We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Beacon Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Beacon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 328: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Beacon Hotel
 Click to rate
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed today NEW

Rooms need updating awful parking couldn't move the car because you wouldn't get back in our car was damaged and was told by staff they had cctv but it wasn't working So we are stuck with a repair bill we booked for 3nights but only stayed one but still charged for two plus a £25 cancellation fee UNFAIR!! We should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alanjohn1953
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed 1 night in this hotel. It is very closed to promenade and sea. However, do not make your choice based on offered parking. First of all, most of the time is full because is tiny, second of all, you do not want even to park there. It is impossible to drive in&out because how other cars are parked....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Agusia01
new milton
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed 1 night in the courtyard section of the hotel, room very clean. Staff very friendly.The only bad bit about the stay was the noise of the boiler/plumbing during the night, it actually sounded like someone was trying to break into the room was a truncheon, this happened when we were asleep and when it happened I nearly shot out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slaphead
SamanthasDavies, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear slaphead, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and the breakfast to be excellent. I am sorry to hear about the courtyard problems, I have looked into this and we are currently fixing this problem now and we have put in...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very quick checking in service with very pleasant and helpful receptionist. Went over and beyond what is expected to make sure that all our requirements were made available to us at the very earliest time. Very comfortable hotel with much better options available on the breakfast buffet. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone. Only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank June F
SamanthasDavies, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear June F, Thank you very much for your review following your stay here at the Royal Beacon. I am delighted to hear you found our staff pleasant and helpful. We definitely do strive to give great customer service and getting great reviews like this makes it worth while, so thank you. I am glad we were able to reserve...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Perfect location close to city centre, beach, park/gardens, restaurants. Very nice breakfast - tasty & good selection; friendly & helpful staff Good size of room No designed parking Very 'funny' shower- Impossible to operate! 'Funny' lift Not really comfortable bed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martina H
SamanthasDavies, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martina H, Thank you very much for your review following your stay at the Royal Beacon. I am delighted to hear that you found our location perfect. We are very lucky with our location and views we have here. I am glad you found our staff friendly and helpful. We will look forward to welcoming you back to Royal...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The customer service at this hotel is practically non-existent. We had a problem in our room with a shower that we refused to use because of the amount of black mould and pink bacteria. On reporting the problem the only offer was the use of another shower in a room that to get to would mean walking across a courtyard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nigel8304
SamanthasDavies, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nigel8304, Thank you very much for your review following your stay at the Royal Beacon. Firstly let me apologise that your expectations were not met on this occasion, we strive to make everybody’s stay an enjoyable one and are disappointed that you were not happy. I’m afraid the issues you encountered during the stay were difficult to resolve immediately...

Dorset, UK
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was my second stay at hotel over 20 year period and sadly my stay of 4 days had problems as follows:- On arrival reported no hot water in my room which happened everyday. The boiler had to be reset each day to sort problem out. Maintenance Boiler Company should have been called to correct fault with boiler. On paying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie B
SamanthasDavies, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ronnie B, Thank you very much for your review following your stay at the Royal Beacon. I am disappointed to hear of the troubles you had with the boiler throughout your stay, we do have a good maintenance programme in place now and we have got our maintenance team to fix these problems in hand. I have investigated the...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to this hotel Saturday turned up at 1.30 left bags in porters room as going to a wedding and we told the hotel that we would book in late that evening.We turned up to book in paid the porter and he said I'll take you to your room 506 we got to door and card would not open door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moody92017
SamanthasDavies, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear moody92017, Thank you very much for your review following your stay at the Royal Beacon. I am disappointed to hear that you felt I was flippant when speaking with you on departure. I was extremely sorry for the unfortunate situation that arose at the weekend. I have further looked into this situation and we have altered our check in...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed here over Easter. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff. Peculiarly, no bitter on tap in the bar, no ginger beer and no bar snacks (not even crisps!). So while the bar gets a thumbs down, the rest of the place is great. Nice spacious room, friendly staff and a superb breakfast (good range of cooked options...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
SamanthasDavies, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tim C, Thank you very much for your review following your stay. I am disappointed to hear of there being limited supplies behind the bar, I have looked into this and I have passed your comments on to the team. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and found the staff friendly. We will look forward to...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a beautiful room with a 4 poster bed (room 205). Only stayed 1 night but would definitely return. Great view from the windows overlooking the beach and sea. Just 2 minutes walk away from the Exmouth Pavillions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rawham
SamanthasDavies, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rawham, Thank you very much for leaving a review following your stay at the Royal Beacon. I am delighted to hear you were able to enjoy our views, which we are very lucky to have. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Beacon in the future. Kind Regards Samantha Davies

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.2 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.4 km away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.1 km away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
151 reviews
0.4 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range: $93 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Beacon Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Langley, Buckinghamshire
St Ives, United Kingdom
1 month ago
3 months ago
Toronto
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Beacon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to see the room before booking.”
nigel8304, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have less A/C unit noise”
RonnieB317, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't get room 100”
moody92017, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view.”
Y2282NWkarens, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lovely views from the rooms in the front”
Birdwatcherhampshire, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5