We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Killeshin Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Killeshin Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

609 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 599: English reviews
Start your review of The Killeshin Hotel
 Click to rate
Baltinglass, Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I recently hosted a 50th birthday party in The Upper Cedar Room, Killeshin Hotel, Portlaoise. From the moment I saw the space and made my original query up to the evening of the event, Pauline (event management) and her team could not have been more helpful. Pauline was extremely helpful with any queries I had and what was more important...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eileenc165
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked into hotel to attend a friend's birthday party last weekend, 18th Feb. We found everything about this hotel to be lovely. It was an easy to find spot, with both overground and underground complimentary parking. It all started to get good though, once we reached Reception. The Manager on Duty, Martin, was absolutely excellent - warm, welcoming and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claire Q
Dublin
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband & I stayed in this hotel recently as a treat for his birthday and I must say we were highly impressed. From the moment we arrived we got a friendly welcome at reception who checked us in quickly and efficiently! We got to our room and we were in the Suite - Management had upgraded us as a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martina D
Ian F, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martina D Thank yo use much for taking the time to pass on your feedback on your recent stay at the Killeshin. Im delighted to read that Martin and the Team took such good care of you. Happy birthday once again to your husband and I hope to meet you in person during your next stay. Kind Regards Ian...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived Friday afternoon with family and went straight to the pool. The pool area was cold and the water itself was freezing so we left and told the hotel manager.He said he would get on it straight away. The next morning we went back to the pool and nothing had changed. Infact the pool was completely empty.We were told more...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john67nolan
Ian F, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear john67nolan I would be delighted if you could contact me directly so I can go through your experience with you. I need to investigate this matter with the team at hotel My email address is ifinnan@thekilleshin.com if I could ask you to send me an email with a number and a suitable time at which I might give you...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my daughter. The room was clean and spacious. It was above the side doors of the bar and beside the road it was a warm night since the room had no aircon we had to open the window it could get noisy with too people and cars passing by. Strong free wifi connection even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodella D
Ian F, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rodella D I was delighted to read your recent review of your stay at the Killeshin. It was lovely to read that the team had taken good care of you and that you enjoyed your meal in the bar during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the killeshin in the near future Kind Regards Ian...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here recently & we received great value for money, the Killeshin Suite is beautifully decorated and has a huge four poster bed. We ate in the Cedar Bar which had a good atmosphere and the food was tasty & prompt, we didn't get a chance to use Zest Leisure but will use it next time. I'd recommend the Killeshin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
Ian F, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marie M Im delighted to read that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at the Killeshin. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The Killeshin suite was recently redecorate and we are very pleased with the Lovely finish our designer achieved. We will be commencing a redecoration project on our rooms in April which will...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a night at this hotel recently, a halfway point to meet with 3 old school friends. B&B was great value and I have to commend the staff on the service, in particular the Manager who couldn't do enough for us and ensured we had a pleasant stay. The food was good too!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate D
Ian F, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate D I would like to than you for taking the time to give us your feedback. The Team and I really value all feedback. Our location is an ideal half way point for guests travelling between Dublin and Cork or Limerick. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Killeshin again the not too distant future Kind...

Portlaoise, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We came in to the bar for a late Sunday lunch after a walking tour. I ordered the fish and chips. Everything else on the plate was fine except for the batter around the fish (the fish was fine). It tasted like a piece of bread was used as the batter. It was way to thick and doughy. I suggest...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LaoisFoodie
Ian F, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LaoisFoodie Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent meal at the Killeshin Im sorry to read that you didn't enjoy the Fish and Chips. This is the first time I have had negative feedback on the dish and I will look into it. It is one of our largest selling dishes. I...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped for a coffee and a sandwich on my way back from Cork. However to my surprise the Killeshin Hotel does not do sandwiches at lunchtime in the bar on Sundays. Have stopped for lunch on previous occasions and found it nice. Disappointed on this occasion.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PaulMaguireDublin
Ian F, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PaulMaguireDublin Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback on your most recent visit to the Killeshin. I was delighted to read that you had found the bar enjoyable on previous visits. We unfortunaetly do not serve sandwiches in the bar on Sunday Lunch as the demand for them was quite low. We will continue to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the bar/restaurant today for lunch. Service was poor as we were sitting for ages and had to grab our own menus. Waiters didn't really have a clue serving people teas that they already had. Very inattentive and never asked was everything ok. Main course was bland and inedible. Waited for someone to clear off the table and no one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel D
Ian F, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachel D Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent visit to the Killeshin. Im terribly sorry that you were left with such a poor impression of the service and food quality at The Killeshin. Im investigating the incident at present and I will come back to you as soon as possible with...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
3.4 km away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
656 reviews
2.1 km away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
968 reviews
13.2 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
170 reviews
10.9 km away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
231 reviews
15.8 km away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Price Range: $90 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Killeshin Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
Sheffield, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Killeshin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in 109, looking out to front of hotel.”
  • Double Bedroom
  • Tea / Coffee
  • Simple, but clean
  • Wardrobe with full length mirrors
  • Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles 59claireq, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 3rd floor and had no disturbances”
 of 5 bubbles 315kated, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the main road passes just in front of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles angelamY419UV, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed towards the back of the hotel which was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles J9304EEpaulm, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“friendly staff will accommodate your wishes if at all possible.”
 of 5 bubbles reginadoheny, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5