We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Beacon Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Beacon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 285: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Beacon Hotel
 Click to rate
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for two nights. Good location for the Sea front and the town. Hotel very clean but a little dated with threadbare carpets. Very creaky floors, I wouldn't have liked to have been in the room below us. Bring it up to date and it will be the lovely place we knew very many years ago. No problems with staff,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart0645
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights, staff friendly and welcoming, i had a courtyard room which was very comfortable if basic but excellent value. Breakfast was excellent in choice and presentation. This hotel has its own unique atmosphere not found in modern hotels and is in a perfect location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugh F
SamanthasDavies, Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hugh F, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff friendly and welcoming. We do have a perfect location and I'm happy you were able to enjoy this. We will look forward to welcoming you to the Royal Beacon again in the future. Regards Samantha...

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2017

12 ladies lunched at the Royal Beacon and we weren't disappointed. Food was good and so was the service. We would definitely go again. Paying separately wasn't a problem which saved us having to sort out who owed what.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN N
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan N We are very pleased to receive such lovely comments after your recent ladies lunch with us. All such comments are shared with our staff, so thank you for taking the time to write on this poplar website. Our Chefs and Restaurant staff work very enthusiastically to ensure the food and service enhances everyone's visit and when they...

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Beautiful historical building desperately requiring a cash injection to replenish the elegance it deserves in its elegant tranquil position. Midweek overnight stop, free on street parking if car park full. Unfortunately the management have let this hotel deteriorate too far and lacks any attention to detail, threadbare carpets, dated furniture and fittings, so many light bulbs and fittings broken, broken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil A
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neil Thank you for providing some valuable feedback after staying with us. Our hotel has done exceptionally well, in very difficult circumstances, so you will be delighted to learn it will move into a new lifespan soon. Many thanks again and happy travelling. Yours sincerely John E. Pye Hotel Manager

Reviewed 10 January 2017

Reliable local hotel, it is a bit dated and could do with some TLC, however staff friendly and breakfast super as it is cooked to order rather than a buffet. Good location for town centre and sea front with its lovely views and beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bridget B
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bridget We're delighted to read of your pleasure, after staying at our hotel. You're quite correct in the description of our superb sea views and good location. Our staff take great enjoyment from serving our cooked breakfasts, so thanks for your comments. Happy New Year Yours sincerely John E. Pye Hotel Manager

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

My mother in law booked us a table at the 1810 restaurant to celebrate my birthday, when we arrived the bar area very quiet, got a drink, and an obviously embarrassed young waitress came over, handed us menus and said there is"no lamb left, only 2 chicken, 1 beef and 1 prawn left" then scurried away! Reading the menu it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beth p
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beth P Many thanks for your constructive feedback, I am sorry that your visit did not match our normal very high standards. Our Sunday roast has been served for many years and is extremely popular. I can only apologise, that on a quiet Sunday evening in January we let you down. Do please return and I'm sure you'll enjoy...

Reviewed 8 January 2017

Do not visit. I recently stayed for 1 night here and will not be returning. It seems like the management have just given up. There are holes in the carpets and huge rips in the wallpaper. My room smelled musty and the paint on one wall of the bathroom looked like it had been applied with a toothbrush. On top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Phil H Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls you have described, as one of our enchanted guests, I'm sorry you did not report your disappointment at the time of checking in, as we would have been delighted to change your room. Our rooms are booked on various rates - some include breakfast and some are booked on...

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Me partner and I stayed here for one night as a last minute booking and it was just what we were looking for. I'm not sure how many rooms surrounding us were occupied but it was very quiet and peaceful. We could not hear anyone else in the other rooms or above us. The view of the sea and beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie W
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ellie Many thanks for taking the time to provide some very valuable feedback on our hotel, after staying with us. We're delighted you enjoyed the lovely views, service and food quality. All comments are shared with our staff, to assist in maintaining our service standards. Thank you again and happy travelling in 2017. Yours sincerely John E. Pye Hotel...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

The food on new years eve was lovely in the 1810 restaurant. The shower in room 401 'whistled' when it was turnt on which meant we did not want to disturb other guests so mainly showered during the day which was annoying. The mattress closest to the door had a dip in it and gave me back ache on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marshallex
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marshallex We're very grateful for the feedback you have provided, after your recent stay with us. Please be assured all such comments are utilised when reviewing our maintenance and refurbishment plans. The comments are also shared with our team, as it is always nice when we receive such compliments. Happy New Year 2017 John E. Pye Hotel Manager

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

In desperate need of a refurbishment which I understand may be in the pipeline. Filthy bedroom carpet that was covered in stains. Very helpful and friendly staff. Poor kippers for breakfast. Breakfast napkins were very inferior. Would find better quality napkins in a cheap coffee bar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulFarrant
Royal B, General Manager at Royal Beacon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul Your feedback, as one of our enchanted guests, is greatly appreciated. We're always pleased to receive all comments, as it provides invaluable help when planning refurbishments and operational service standards. Please accept my apologies for breakfast, as a supplier napkin error could not be changed over the holiday period. Thanks again for acknowledging our friendly and helpful staff...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.2 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.5 km away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.4 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 10 in Exmouth
162 reviews
13.6 km away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is situated in a quiet, elevated position on the Exmouth's finest Regency terrace, once home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens of the Devon coastline; from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point. For over two centuries, this elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are a business traveller or staying just for pleasure, the Royal Beacon Hotel will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Beacon Hotel

Address: The Beacon, Exmouth EX8 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range: $96 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beacon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Beacon Exmouth
Royal Beacon Hotel Exmouth, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Beacon Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Langley, Buckinghamshire
1 month ago
Toronto
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Beacon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A seaward facing room is the best, but I had a rear facing room overlooking the Estuary which was still pretty good.”
 of 5 bubbles 956stephenj, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 304 is at the rear of the build but has a great estuary view”
 of 5 bubbles MrsA28, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Probably best not to book a budget room if you are looking to impress or relax in comfort. Upper rooms at the front would have a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles D8390LBpeterh, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“sea view are the best but in need of attention”
 of 5 bubbles Oyster545, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are staying for more than a couple of nights go for the main building, front facing rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles N0rahB, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5