We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Bay Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

443 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 443: English reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Location of the hotel was great, we arrived early and couldn't check in so we went for a wander. Once we could check in we were told our rooms were on the 2nd floor and 1st floor- it was like a rabbit warren trying to find our rooms - when we booked our 3 rooms on 1 booking you think...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victoria G
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. As you say the location of our hotel is great and I am pleased you found our staff good. Regarding the allocation of bedrooms, we do always put people with the same booking reference as close together as the room types allow, however we have a wide variety of room...

Wimborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2015

What is it with Bay Hotels? They don't seem to want their guests in their rooms from breakfast till about 5pm based on my experience the weekend Storm Desmond passed through in early December. The heating was off in the rooms all day, so it was dark before the radiators started warming up. Even worse I discovered the latch on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete_Wimborne
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you found the room cold at times. We do have heaters available at reception, which we would have gladly put in your room had you asked. Pleased to here that you found the restaurant service excellent. Regards Kenny Sharp General Manager

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2015

just back from shearings weekend trip, refurbed room excellent, food excellent, staff excellent (really friendly), shows excellent, probably the best shearings hotel we have stayed in, we met the manager and he proved if you have a good leader your whole system works.....one complaint which is probably head office matter why does this break still include a visit to seaton....just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john44642
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very positive review. I will pass on your comments to the staff and I will certainly speak to the people concerned about the trip to Seaton. It is a shame to waste what time you have on a trip that seems not to be worth the effort. We appreciate feedback about everything as then...

Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

Arrived on a coach trip with Sherrings manger greeted us on the coach reception was quick gave us our keys and cases arrived at the room quickly,we had payed extra for a sea view with a bath but room was huge but only a shower no problem was changed straight away to another room with a lovely three corner bath...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maureen R
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your glowing review. It is always a pleasure to read that a customer has been 100% happy with their holiday. We do try to meet all customers requirements and I can see by your review that you were very happy. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Kenny Sharp

Tickhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

The room was posh the bathroom need update to the standard of the room the entertainment was bingo singer and quiz which is ok if your over 60 thefood was nice I don't eat meat their didn't have anything I like when I got their but their try to sort out food I liked for the whole week the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly and that you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be happy to know that we are currently upgrading many bathrooms to compliment the bedrooms which have already been refurbished. Thank you again and I hope we can welcome you back again....

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2015

On arrival at the Bay Grand Hotel,we were greeted very pleasanty,given keys to room which was very large and welcoming all facilities were available very nice bathroom and the rooms and in fact the whole hotel was pleasantly warm all through our stay,the restaurant was very well organised and the food was hot and very nice,the lounges were nicely laid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mavis D
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review it is very good to read how much you enjoyed your stay here at the Grand in Exmouth, I will pass your comments on to the rest of the team, hope to see you again soon. Thank you Kenny

County Durham
Reviewed 12 November 2015

We have visited this hotel, as part of a 4-day coach trip with National Holidays, several times over the last 8 years or so. Our recent visit was the best so far. Our room seemed to have been renovated recently with matching furniture and soft furnishings. The breakfast and dinner were tasty and the quantities were sufficient. Based on our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timrandall
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. As a returning customer it is always good to hear that you think we are continually improving. Everybody tries their upmost to ensure that guests enjoy their breaks with us. Bedrooms are constantly undergoing refurbishment and I am pleased that you found the furnishings to your taste. I will pass on your comments to the...

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2015

Staff were friendly and helpful, Rooms were kept clean,and tea, coffee, and towels changed every day, waitress service was very efficient and polite. Good variety of food on the menus. The hotel in places looked a bit tired. Would go there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tmax81
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am really pleased to hear that you found our staff to be so pleasant. I see you enjoyed everything about your break with us and I hope we can welcome you back to Exmouth in the future. Kind Regards Kenny Sharp

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2015

Not for single travellers looking for a quiet relaxing time ! Entertainment on offer every evening - bingo, quiz and singer (?) Food average, but excellent service from waitresses with usually very little waiting time. Some rooms refurbished - I was lucky ! Room spotlessly clean, and plenty of room for clothes in a separate area. Bar area large and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie R
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely honest review. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I hope we will see you again in Exmouth or perhaps you will try one of our other hotels which are all in excellent locations and offer the same good value for money packages that we do. Kind Regards Kenny Sharp

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

Just come back from exmouth had 4 days with nat holidays . what a wonderful hotel, clean,pleasant, good food friendly staff . go on the trips if you go with nat holidays they are not to be missed, dawlish is a lovely place with the black swans , will definitely go back its the best hotel we've been in

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenny c
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic review and your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We shall look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel sometime. Regards Kenny Sharp General Manager

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.2 km away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.3 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#6 of 11 in Exmouth
330 reviews
0.1 km away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.0 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Address: 5 Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range: $95 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Aylesbury, United Kingdom

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor sea view was quiet”
eileenb196, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very quiet hotel”
Gill137, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 51 sea view”
984peterf, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Premium Room / Sea View Number 54.2nd Floor”
R4047JKjamesm, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We certainly found the seaview room was well worth the additional cost.”
JP1Surrey, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5