We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hunters Inn

Booking.comUSD 130*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 130*
USD 130*
USD 130*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Hunters Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Hunters Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 403: English reviews
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Anyone doing the walk to Heddons Mouth has a limited choice for lunch or refreshments, between the Hunters Inn and the National Trust tea shop. Sadly, it seemed that the Hunters Inn's service levels reflect that near-captive market. They seemed understaffed, with one member of staff appearing to work two bars, and queues building up at whichever one he wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PopeAdrian7th
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that your experience was not up to our usual standard. Our staff work hard to provide a good service at all times and therefore it is unusual for this situation to be the case. I imagine that the day you visited was a day when we had 2 staff off sick causing slight delays in terms of...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015

This out of the way Inn is well worth the trip, follow the signs off the A399 into a fantastic wooded valley the sight that awaits you is great. The Inn has a good selection of real ales and the food is superb and very good value, all the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigPaulH
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

We have been called the "hidden gem" in the past and it is a name that has stuck! The winding road, though narrow is beautiful and as you descend you feel like you are being transported into another world. Your comments about the staff and service are greatly app[reciated. We do work hard to create a warm and welcoming atmosphere...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

Visited Wednesday 15th July, looking forward to a refreshing drink and lunch. Bar was not busy but we were completely ignored. No acknowledgement whatsoever, even though we were standing at the bar holding menus. The member of staff served one person and walked off and didn't return. We walked out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JayneWoroch
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

I am surprised that the level of service was not up to our usual standard. The bar staff are usually very welcoming and attentive, even with the large numbers of customers coming through the doors. However, your comments have been passed on to the staff as we always like to improve our service and respond to customer comments.

Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

I was surprised to read so many negative comments as we had a lovely evening here. We booked a table for 7pm on Saturday night for our anniversary, the staff were polite and we were served straight away with our drinks. We ordered the duo of fish in puff pastry which was gorgeous and 16oz sirloin steak, we thoroughly enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah113
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Hunters Inn which we all appreciate. The staff work very hard to deliver a high standard of service and understand the need for speed and efficiency. Our menus reflect the seasons so it is good to know that you enjoyed your meals so much - the feedback is invaluable.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2015

I would like to share an unpleasant lunch experience we had at Hunters Inn last week. Problem 1: waiting time 56 minutes (although no one was waiting for food in front of us) Problem 2: ordered advertised "soup of the day" (Tomato, peppers and basil) and got see through leek soup without any taste whatsoever. Problem 3: chose curry from...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Margaret_Vav
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that you felt the dining experience was not to your liking. It certainly didn't sound like our normal standard. We can only apologise and hope that you will have the opportunity to return one day and review your opinion.

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Arrived on the Thursday afternoon,waited 10 mins to be acknowledged , person taking us to room couldn't remember which one was no 6 Ordered 2x rib eye steaks which didn't look like ribeye and tasted dreadful service was slow Shower in room six was a weak dribble I couldn't wash my hair as I wouldn't of been able to rinse...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karengleave
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. When you arrived on Thursday afternoon all the staff were very busy serving other customers, the minute Steven was available, a young man in his first week of employment, he showed you to your room, I am sorry that he struggled to remember where all the rooms are. I spoke to you during the evening...

Spring Texas
Reviewed 12 July 2015

A terrible dining experience. Very slow service. Waitstaff unfamiliar withmenu. Chefunable to .cook pork loin tosatisfaction - said it could only beserved welldone. So ordered venison sausages. They were highly spicrd and full of pepper - absolutely and completely inedible. Response of management was "so what". We have no controlover the food qualty!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drbob57
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for you awful and inaccurate review. The new menu, which was launched during the week of your visit, has been warmly received by customers and guests in the hotel. The young man who waited on your table was not 100% about every item on the menu; however he did offer to ask the chef about anything he did...

Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Ordered four drinks on arrival for dinner and waiter forgot one of them! Bad start about to get worse. Waiter took our food order and we waited and waited and waited. After an hour and a quarter my daughter asked if we were ever going to receive our meals. About fifteen minutes later our meals did arrive. Distinctly second rate....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank golo953
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your experience was not up to our usual standard. Our kitchen staff have worked extremely hard to deal with the loss of their head chef and in the main have done an amazing job. The waiting staff are trained to deal with situations such as yours where service is slower than desired. I am...

somerset, uk
Reviewed 8 July 2015

After completing the 5 mile Heddon Valley walk, my husband and I enjoyed a well deserved pint - not a huge selection of ales which is a shame hence my husband opted for a cider. Run by very young and inexperienced staff. We sat outside as a gorgeous afternoon. Parking available on the road or the Nat Trust car park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LAD63
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, the walks to the Inn and scenery are spectacular. I am surprised that you think we do not stock many types ales, we have eight real ales available daily on hand pumps, with the addition of three real ciders. The Hunters Inn employs from all age ranges; we always have staff on duty with...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2015

First the posotive side of things. Great location and fantastic new decorative Edwardian look. Now the other side of the coin. Sorry guys but you are being let down by your food. To me it appears you have no head chief and are relying on bought in pre cooked food. Would love to see you turn this around as you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Enderley007
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review which we take very seriously. As touched upon in a previous management response, we have found replacing our head chef very difficult, not least because he is very talented. However things are looking up and we are confident that this difficult period is at an end. We hope therefore that you will return at some...

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
6.9 km away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
446 reviews
1.4 km away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
888 reviews
5.9 km away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
482 reviews
6.6 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
317 reviews
0.3 km away
Heddon's Gate Hotel
Heddon's Gate Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martinhoe
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hunters Inn pub is blessed with the most magical setting, tucked at the bottom of the exquisitely beautiful Heddon Valley on Exmoor. The narrow road from the moor descends beneath a canopy of ancient trees. Sun-dappled leaves glitter and gleam. The river runs past the inn and a short walk takes you to the beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hunters Inn

Address: Heddon Valley, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Price Range: $169 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hunters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Hunters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunters` Hotel Exmoor National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hunters Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great views from all rooms.. but the views at the rear of the hotel to the sea WOW!”
c_robins2, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 , lovely views of the garden”
Billy115, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No lift, rooms on 4 upper floors, not suitable for disabled, ask for a large room with a bath and shower, room 3 recommended”
  • The view from my room
  • my bathroom, the bath was to the side of the toilet, quite a large room, bedroom 3
  • Four poster bed, room 3
Serendipity2210, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Sunflower Lodge”
jimmyp88, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lovely quiet location”
manda147, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 130* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 130
TripAdvisorUSD 130
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates