We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 187*
USD 161*
Great Deal
USD 167*
USD 167*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,397 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,384: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2016

We come to Ashbourne each year to visit family and always choose stay in the Pilo Hotel as the amenities are great! The room is comfortable for 5 of us in a family room, and the kids love to swim in the pool. The staff are friendly and helpful and make it an easy and pleasant hotel to stay in....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kennedyjohn797
Darrell P, Guest Relations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear kennedyjohn797, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us and for rating us so highly on tripadvisor. I was thrilled to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and that you found it a great place to stay. Your kind praises about great amenities, comfortable rooms, great pool area, friendly and helpful staff have been...

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Just back from a 3 night stay. Overall it was lovely, and very pleasant to be able to relax outside with a drink due to the sunny weather. Room was nice and comfy with views over lovely countryside and was very quiet. The breakfast buffet was not hot enough for me, but others seemed to be loving it. There were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
Darrell P, Guest Relations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear Lisa H, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and share your thoughts regarding your recent visit with us on tripadvisor. I was very pleased to hear that you had an overall pleasant stay and were able to relax outside due to the great weather. Although you found the breakfast experience to be lacking a bit...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

I spent three nights here as a business traveller and found it to be excellent. Room was large and comfortable. My room was on the 5th Floor which was also quiet and had really nice views. Food was good, room service prompt. The Pillo is also popular as a family hotel, being close to Tayto Park, so there were lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
Darrell P, Guest Relations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear Rob S, Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent visit with us on tripadvisor. I was delighted to learn that one of our business travellers found the hotel to be excellent and also have promised to recommend the hotel to others. Your very kind comments about large and comfortable rooms, good food, prompt...

Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We booked one night - Sunday 29 May 2016. Room was lovely - it was a deluxe room but it had no bath. Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room were all grand. I overhead a lady say that the changing room was a mess and "that they never clean it on a Sunday" - maybe something that should be looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
Darrell P, Guest Relations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear Catherine C, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit with us on tripadvisor. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and the promise of a recommendation is greatly appreciated. The concerns you had regarding the cleanliness of the changing rooms in Clann have been passed on to our Leisure...

Amsterdam
Reviewed 1 June 2016

I have stayed here several times and had lovely stays but the most recent was a disaster. there was terrible noise though out the night even though I called reception 3 times to complain and no apologies then or at check out. hopefully when we return they will be able to give us a top floor room... away from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma O
Darrell P, Guest Relations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear Emma O, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us on tripadvisor. I was sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy yourselves this time around due to some disturbance throughout the night. I have discussed your concerns with the night team in order to prevent disappointments in the future. Please accept my...

Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

We arrived around 8.30 pm on a Sunday evening. The gentleman on reception was pleasant and organised. He had arranged for our Tayto Park tickets to be picked up on site in the morning and gave details for breakfast etc. We went straight to the room which was spacious, clean and very comfy beds to get our two young children...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JSFerry1
Darrell P, Guest Relations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear JSFerry1, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit with us on tripadvisor. I was thrilled to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and that it was so nice and relaxing. Your kind comments about the friendly receptionist, and the clean and spacious room have been communicated to our team who I know...

Ireland
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We arrived late around 8.30 on Saturday and the place was really busy and people had been drinking all day. The place was not clean. We needed to eat and no seats in restaurant and bar mobbed.............we sat out in lobby and table very very dirty and had to ask waiter twice for menus and he had little interest if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kath J
Darrell P, Guest Relations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear Kath J, Thank you for taking the time to share some thoughts regarding your recent visit with us on tripadvisor. I was obviously disappointed to learn that you did not fully enjoy your stay, but also grateful for the feedback offered. As a team we value the constructive critic given as it offers a genuine opportunity to evaluate our...

Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed 31 May 2016

I have traveled with tour groups several times and this is by far the best hotel that I have stayed in. As soon as you walk in everything is appealing. The rooms were very spacious and CLEAN which is a big thing when you are traveling in Europe. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. You won't be disappointed. Dawn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dawnscott2016
Darrell P, Guest Relations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear dawnscott2016, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us on tripadvisor. I was obviously delighted to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and that this was the best hotel you have ever stayed in. Your very kind praises about the spacious rooms, cleanliness and the promise of a recommendation is all gratefully received. I...

Reviewed 30 May 2016

I have stayed here several times on businees and It is a fantastic hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and the food is superior, this is a fantastic hotel and the gym staff are very friendly and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre S
Darrell P, Guest Relations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear Deirdre S, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit with us on tripadvisor. I was thrilled to learn that as a regular guest you find us to be a fantastic hotel. Your very kind comments have been communicated to our team who I know will treasure them. I am looking forward to...

Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Rooms are good size, well decorated and spotless. However, the food lets the Pillo down every time - my third time to eat here but my first time to stay. Very average, at best, food in the restaurant and my first choice of wine wasn't available. Went to bar after dinner for a drink and AT LEAST 3 different beers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cleobyrne
Darrell P, Guest Relations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear cleobyrne, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit with us on tripadvisor. I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food on offer and I have communicated this to our head chef who I know will be as disappointed as I was. You will be happy to learn that...

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
2.1 km away
Ashbourne Court Hotel
Ashbourne Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
246 reviews
12.9 km away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
23.3 km away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
2.1 km away
Ashbourne House Hotel
Ashbourne House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashbourne
276 reviews
25.1 km away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This modern hotel combines contemporary chic with 4 star luxury, perfectly located between Dublin City centre and Meath the heritage capital of Ireland so you can enjoy the best of both worlds. With 148 bedrooms decorated to the highest standard The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is the only choice when staying for business or pleasure.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is ideal for a family getaway, with interconnecting and spacious family rooms available, a fantastic 16 metre swimming pool, children’s play room on site and with Ireland’s newest attraction Tayto Park just five minutes away the children will be entertained for hours. Other attractions within the area include The National Aquatic Centre, Dublin Zoo and Funtasia.Or if you’re staying for business, enjoy our high speed complimentary internet access or work in the comfort of our business centre. Relax and unwind in our Fitness centre, Jacuzzi, steam room or sauna.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is located on the N2 and is only 11 minutes from the M50, which makes the hotel the perfect location for conferences and events partnered with over 9000 square feet of meeting space over 7 meeting rooms and on site exhibition space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

Address: The Rath, Ashbourne, Ireland (Formerly Ashbourne Marriott Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Ashbourne
Price Range: $155 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pillo Hotel Ashbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pillo Hotel Ashbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ashbourne
Ashbourne Marriott
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pillo Hotel Ashbourne staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Garvagh, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Dublin, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Pillo Hotel Ashbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front have the better views.”
Denis841, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Our rooms were 305 and 306 (we think).... if not 304 and 305!!!!”
akwaaba50, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel.”
grovine, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Family rooms are plenty big enough for a family of 5”
DLASP1976, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Wifi was free but many sites were blocked.”
_stevie_bennett1, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 161* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 167
Hotels.comUSD 167
HotelQuicklyUSD 187
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates