We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Doonmore Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Doonmore Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

486 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Doonmore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 476: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Stayed here for a couple of nights and I couldn't recommend it more. Beautiful location about 10 mins walk from the harbour. Best place on the island for food, trad and craic. Staff were absolutely lovely, every single one we met. Funny and considerate, we were well looked after for our whole stay. If you want a genuine, down-to-earth family...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg K
Doonmore1, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Greg K, Thank you for your very positive review. It appears that you might have enjoyed your stay with us a little bit!! In fairness, you obviously 'got' what this place is all about and your recommendations are spot on. Thank you for your considerate thoughts on so many aspects of our business, especially the staff. I have little...

Kinvara, Ireland
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

The food here is wonderful! The chips are the bast ever! Or so I get told every time I try to walk past it with my daughter! All the staff are really lovely and we have tried loads of things on the menu and never been disappointed. The burger in unreal and the crab claws are to die for! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
Doonmore1, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fiona F, Thank you for your review. I'm not sure if you stayed with us or just called in for food but I think your daughter has excellent taste anyway! It seems that you got to enjoy a fair bit of time with us, including some of our famous crabclaws and music sessions. If you haven't stayed with us...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 19 August 2016

What a treat to be collected from the ferry and chauffeured to the hotel! My friend and I felt like royalty. Our room was lovely ; spacious and clean and so quiet and peaceful. Not a sound except for the whisper of the ocean. We were entertained in the bar that night by some great lively traditional music provided by...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank HBroderick
Doonmore1, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HBroderick, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Our job is to make sure you get to enjoy every minute of your stay with us, the food, the music, the service and of course the entertainment. It seems that you really did enjoy yourselves and you should be treated like royalty, so...

1210 Sandspit Road Warkworth Matakana Auckland New Zealand
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We loved our two nights on Inishbofin Island. The accommodation was comfortable, the beds was comfortable, the showers worked well and it was clean and quiet and good value on an absolutley gorgeous island! Loved walking here! We ate dinner both nights at this well run pub and the food was very good. Breakfast was also very good and we...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saltings_10
Doonmore1, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Saltings_10, Thank you for your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed so much of what we have to offer in the Doonmore. Our location is indeed perfect to take advantage of the beautiful walks, especially the famously stunning Westquarter Loop. I do hope you get to come back again soon. Thank you again. Regards, Andrew

Dublin
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We go to this hotel every year with our kids , family and friends . The staff can't do enough to make you feel welcome . food is amazing , rooms are spotless . the view is spectacular while enjoying a drink

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aoifed123
Doonmore1, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear aoifed123, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. As a regular visitor, you have the advantage of seeing the business over a number of years and I suppose the fact that you return, as you say ' every year with our kids , family and friends' means you are already a well established Bofin...

Ridgway, Colorado
Reviewed 15 August 2016

If you are lucky enough to visit Inishbofin this is the place to be. Super friendly, great pub, great food and fantastic walking. We had the family room, it fit our needs perfectly and had great views!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
Doonmore1, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jill M, Thank you for your review. Our family rooms are enjoyed by many for the fact that a couple and two or three kids can get reasonably priced accommodation in a hotel with all the attending facilities in the one building, allowing parents time to themselves in the evening while the kids either chill out in the TV...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 12 August 2016

The staff at Doonmore Hotel were very pleasant, helpful and efficient. The breakfast was plentiful and of good quality. The room and en-suite, although a bit dated, were spacious, with a nice large bed and a good view of the sea. The tap-fed shower could be improved with an electric shower or a pumped shower.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelO355KT
Doonmore1, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear michaelO355KT, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. The staff are very regularly praised and deservedly so. Our food, including our breakfasts, is tasty and all produced in our own kitchen, with homemade brown bread and desserts featuring every day. I'm delighted you enjoyed your sea view room, which is one of the original rooms and as such,...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful time in this friendly hotel! During our stay of five days we heard a lot of good live music in the pub of the hotel. The hotel is situated near by the sea and permitted a wonderful view! The restaurant is marvelous! During the nights we slept quiet an comfortable. We will return for sure!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
Doonmore1, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrea R, Thank you for your review. 5 days is a great length of time to spend here and gives you lots of time to appreciate this wonderful island. I'm delighted that you enjoyed so much good music and food and comfort while you were here. I hope you get back to stay with us in 2107. Thank you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Lovely family run hotel. Very welcoming and relaxing. Great for young kids. Excellent food with good vegetarian options. Sticky Toffee pudding not to be missed! Well located for exploring the island. Good music in the bar at night. First impressions were that it was a little basic and down at heal but that all became part of its unfolding charm...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpvc769
Doonmore1, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jpvc769, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I love the sentence you finish with...'wish I was back there now' I can only add that on the basis of what you wrote, Inishbofin and The Doonmore Hotel have stolen a little bit of your heart and they will always be here for you to come back to and...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Couldn't recommend this hotel anymore if I tried. Such a warm and friendly atmosphere. Best place on the island for the craic too! Thank you to the Murrays and crew for yet another holiday to remember!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank oflynn_nicola
Doonmore1, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicola, Thank you so much for your review and you are more than welcome, no need for the thanks, it's a pleasure to have you and your crew here. If Carlsberg did customers... Regards, Andrew

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
1.4 km away
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
21.9 km away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
231 reviews
21.4 km away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
696 reviews
18.3 km away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
327 reviews
19.1 km away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Murrays' Doonmore Hotel, the most westerly island hotel in Ireland, was built in 1969 and has been owned and managed by the Murray family ever since. We pride ourselves on our hands on approach to customer service so you will be dealing with a member of the family at most stages of your stay. We care about what we do because it is not just a job, it is our life. Our friendly staff are superbly trained and they know that our raison d'etre is to ensure that every customer, from a child ordering a hot chocolate to a group of adults staying for a week, deserves only the best service possible. Our hotel and bar food is famous for its freshly caught seafood and its consistently high quality and value for money. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and warm. The atmosphere is welcoming, homely and relaxed. It is no accident that we have a large percentage of repeat business stretching back to the early days. The proof of the pudding is in the eating (and we bake all our own!) So come out and visit and experience Murrays' Doonmore Hotel for yourselves. Andrew Murray ... more   less 

Additional Information about Doonmore Hotel

Address: Inishbofin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Price Range: $125 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Doonmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doonmore Hotel Inishbofin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Doonmore Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Dublin, Ireland
over a year ago
Dublin, Ireland

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Doonmore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are basic and not luxurious but clean and warm. ”
janemX9912GJ, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter but if you love the sound of the sea as I do, look for the rooms upstairs in the main part of the hotel.”
BShep22, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I travelled solo, but best designed for couples' stays.”
Nikki_Woo42, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“My room was quiet and had 2 windows with great views, one small quibble water pressure in shower was very poor. ”
maireo80, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Clean,comfortable ,fresh clean linen, serviced daily. Excellent. ”
282billyo, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates