We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Exmoor White Horse Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Exmoor White Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 408: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have used this pub over the last ten years when staying on Exmoor for food - consistently good "pub" grub and friendly service. Nothing is too much trouble. A good menu with plenty of choice in a lovely location

Helpful?
Thank TandemBar
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We really do appreciate returning customers such as yourself and cannot thank you enough for taking the time to leave your review. We all work extremely hard here to ensure all our customers receive first rate service and hospitality and nothing makes us happier than when we hear we have achieved that. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights having booked via Secret Escapes. The 16th century building had a lot of character (especially from the outside). The room we had was larger than I expected with a large bedroom with a king bed and a very large bathroom with full bath. The floorboards were creaky bringing though... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve U
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for failing to meet your expectations, we were so disappointed to read your comments about the service and the meal, all of which have been passed on to the Restaurant Manager and the Chefs. We hate the thought of anyone leaving here disappointed and as we hope you realise from the large amount of positive reviews... More 

Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Love this place. Spent 2 nights our 4th visit. If you want quintessential Traditional English Hunting Country Hotel ...this is your place. The walls are festooned with Hunting memorabilia and pictures. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and tidy. We Only sampled the breakfast but what we had was freshly cooked and more than... More 

Helpful?
Thank marcopolo3262
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

What more can we say but a huge "Thank you" and please return soon. Whilst we do not expect people to thank us for doing our jobs properly, you have no idea how much of a boost reviews such as yours give both Management and Staff - there a quite a few smiling faces here after being shown your comments.... More 

woolacombe
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner booked myself and our child and dog into the hotel for one night's bed and breakfast and we were put into room 23 at a cost of £187.50. The room was big enough for us but was very basic and definately needs an update. It definately wasnt a room youd want to book as a treat.There were no... More 

Helpful?
Thank woolacombelocal
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We were sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your final bill but nothing was said by your partner on Check-out, in fact according to Reception he seemed more than happy, and we do also need to point out that a Booking Confirmation had been sent to your partner prior to arrival with all the charges clearly stated to... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Travelled all the way from Aberdeen and couldn't have been made to feel more welcome after such a long drive! We usually stay in the Cotswolds or London but fancied a change. So glad we did. The owner couldn't do enough to help, the whisky bar was fantastic and the views next to the river very peaceful. Our puppy was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim J
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much. To hear that your long journey was so worth it has made our day, and wow, what a long journey! As we have said so many times in answer to reviews we really pride ourselves on our Exmoor hospitality, (to both 2 and 4 legged visitors!) and all our guests feel like our friends. Please return... More 

Devon
Level Contributor
210 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Popped in here for lunch on the way from from Valley of the Rocks in North Devon. Friendly welcome, excellent beers and a superb range of "pub grub", tasty and very good portions - a very pleasant surprise stop off.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lord_Brett_Sinclair
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! Even after being here for over 30 yrs we still get a real "buzz" from hearing that we have provided the hospitality and service that we pride ourselves on. We really hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. More 

English Riviera, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Driving over Exmoor to and from Exford during Autumn with the lovely colours is in itself a delight. Hotel staff friendly as was the dog which wanted some of my bar snack. Splendid collection of malt whiskies. Bedroom/bathroom very small but furniture most attractive. Costly for an overnight stay but we would return in the future.

Helpful?
Thank petermacloughlin
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We really hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back. As we are sure you can appreciate, in a hotel of this age room sizes vary significantly, but it all adds to the true character of The Exmoor White Horse Inn. More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I had booked this some weeks ago through Secret Escapes and called in advance to try to obtain a good room. As it turned out, we were on the ground floor to the side of the main building in a fairly average room which was a bit disappointing. In so much as it is right beside the river, the fairly... More 

Helpful?
Thank James W
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr Walters, you can rest assured that we do not, and would not, down prioritize room allocation for any special offers that we offer. We value all our customers and take the greatest of pleasure in ensuring that all our guests have an enjoyable stay, hoping that we will be able to welcome them back again in the future.... More 

Newbury, England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We had forgotten how busy good restaurants get on a Friday Night on Exmoor....but there were tables to spare in the White Horse. For very good reasons. The bench tables inside are so tightly packed we could not comfortably sit at them. The menu was bereft of any options other than the usual grills and judging by the smell of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fangthewonderdog
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We seriously wonder which Menu you were reading as we do offer a good selection of vegetarian options, both in the Bar and the Restaurant! We operate two completely seperate menus during the evening and so we can only respond by saying your comments are totally unfair and totally untrue. And empty tables at The Exmoor White Horse Inn are... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Fine dining, stunning service & a deeelishus house red (French) to boot. Really good meal👍🏼👍🏼. Pay the little extra for a better room, well worth it!! Dont miss Lynton & Lynmouth - beautiful scenery

Helpful?
Thank Gazza05BigG
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much. We really hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon More 

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
14.9 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
597 reviews
22.7 km away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
452 reviews
9.8 km away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
131 reviews
17.1 km away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
210 reviews
9.0 km away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Price Range: $172 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exford, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Exmoor White Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask about size of room when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles petermacloughlin, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room in the hotel and not the annex”
 of 5 bubbles A8000KGjamesw, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Any as its pure class”
 of 5 bubbles D5015YFgaryb, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bed was large and lovely but a tad on the firm side....perhaps they have softer ones if requested?”
 of 5 bubbles rossm324, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ring and ask hotel”
 of 5 bubbles cbmshaw, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay