We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mill End Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Mill End Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mill End Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 424: English reviews
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We have just returned after a 7 night stay at the Mill End Country Hotel and have nothing but praise for this quality hotel. From the moment of our arrival the staff were both welcoming, friendly and attentive. This place does really try to make your stay the best possible experience for you. We pre-booked our first night dinner and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maldonite
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words they are most appreciated More 

Staffordshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Conveniently located boutique hotel with lots of character and excellent food. We stayed in the Plym room which was on the top floor at the front of the hotel, the room was a good size with a fabulous newly fitted out bathroom with a wonderful power shower and White Company toiletries. Dinner was excellent, although it was a small menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank KPDStaffs01
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

After a busy working day I received a very warm welcome at Mill End. Room was comfortable and of a good standard for the rate I paid. Staff are friendly and attentive and the food was to a good standard although my scallop starter was slightly cold but other than that it was fine. Comfortable nights sleep and good value.

Helpful?
Thank Travellingfoodie1
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments and we hope to see you back. Sorry to hear the starter wasn't as hot as you would like - I will feed that back to the chefs so it doesn't happen again More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Myself and partner had to go on business in the area. It was really late in the evening and we had to find a hotel to snuggle down at the last minute. So we called them and they were so helpful, informative and friendly. The hotel was really comfortable, clean and chic. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tumbles49
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

We have driven past many times and it looks lovely. The reviews were positive so we booked a table for our anniversary. on arrival the waitress greeted us warmly and directed us to the 'lounge' we negotiated our way through the zimmer frames and found a seat in the corner in a room full of people average age of 80.... More 

Helpful?
Thank acetrace01
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment although having spoken to my restaurant manager I am inclined to think this has been somewhat exaggerated. I am very sorry you were disappointed with the food. We firmly agree tiny swirls on a plate are not sufficient which is why we have consciously added vegetable selections to our main courses and... More 

Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2015

My 91-year-old disabled aunt had booked a ground floor room several months previously and had her booking confirmed. On our arrival after a long and tiring journey we were told her room was not available as it had been booked to someone else, and she had been relocated to an upstairs room. The receptionist was aggressively unhelpful. There was no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne M
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry we were unable to make up for the admin error which meant the room originally requested was not available. Sometimes when guests change their arrival dates room requests can be lost and we really do understand your disappointment. We did try our very best to help, apologise and compensate and had thought from our conversations that... More 

Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We spent a couple of days there over the bank holiday weekend with a group of friends attending a wedding nearby. The hotel was perfect in every way. It is a convenient size, in a lovely setting; the room was spacious and well equipped. Breakfast was excellent and all the staff were welcoming and efficient. And our parrot enjoyed her... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank foxdown88
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your delightful comments and you (and your winged friends) are most welcome again! More 

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2015

We had our wedding reception here at the end of June and we cannot recommend it enough. The hotel building itself is beautiful, the perfect backdrop for photos, and the grounds and gardens are just lovely. Full of loads of colourful flowers. Tara and Nick became the owners of the hotel just shortly before our wedding but took over the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire_Holbrook
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

Ah thank you for that - it is so lovely to hear you had such a wonderful celebration with us. It was a pleasure to host your special day and we hope to see you again very soon More 

england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2015

When all else appears doom and gloom, pack your bags and head for Mill End Hotel. Warm, friendly, peaceful with a rustic charm, one immediately felt relaxed. Specially chosen, having two canine buddies, the garden room was perfect and each morning, a few seconds away, we could stroll down to the trout filled river where the dogs enjoyed their morning... More 

Helpful?
Thank 305angie
Bideford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Great room with patio overlooking beautiful garden. Many local walks. Lovely bed. Fantastic food. Wonderful location by the River Teign on the edge of Dartmoor. Packed lunch in mini picnic basket-very good. Home made biscuits in the room. Very clean. Treats & towels for dogs in boot room. Small bar, but well stocked.

Helpful?
1 Thank KarenBideford
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much your kind words are really appreciated and come back again soon More 

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
3.8 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
960 reviews
25.6 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
351 reviews
5.2 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
5.2 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
247 reviews
7.4 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to Dartmoor. Immerse yourself in the wild glory of Devon’s own Dartmoor National Park, whilst soaking up the hospitality, comfort and warmth on which Mill End prides itself.Mill End is a Dartmoor hotel nestling in a river valley just outside the ancient moorland stannary town of Chagford. Your perfect country house hotel for a break on Dartmoor, surrounded by miles of walking, fishing and breathtaking scenery. And Mill End is dog-friendly too. After a day on the moors, you’ll find a warm welcome back at Mill End. Enjoy a taste of Dartmoor in the hotel's award-winning hotel restaurant. And let the pressures of the outside world fade to a distant memory as you relax in front of an open fire. Mill End has fifteen individually-styled bedrooms, ranging from cosy Standard Doubles, to extremely sumptuous Junior Suites and the two-room Teign Suite. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mill End Hotel

Address: Dartmoor National Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Price Range: $154 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Mill End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill End Hotel Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mill End Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mill End Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor...quiet space,”
 of 5 bubbles HighFlyinMomma, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room was outside the hotel with a nice balcony and views be beautiful in nice weather”
 of 5 bubbles mary186458, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Let hotel know if you have a dog. There is stairs so if you need lower ground let hotel know. There are rooms with patios.”
 of 5 bubbles billy552015, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms have patios facing the attractive gardens.”
 of 5 bubbles Nezzie_K, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Top floor to avoid noise from other guests as the floors and walls are thin!”
 of 5 bubbles Passenger_Q, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay