We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mill End Hotel

PricelineUSD 123*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mill End Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

472 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mill End Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 467: English reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Step back in time to this beautiful away from it all hotel. Very dog friendly. Great setting directly on the river with some excellent walks if you do not fancy getting in the car. Breakfast was substantial,and really sets you up for the day. Evening meal was excellent on each night. Will definately return!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alpaccaman
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

That is so lovely to hear and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Small boutique country hotel just outside the village of Chagford on the north east side of Dartmoor. The rooms are of a reasonable size. The ambiance was quite with a cosy feel to the place. Good quality restaurant serving dinner and classic English breakfast. Lots of car parking close to the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marc S
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon

Okehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely little restaurant, service was bad and the food was even worse. I had the monk-fish, was thinly sliced over cooked and not seasoned ... for £19 served with tones of over cooked mashed up lentils that was inedible all in a scorching soup bowl. Told the waiter i was not happy with it and was just smiled at, as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank samlewis1993
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to read this and having looked at the many recent glowing reviews about our food and service this is most unusual. Please accept our apologies and we will ensure the matter is looked into

Ringwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Mill End over the Easter weekend. A little issue with our reservation but the lovely manager sorted it out. Our room was very nice and we'll decorated and located on the first floor. We have 2 dogs who came with us and the hotel was perfect for them with a large garden and even a dog...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adesq1512
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

My image of Dartmoor was the treeless granite landscape, but there's also plenty of green wooded valleys, and Mill End (odd name!) sits next to the Teign River which was flowing strongly and noisily during this stay. My room was comfortable and benefited from a balcony overlooking the river, in a modern extension behind the ancient mill building. Poor sound...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you we are so glad you enjoyed your visit and the food. We hope to see you return again

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We did not stay in the hotel but picked the restaurant for a special meal. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived and were shown into the comfortable lounge and offered drinks, to the moment we stepped out of the door several hours later, service was impeccable. We had called in advance to advise that my wife is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you that is lovely to read! We hope to see you again

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Fabulous location right on the banks of the River Teign, ideal for walking. The hotel is quiet and understated. Standards are not consistent throughout in that some rooms/areas are very smart (4star) while others are more utilitarian or could do with an upgrade (2/3 star). The owners are revamping some of the rooms at the moment. The staff were lovely....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aethelthryth
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and iit is good to see our continued improvements are apparent throughout. I am sorry you did not like our food offering as that is usually the most praised part of what we do. We are fortunate to hold 2 AA Rosettes in our restaurant and like to offer great...

Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We loved everything about this hotel. We had a lovely room with a king size bed, the breakfasts were superb and the staff in the hotel were all welcoming and very efficient. We had a taster meal on one of the nights which was excellent (I can recommend the 'wine flier' with the meal) and the hotel is in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm D
TaraMillEndhotel, Owner at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review

We really appreciate your comments and are so pleased you enjoyed your trip

Reviewed 9 April 2017

We visited today for lunch and due to road closures and motorway accidents we arrived 30 mins late via a stressful roundabout route feeling completely frazzled. The welcome was warm, the decor and setting lovely, the service impeccable. The food was to die for - subtle blends of unexpected flavours balanced, never overpowering complementing meat or fish cooked to perfection....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Libby C
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We had lunch here with a group of our friends, we were made to feel very welcome, our table service was really good and he was very professional but enjoyed some fun with us which was really nice. The food was excellent with all of us enjoying everything we were given. No pressure on how long we had our table,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline a

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
3.8 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,035 reviews
5.2 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,198 reviews
25.6 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
273 reviews
7.4 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
22.9 km away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to Dartmoor. Immerse yourself in the wild glory of Devon’s own Dartmoor National Park, whilst soaking up the hospitality, comfort and warmth on which Mill End prides itself.Mill End is a Dartmoor hotel nestling in a river valley just outside the ancient moorland stannary town of Chagford. Your perfect country house hotel for a break on Dartmoor, surrounded by miles of walking, fishing and breathtaking scenery. And Mill End is dog-friendly too. After a day on the moors, you’ll find a warm welcome back at Mill End. Enjoy a taste of Dartmoor in the hotel's award-winning hotel restaurant. And let the pressures of the outside world fade to a distant memory as you relax in front of an open fire. Mill End has fifteen individually-styled bedrooms, ranging from cosy Standard Doubles, to extremely sumptuous Junior Suites and the two-room Teign Suite. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mill End Hotel

Address: Dartmoor National Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Price Range: $173 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Mill End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill End Hotel Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mill End Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mill End Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Junio Suite Dart has got a balcony overlooking the front and side garden of the hotel!”
islandman2010, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front can be noisy, rooms at the back may mean walking outside to reach the main hotel”
Peterhug27, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“There are ground floor rooms if you want to take a dog with you (access to the garden)”
peachygear, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Dart as mentioned above”
chindog, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Any in this hotel”
carolmY6655KQ, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 123* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 123
Booking.comUSD 123
Orbitz.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates