We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandaway Beach Holiday Park

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Showing 530: English reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

What a super holiday site just up road from Combe Martin and only a few miles from Ilfracombe very good base to explore North Devon. We had a basic caravan which was more than adequate for our family needs. There is a super outside swimming pool which is heated and when tide out their own little beach. But if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CathieJJ
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Cathie Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic feedback; it’s always a pleasure receiving such positive comments. We take great pride in keeping all grades of accommodation up to a very high standard and it’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. All comments will be passed on to our Housekeeper and the cleaning team. We are...

England
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

This is a good site for statics as for camping it's poor. We paid £48 per night to pitch our camper had the facilities been much better then the price could had been justified. The pitches are a patch of grass next to the play area. The shower and toilet block are revolting say no more. However the staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cyprusbill
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests. We are happy that you thought the staff were helpful and we will pass your comments on to them. Pat...

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We have recently visited for 4 nights. Caravan was awful when we arrived, the toilet was dirty and the seat hanging off (I mentioned this to a member of staff but nothing was done about it), there was mould all over the shower and curtains/blinds. In the double bedroom the carpet was wet for the whole 4 days, can only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie S
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Debbie Thankfully, poor reviews are few and far between as you can clearly see and we have the satisfaction of knowing that last year well over 50,000 families enjoyed a John Fowler Holiday at our 14 holiday parks. Nevertheless, occasionally we let a customer down and it is imperative that we make a full investigation into what went wrong...

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this holiday park for a week in a two bed silver caravan with two children 8 and 14. The caravan itself was lovely i was pleasantly surprised. It was very spacious clean and in a lovely area. The park itself has stunning views and the swimming pool was great. The only thing negative id say is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay G
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Lindsay Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. It is satisfying to hear that you had a good time at our park. We take great pride in the standard of all grades of accommodation and our customer care. It’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. Your comments about the park in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Caravan was in a shabby condition and dirty the seats all had holes in them stools and table must have come from the club house as nothing matched curtains fell off the rails and the ones in the living room where the wrong size the shower and bathroom floor were filthy reported this to reception and asked for another caravan...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank pem001
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

I was saddened to read your thoughts regarding your stay at our holiday park. Unfortunately, there are one or two items in your review, which are quite worrying. I wonder if you told the park manager or head office of your displeasure while you were there, it is always so difficult to deal with the issues after you have returned...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016

The caravan, number 42, to be precise, was smelly, the upholstery was ripped and stained. The curtains were tatty and also smelt. The fridge was rusty and would have looked quite at home on a rubbish tip. There were dead bugs all over the window ledges. The carpet was filthy. There were thick squeaky plastic covers on all mattresses including...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lise V
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Lise It is rare to get a poor review on this holiday park. If you read the other reviews you will see that the majority of people had a totally different experience. Sandaway Beach Holiday Park has been awarded the prestigious 2015 Certificate of Excellence by Tripadvisor and this is the result of all the good feedback from our...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We were delighted with site on arrival. Gorgeous views, and grounds well maintained. The caravans looked lovely, but we ended up with one of the older type chalets. This was just a cheap newspaper promotion, so this not the issue. However, the bathroom cabinet still had the previous occupants belongings in, so it had obviously not been cleaned properly. Splashes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Janice Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests. We are aware of the situation and this is reflected in the prices we charge. Your comments have...

Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights with partner and 2 young children. Park was easy to find and set in lovely setting on the cliff with views out to sea. We arrived half hour before our check in time, tried our luck but our accommodation wasn't ready so had a drink in the bar. When our apartment was ready I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie F
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Sophie Thank you for your review - it is satisfying to hear that you had a great time on our park. We normally take great pride in keeping all grades of accommodation up to a very high standard and it’s a shame that this was not the case for you. your thoughts will be passed on to our Housekeeper...

bristol
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We have just arrived back home after a lovely short weekend break at Sandaway Beach. Upon arrival there was a warm welcome from the reception and they were always genuinely happy to help with any enquiries we had. We had booked our short break through the Sun newspaper and were pleasantly surprised. Our accommodation was a very well equipped Bronze...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanette d
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Jeanette Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful and friendly the staff were. We take great pride in the standard of all grades of accommodation and our customer care. It’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. Your...

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Absolutely appalled by sandaway beach camping facilities. I paid 80 quid for four nights and left after one. The camp showers have slugs and spiders crawling along the walls the showers are cold and lose pressure and no handryers work in the ladies. The utility closet is equally grim. If your offering a tent/camp facility you should be providing above...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katiejoan93
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Sandaway Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello Katie It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park . We would like to look into your concerns in order that improvements may be made in the interest of future guests. Sadly, we are finding that many of the poor reviews that are aired on Tripadvisor could be questionable, since when...

412 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (403)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (40)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (266)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
0.6 km away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
533 reviews
5.0 km away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
298 reviews
32.9 km away
Bideford Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#2 of 26 in Ilfracombe
390 reviews
1.5 km away
Grattons Cedar Lodges
Grattons Cedar Lodges
#9 of 26 in Ilfracombe
107 reviews
2.0 km away
Watermouth Lodges
Watermouth Lodges
#4 of 8 in Berrynarbor
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park stands on a low cliff at the very edge of the ocean with breathtaking sea views. Three minutes walk down a picturesque stepped path brings you to Sandaway Beach, privately owned by us, a rocky foreshore and a sprinkling of sand but a real sun trap and haven of peace and quiet, but beware of the tides. A short scramble over the rocks takes you to our secret spot, Mermaid's Cove, this is truly a place of magic and tranquillity for that really quiet swim or sunbathe. Relax with a cool drink in our Smuggler's Bar, take in the superb sea, and Exmoor views. Enjoy excellent pub grub, and basket meals from our Chef's Corner, and view our nightly family entertainment in our clubhouse. A feature of Sandaway is our lovely kidney shaped swimming pool. There is a well stocked shop, take-away meals, pool table, amusements, a special indoor children's soft play area and an outdoor playground. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandaway Beach Holiday Park

Address: Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 9ST, England (Formerly John Fowler Sandaway Holiday Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Price Range: $30 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandaway Beach Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and PitchUp so you can book your Sandaway Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park Combe Martin, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandaway Beach Holiday Park staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Sandaway Beach Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get one right on the edge for the best sea view”
 of 5 bubbles JamesH09, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would rather stay in a cardboard box”
 of 5 bubbles 513freddiet, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book the most expensive caravan you can afford”
 of 5 bubbles BeckyE755, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Caravans near the reception have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles LoveVegasBabyYeah, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“When advertises sleeps 4-6, think very carefully about the ages.”
 of 5 bubbles 96ehoh99, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5