We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Le Friquet Country Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Le Friquet Country Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 443: English reviews
Start your review of Le Friquet Country Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I cannot say anything except to everything was perfect. Staff couldn't do enough for us. Rooms small but adequate. Nice and warm. A friends room had a problem with the shower he was too tall for where the shower head had been placed. He wasn't too bothered and that was the only fault we could find. Our room was okay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise V
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I visited the The Lobster & Grill restaurant for dinner and had a wonderful evening. The staff are extremely friendly and the food, wine and service exceptional. We were pleasantly surprised by the freshness of the local seafood.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave2906
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had cause to stay in Guernsey for a couple of days early April 2017. This place I would come back to again. The food and restaurant were excellent I liked the attentive staff, nothing was too much trouble. This place is a lesser known jewel on the Island of Guernsey. I needed some documents photocopied urgently and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tommy19601956
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a food experience! The children and my wife were taken by the level of service, the freshness of the seafood, the friendliness of the staff and the warm ambiance in this highly recommend restaurant of Le Fe Friquet Country Hotel. The points from our six years old girl were clear: immeasurable out of immeasurable! Don´t forget to order their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LSVW
James S, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LSVW Thank you for your review of our Lobster and Grill restaurant. I am pleased to hear that your family felt comfortable and welcome. As long as the Gin Fizz wasn't for your 6 year old, maybe in a few years. We hope to see you again sometime. Regards James

Par, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here twice for business over the last two years and both times have had a good stay. The location is central for travelling the whole island and they have ample free parking. The service is attentive and polite. Food is excellent, the restaurant for dinner is absolutely fantastic and breakfast is also of high quality. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
James S, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike G Thank you for your review it is much appreciated, we refurbish our rooms on an ongoing basis and have completed five so far this year. Hopefully we will see you again next year if not before and you will be able to give us that 5 star! Regards James

Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

A hidden gem in Guernsey. This was my first visit to this hotel, although I've been travelling to Guernsey for over 15 years. Well appointed rooms, friendly staff and the food in the hotel restaurant was delicious and affordable. The gardens are pretty too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BQLondoner
James S, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BQLondoner Well it sound like we may have you on board for your next visit to Guernsey. You'll have to come when the flowers are blooming and the swimming pool is at it's best and to enjoy a glass of champagne on our patio here at Le Friquet hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back. Regards James

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

The food and breakfast were excellent. The rest of the service in the hotel was average so was the standard of the room. Twice I requested a wake up call for the morning, twice it was forgotten...Some recurrent noise in the building made it difficult to fully rest (on top of the noise of the traffic). Guernsey is a beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathjA6885RN
James S, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cathjA6885RN Thank you for your comments regarding our restaurant, however I am sorry to hear you did not have the expected experience regarding your accommodation. If you do return to Guernsey please do not hesitate to ask for myself if you did decide to stay with us so that I can address any issues/concerns you may have. Regards James

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017

My young daughter and I stayed in this hotel for two nights in February and from the moment we walked through the door until we checked-out we were made to feel very welcome. The hotel room we had was on the top floor overlooking the garden. I don't believe there is a lift in the hotel and although this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
James S, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul R Thank you for your comments, I am glad to her that you both felt relaxed and welcome. Unfortunately we do not have a lift currently however it is something we are looking into. We hope to see you again if you get another chance to visit Guernsey. Regards James

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

The hotel is easy to locate but outside of St Peter Port so the term 'country' hotel is accurate. It has attractive grounds which would no doubt look even better in summer! The bar and restaurant area are first class as is the food and wine selection. The road past the hotel is surprisingly busy and my only slight criticism...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
James S, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew G I'd like to thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel. Unfortunately we cannot control Guernsey's roads however it is an issue the states are looking into for Rue Du Friquet. We hope to see you again soon. Regards James

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

I travel to Guernsey on a fairly regular basis but this was my first stay atLe Friquet. Overall my stay was good with a nice meal in the hotel resturant. I entertained some customers and our group was looked after extremely well by the resturant staff. I will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elladog15
James S, General Manager at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elladog15 We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us, that your guests also were looked after well. We look forward to welcoming you again. Regards James

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel
3.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
731 reviews
4.5 km away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
503 reviews
2.6 km away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
557 reviews
1.1 km away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
2.2 km away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Le Friquet Country Hotel

Address: Le Friquet Country Hotel La Rue Du Friquet, Castel GY5 7ST
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Price Range: $118 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Friquet Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Friquet Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Friquet Country Castel
Hotel Le Friquet Country
Le Friquet Country Hotel Guernsey/Castel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Le Friquet Country Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Le Friquet Country Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only visited the restaurant.”
Dave2906, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Definitely not a room on the side of the traffic noise.”
cathjA6885RN, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms not facing Rue to Friquet would be quieter”
andrewgI7392KF, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Second time in Room 9, well located with views across the gardens.”
579juditht, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms have views of the garden and pool area.”
goldenoldiehampshire, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5