you found our staff friendly and the breakfast to be delicious. I have shared your comments with the teams so thank...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A very well appointed hotel with nice rooms. A special mention to the receptionist staff Amanda who was able to find the time of trains to Paris, transcribe some shorthand which was baffling me, as well as sorting out a software glitch on my PC that enabled me to get online. Thank you so much you helped my business with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank alastairrr
SamanthasDavies, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear alastairr, Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review following your stay at the Royal Beacon. I have shared your comments with team it great to hear they were able to make your stay. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Beacon in the near future. Kind Regards Samantha Davies

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed one night but found the staff very welcoming. Our room was quite large with good amenities but overall a bit shabby, the carpet was quite grubby with a few stains and there were marks on the walls but the worse thing was the beds they creaked and the springs all ground together when you sat on them,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keith e e
SamanthasDavies, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear keith e e, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the Royal Beacon. I am delighted to hear that your breakfast was 1st class. I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectation with our room, I have shared your comments with my team and we put...

Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I only stayed the one night but it was very comfortable. A large bedroom room and bathroom. All the usual items like hairdryer, selection of free toiletries and hospitality tray. Breakfast offered a varied and locally sourced continental or full English. Staff welcoming and helpful. Would recommend this hotel to friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carole g
SamanthasDavies, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear carole g, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the Royal Beacon. I am delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay and you found all our staff welcoming and helpful. I have shared this information with my team so thank you. We will look forward to welcoming you...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night at this very traditional seaside hotel.  It brought back memories of childhood holidays.  Our room on the second floor had a lovely side sea view.  It was a twin room with a very spacious bathroom. The decor is dated and the carpets desperately need replaced but the room was spotlessly clean and I especially liked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tam Carr
SamanthasDavies, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tam Carr, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review as this. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and your found the room to be clean. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Beacon again soon. Kind Regards Samantha Davies

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice hotel within easy walk of Exmouth sea front and town facilities, staff were very friendly and helpful. The decor could do with a make over as hotel looking dated and it's age. Would stay again, food was excellent (breakfast) and more than enough to chose from.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
SamanthasDavies, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave B, Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel following your stay at the Royal Beacon Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stayed and found our staff friendly and the food excellent. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Beacon in the near future. Kind Regards Samantha Davies

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked at short notice but was found a lovely sea view room . Staff very helpfully though out the hotel. Food was well presented at Breakfast and Dinner. Only disappointing was there was no working bath...But given that the new management have only been in place a few months. I am sure by our next visited the up grade will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
SamanthasDavies, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandra P, Thank you very much for your review following your stay at the Royal Beacon. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and the staff were helpful. I have shared the comments with them. I am disappointed to hear about the bath. As you said though we are a new company that has just bought...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.2 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.4 km away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.1 km away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
157 reviews
0.4 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range: $91 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Beacon Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Langley, Buckinghamshire
St Ives, United Kingdom
2 months ago
4 months ago
Toronto
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Beacon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can get a sea view room, the views are absolutely stunning! The pictures I provide are from the triple paned bay window in our room.”
  • view across to Dawlish Warren from our window
  • View to the left from our window of the seafront
  • View to the right from our window towards the Estuary
N4371OWalisong, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor annexe rooms are right next to a road albeit a quiet one.”
applegate69, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front are bigger and have a sea view.”
873wendyf, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“I can only talk about The Courtyard adjoining the back of the hotel and I certainly wouldn't recommentd that based on my recent experience”
mikeward124, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for main hotel for more character. Upper floors quiet with good views.”
morgano12, 7 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 81* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 81
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates