We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Rectory Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Rectory Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

877 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 869: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our second trip which was excellent again. It is a haven of peace and very relaxing. Huw and Sam are excellent hosts and the other staff, including the new couple, were very good too. It is well placed for walks in the lovely Exmoor

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richrolls
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you both again and thank you for your lovely comments about the service you received and the staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards Huw & Sam

Burghfield Common
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

3 night stay in Beeches. Room comfortable, food excellent, wine list well-chosen and reasonably priced. General ambience of the hotel and the service from Huw & Sam and all of their team outstanding. Wonderful relaxing time. This was our 4th stay - we booked our 5th before we left.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A C
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Our greatest pleasure is to welcome back our regular guests, or Old Rectorians as we call them, to the hotel. Thank you for your lovely words, which we have shared with the whole team. We look forward to your 5th visit! Thank you for your continued support Huw & Sam

Verwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a fantastic hotel in a beautiful location. The owners Huw and Sam are great and all of the staff are very friendly. The food was amazing and the complimentary afternoon tea/cake and canapes before dinner were superb. We only stayed for one night and hadn't been there long before we wished it was more. Can't wait to return, hopefully...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David L
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in September. Kind regards Huw & Sam

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely atmosphere, food excellent. Staff were so helpful and friendly and Huw and Sam were perfect hosts. Ideal place to stay if you like to go walking, or, if not lovely places to visit locally by car

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank milldew2014
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

We have shared your lovely comments about our staff with the team and thank you very much for coming to stay with us and for reviewing your stay so positively. We hope to see you again soon Kind regards Huw & Sam

Ipplepen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Old Rectory . There is a lovely ambience and every comfort . Staff are helpful and friendly. Food is top notch and drinks menu is superb - especially the gin and tonics menu! It is a stunning area to explore and we had some great walks .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CornishPasty2014
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

It was lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your break here with us last weekend and in particular how much you enjoyed our locally sourced food and drink. We are adding to our G&T menu all the time as we try more artisanal producers ( a tough job but somebody has to do it!) Thank you for writing a...

Hutton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely place run by lovely people, Almost reluctant to say anything about it purely for selfish reasons. Food is outstanding as is the wine list. Amazing coastal walks from the doorstep. Above all, so welcoming, can't wait to go back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mftsanders
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to look after you both together with your friends for the weekend and thank you so much for such a complimentary review - it means a lot to us all! We hope to see you again soon Huw & Sam

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this beautiful, small hotel in late October 2016. What a find! We had such a wonderful, relaxing four days! Our room was well appointed and spotlessly clean; breakfasts were varied and tasty; evening meals delicious; afternoon tea and cakes scrumptious; the wine list was extensive for such a relatively small establishment....and we need to return if only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackal56
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay last October - it is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and in particular the food and wine - our wine list has won "Best Value Across the Board" in the Champagne Taittinger Wine List Awards and we are glad you managed to sample a few...

Kent, UK
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We stayed for one night in August. The hotel is small but feels homely and welcoming. The owners are attentive and clearly care about every detail. They also worry about their awards (there are MANY covering the reception walls - I think I'd rather draw my own conclusions). Room was comfy. The odd part of the trip was the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hanskraay
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us last August. We are delighted that you found the hotel comfy, homely and welcoming. Obviously we are disappointed that our dinner service was not to your liking, particularly as it is so well received by so many of our guests, many of whom return several times in a year.

Arundel, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We spent two very relaxing days here on the beautiful Exmoor coast. The location is very quiet (which we appreciated) and our room was comfortable without being frilly or OTT. The whole place runs very smoothly and calmly (no doubt the result of a lot of hard work and expertise from the lovely owners and their friendly efficient team). The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike I
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us. It is lovely to have such positive feedback about the running of the hotel and, in particular, our staff who work very hard as you have observed. Thank you for your lovely comments about the food too - we loved having you to stay and we look...

London
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Sometimes it is nice to go back to somewhere you've enjoyed before - you already know the lie of the land and don't need to waste time learning how things work. As before, we were enveloped by the warm welcome and lucky to have good weather, allowing us to leave the car behind and walk along the cliffs in warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Twickerstourist
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Our greatest pleasure is to welcome back so many Old Rectorians, and we really appreciate your loyal custom and kind comments about the hotel. Thank you very much for your review. Huw & Sam

475 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (308)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Arlington Suite (57)
Viewed
Beeches Superior Room (44)
Viewed
Jasmin Classic Room (47)
Viewed
Paddock Junior Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
7.0 km away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
525 reviews
5.2 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
315 reviews
32.6 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
776 reviews
5.3 km away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
477 reviews
5.1 km away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Rectory Hotel is a very special place. A wonderful mix of a stylish boutique country house coupled with an un stuffy relaxed atmosphere. Nestled on the stunning Exmoor coast in North Devon, The Old Rectory Hotel is a haven in which to unwind - no crowds, no traffic; just birdsong and jaw dropping scenery. This is somewhere magical to stop and smell the roses - so if you need to soothe the mind and replenish the soul, you couldn't choose a better place. At The Old Rectory Hotel you'll find the simple things done well; a warm welcome, thoughtful service, fabulous luxury rooms, fantastic local food from Exmoor and North Devon and, of course, an award winning wine list. If you were running away, this is where you would go! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Address: Berry Ground Lane Martinhoe, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Price Range: $229 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Martinhoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Rectory Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
13 days ago
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
13 days ago
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Washington DC, District of Columbia

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Rectory Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Website is very acuarate”
njydevon, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were in the coach house, Watersmeet”
Manjimup, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
carolinesP1665YY, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Watersmeet is large, quiet and has a very comfy king sized bed. It's in the coach house across from the main building.”
Leli1510, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Quality of rooms is excellent it all depends on how much space you want”
janetr509, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5