We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
See the most recent reviews
Showing 234: English reviews
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Dolphin is very central to sea and the town. Lovely clean and comfortable room, only stayed the one night and can't fault anything other than why is breakfast so early and a limited time , not just here but most places do the same, great staff and wouldn't hesitate in staying again

Helpful?
2 Thank trevor h
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

A fantastic hotel that I cannot recommend enough. Helpful friendly staff, lovely big room that has been tastefully decorated, really comfortable bed. Had a great nights sleep as it was very quiet. And to top it off breakfast was perfect. Thank you so much Jo and the Dolphin staff for a lovely time. This hotel is a little gem.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emoggy
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2016

The staff form check in to check out where first class extremely friendly and very helpful the twin bedroom was very clean and well presented the beds extremely comfortable ,the hotel its self was very clean and fresh ,breakfast plenty of fresh fruit yogurt etc ,and the full English . I have no negative comments the whole experience was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank aldrum47
Coventry, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Stayed here with my daughter for a short break by the sea. Chose this hotel as parking and breakfast was included. The hotel is literally a street from the seafront, and was absolutely perfect for what we wanted. Scrupulously clean, and breakfast was great. Plenty of cereal choice, fresh fruit, yogurts, and a cooked option. We arrived early, but staff... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank bennybex
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2016

This was my second stay at the Dolphin; four nights on this occasion. Excellent location with the sea front only three minutes walk one way and the town four minutes the other, and in a quiet street enabling a peaceful night's sleep. Huge comfortable bed in a clean, good-sized first floor room thoughtfully decorated, with good drawer space & hanging... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cgoddard2016
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Have stayed twice within a month at this really nice, comfy hotel, just a short walk from Exmouth's sea front and promenade. Staff could not have been more welcoming, particularly on first night when I had a perfectly horrible rain-swept journey down from Oxford. Room was modern, tastefully decorated, and quiet! Would recommend to any business colleagues visiting Exeter or... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank PhilScaysbrook
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

Unhelpful receptionist, all too much trouble and really could not care Booked because parking promised, only one night of stay provided for a 2 night stay and had to take car out by 9 am next morning, other local availability poor and not secure Room on top floor, no lift, so to empty car is a nightmare No evening meal... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 1234567chris
Jo K, Owner at The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth, responded to this review

Hi Chris Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Our main objective is to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service. We had explained to your booking agent that we would only be able to provide on site parking for your first nights stay, however we would be able to provide a... More 

Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Booked this hotel for a 2 night stay last weekend . Very friendly and helpful receptionist , lovely bedroom , spotlessly clean , good shower , comfortable bed and plenty of tea and coffee plus bottled water and biscuits . Excellent choice at breakfast in the morning(s) and lovely cosy bar for a drink in the evenings . We will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris F
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

Perfect location and all the staff where really friendly. The room was spotless and very modern. I must remember to take a hairdryer next time with me though. We where right above the front door and could hear it open and close everytime but that didn't really bother me. Breakfast was lovely.. We will be back real soon

Helpful?
Thank Victorias J
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

This hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful.They offer to change my room to the low floor as i am disabled. The breakfast was fab. Will stay again. It was close to the town and the train station.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy B

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.7 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.3 km away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#6 of 10 in Exmouth
274 reviews
0.4 km away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Exmouth
144 reviews
0.2 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#8 of 10 in Exmouth
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dolphin Hotel in Exmouth is a friendly family run business that offers you a warm welcome. Situated just a few minutes walk from Exmouth' stunning golden sandy beaches and marina development it is a beautiful to visit. The town centre is about 3 minutes on foot offering a wide variety of restaurants and bars to choose from. The Dolphin Hotel offers rooms with private en- suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs, a choice of freshly cooked breakfasts in our modern dining area, as well as a cosy residential bar to relax in at the end the day. Free WIFI is available in all public area within the Hotel The Hotel rooms benefit from flat screen TVs , wardrobe storage space, seating and central heating, as well as tea/coffee making facilities. White fluffy towels and free toiletries are provided. Also hair dryers and ironing facilities are available upon request from reception. Guests can enjoy freshly cooked Full English breakfasts or a choice off the breakfast menu all cooked with local produce, along with fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal, toast and juice set out in our breakfast room. Vegetarian and special diets can be catered for on request prior to arriving. The Dolphin Hotel has limited on site parking and also passes for a local car park just a few minutes away, both facilities are free. Reserved parking will need to be requested at time of booking. The 2 mile sandy beach in Exmouth also runs onto the Jurassic Coastline, making it a perfect place for walkers and sightseers.Situated on the mouth of the river Exe it is popular with many watersports including kitesurfing and diving. Exmouth town centre is just a 5-minute walk away offering many shops and coffee bars to relax in. The Exmouth rail and bus stations are a 5 minute walk from the Hotel. The direct train route has 2 trains running each hour and the 57 bus service runs every 15 minutes both into Exeter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth

Address: Morton Road, Exmouth EX8 1AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Price Range: $97 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
South Staffs
Calne, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 7”
 of 5 bubbles Rpt_03, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rear rooms are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles misterblott, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No lift and stairs steep.”
 of 5 bubbles Sootywight, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Try and get one on the far side of the hotel not the main side”
 of 5 bubbles Perkie1964, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“if bothered by noise from below do not choose above the bar, it didnt bother us and nice room”
 of 5 bubbles henryandjr, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay