We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Hart Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 129: English reviews
Start your review of The White Hart Hotel
 Click to rate
Mansfield
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We've just got home after two nights away in Devon staying at the white hart hotel in oakehampton. Upon arriving we couldn't check into our room as we were early but we were able to leave our bags etc in the reception area. We had an hour looking around the town came back and checked into our room. The lady...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrickandvickyl
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

This was the perfect hotel for a work trip. It's attached to a pub so is a little noisey early in the evening but doesn't get too loud. Rooms are perfect and modern, great bed and you the bonus of a weatherspoons breakfast. The only thing is that parking is pretty far away, a 5 min walk. Overall, great place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BradFelix
OkehamptonJDW, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time leave us such a great review. We are pleased that you liked the facilities and enjoyed your time with us. With regards to parking unfortunately this is one of the problems that we face being situated in the heart of the town. We do however try to encourage guests to use nearby available parking...

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

A wonderful Grade II listed building that has been tastefully modernised. Beautiful rooms, spacious, well equipped, spotlessly clean. Hadn't realised when booking it was a Wetherspoons. Excellent service throughout especially at reception. Everyone happy to be of service and extremely welcoming. Only niggle - no on site car parking. We were able to unload and pick up but opted to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goulding37
OkehamptonJDW, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a fantastic review. We are so pleased to know how the details of the hotel caught your eyes and that you were able to really enjoy your time with us. The Wetherspoon team do a great job in our hotels. We are also glad to know that you didn't find...

St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for a friends wedding and although I thought it was a little overpriced (compared to premier inn), I was pleasantly surprised with the room and the bathroom/shower was great. I would definitely use this place again, should I need too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank knichs19
OkehamptonJDW, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! We're really pleased to hear how much you loved your room and that you would return again if in the area. We hope you had a wonderful time at your friends Wedding and it was a pleasure to have you staying with us.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here on business for a couple of nights. Rooms have been done to a very good standard, and are fairly roomy and contemporary - only downside is the lack of parking - really annoying on arrival if you need to unload. The guy on reception however was great and very helpful- letting me park at the back of hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Woolpackcottage
OkehamptonJDW, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review!! we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and liked the rooms. Unfortunately one of the problems we face by being located in the center of the town is no on-site parking, however we do encourage guests to temporarily use our blue badge spaces whilst off loading...

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff were very good at finding space for our party of 9 on a very busy Friday night. We went back for breakfast twice and the food each time was excellent, lots of choice, cooked well, staff were excellent both evening and morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tartyauntie
OkehamptonJDW, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review!! it pleases us to know that you had a great dining experience and that our staff helped to make it an enjoyable one, we will be sure to pass on your comments to the kitchen team. We do hope to see you again in the future

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the 7th Wetherspoons Hotel we have stayed at, and all have been very good. The hotel is well placed in the centre of town, we parked on Station Road a short walk away up hill but no problem. Check in was fuss free by friendly helpful staff who also gave useful information about Okehampton town centre. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank k r
OkehamptonJDW, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review! its always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We are so pleased that you liked the hotel and the facility's and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely hotel decent price, we arrived on Sunday evening and was upgraded to a quieter room, efficient and so polite all staff there.great price for what you get big room and lovely decor. Only issue is the non parking

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Apnyc2010
OkehamptonJDW, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are so pleased to know that you were made welcome and comfortable by our staff and that you liked the décor of the hotel. With regards to the parking, unfortunately being in the center of town is one of the reason we have no onsite parking, however our...

South West England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A huge room, slept the entire family and if we'd felt like it could have fitted a few more in!! Lovely and clean room with nice relevant decor. Comfortable beds, so a good nights sleep was had by all and in the morning a DECENT shower. I love a decent shower and I wasn't disappointed. The only down side if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dinersauce
OkehamptonJDW, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review! Thank you so much! We're really pleased that you had such a wonderful stay with us and also enjoyed the food so much too. We shall be sure to pass your amazing feedback on to all the staff. Please do come back and stay with us again - it was a pleasure to have you with...

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

10/10 for service, with the hotel reception staff particularly good! The room was clean, with a fantastic shower and comfy bed, and the food and beer were all spot on! It's in a great location, although lacks much parking, but other than that I would certainly recommend a stay at the White Hart!

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GarethDavies2017
OkehamptonJDW, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review Mr Davies! We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and will certainly pass your wonderful feedback on to our lovely Housekeeping team and amazing Bar and Kitchen staff. It was an absolute pleasure to have you staying with us and we do hope that you return again in the...

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okehampton
6.6 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
11.5 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,006 reviews
18.9 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
452 reviews
30.6 km away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
440 reviews
23.3 km away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Address: Fore Street, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Price Range: $62 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel Okehampton, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Hart Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The White Hart Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 204 dual aspect windows but no views. Nicely decorated and very good shower.”
  • Room 204, no view from windows though.
  • Room 204
 of 5 bubbles kr939, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Family we had room is H U G E!”
 of 5 bubbles Dinersauce, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The family rooms are massive.”
 of 5 bubbles nevandjane, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not ideal for people with disabilities so stairs are uneven this is due to it being a listed building no lift available”
 of 5 bubbles 369alisonw, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If they resolve the problem of main door banging, then a room at the front is fine.”
 of 5 bubbles CCFCfan, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5