We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Exeter Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Exeter Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 76: English reviews
Start your review of The Exeter Inn
 Click to rate
Penkridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stopped for a meal on the way to Cornwall. The pub is dirty and outdated. Cobwebs everywhere. They have a cat that runs around, rubbing on your legs and jumping on all the bar stools and chairs at the tables. I used the bathroom and their were spiders all around with chipped paint. My husband had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie T
Phoebetwohig, Manager at The Exeter Inn, responded to this review

Hello, I am sorry to hear you found your visit to be dissapointing. I remember you and your husband coming in and served you myself. If you had expressed your dissatisfaction I would have endeavoured to make things better for you. As for the cobwebs I will prompt the cleaner to get that sorted. Again I am sorry you were...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We have stayed here a few times now. Nicky and Phil are friendly welcoming hosts and it was good to meet Liam, one of their children who was an excellent barman! The pub is full of character, there is a genuinely relaxed friendly atmosphere which ensures visitors don't feel like strangers. The rooms aren't huge but they're more than adequate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian H
Phoebetwohig, Manager at The Exeter Inn, responded to this review

Hello, firstly thank you very much for your kind review! We are always so pleased to hear people have enjoyed staying with us, and even better that you will be coming back to see us again. We very much look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Phoebe at The Exeter Inn

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

We had booked for a Wednesday night. A bit surprised when we got there and the kitchen was closed - luckily the pub over the road was open and served great food. The rooms decoration needs updating and installing wifi! Breakfast was very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simon2205
Phoebetwohig, Manager at The Exeter Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for you review and sorry you found we had no wifi but we have had wifi in all our rooms for sometime now and since your review we have made that clearer to guests by insuring there are codes in all of our rooms. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast. Kind regards Phoebe at The Exeter Inn

PLYMOUTH DEVON
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Nice place needs a clean and a paint brush. Good selection of beer and an ok menu. Had the Chilli unfortunately it was not hot or spicy and was very dry Ham Egg and Chips was very nice Staff were good may just have got there on the wrong day

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SBFRANKFORT
Plymouth
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Stayed here for just one night when I had to be in the area for business. This is a 'proper' pub with a fire, real ale, locals and maybe even the odd pub dog or cat to stroke! Seems to be a family run establishment and a friendly welcome was received, even when I arrived at 11pm on a Friday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AubreyK
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Took my family there , gorgeous log fire ! lovely pub good old fashioned pub grub I had Scampie my chap had garlis mushrooms and Lamb shank and my daughter had white bait , played Dominoes and real Christmas tree ! put us in a lovley Chrissmassy mood !! Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracey S
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

excellent place to stay, the food was amazing, breakfast set us up for the day, would reccomend the rump steak it was the best i have tasted in a long time.Room was clean and tidy.ideal location for Dartmmor,or Dartmouth,Would reccomend a visit to Start point beautiful views, and we were lucky enough to see seals with their young.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank edaw23
Manchester
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely inn, lovely people, lovely bed and breakfast was ok however for £70 a night it was very expensive for what you get. It's very old so uneven floors. Slightly musty smelling hallways and bedrooms and at 8am both mornings the sound of the residents letting the dogs out and banging around. It's a decent place to stay but for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank button88
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Called here for the first time it was the first pub we came across and ran in as it was raining heavily. The few tables at the front were taken so we walked through to the bar and was shown to a table here. We placed our order and got a drink, this was spoilt by the local lads who's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kitchener50
Phoebetwohig, Manager at The Exeter Inn, responded to this review

Hello, firstly I would like to say thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am very sorry that you found our drinkers to be rude bad language is not something we condone in our pub and again I'm very sorry you had to deal with that. Since your review the staff members in question were...

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

it was a surprise when we located the Exeter inn as the picture dose not show the area that is located. it was on a very busy road with no parking for residence. the inn is old and somewhat dated but this does add to its charm. the landlady was most pleasant helpful and a great cook the breakfasts and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robin W
Phoebetwohig, Manager at The Exeter Inn, responded to this review

Hello, firstly thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and our food. Kind regards Phoebe at The Exeter Inn

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modbury
2.4 km away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
9.8 km away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
507 reviews
12.0 km away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
295 reviews
8.9 km away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
528 reviews
4.7 km away
The Anchor Inn
The Anchor Inn
#1 of 6 in Ivybridge
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Exeter Inn

Address: Church Street, Modbury, Dartmoor National Park PL21 0QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Modbury
Price Range: $106 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Exeter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Exeter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Exeter Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Exeter Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not go for a room, so can't rate. Only for a meal”
mariet239, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Maybe book first ? We just rocked up !”
72traceys, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No mobile signal unless you are on Vodafone”
992nigell, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room at the rear of the hotel away from the road.”
TACHSuffolk, 15 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Avoid twin room no. 4”
andyrowe56, 17 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5