We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Jackson's Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Jackson\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,382: English reviews
Strabane, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Hi all we were staying in jacksons. They had placed us in one of the rooms above the new ballroom. We may have b front line in the concert because we could hear it all. Especially the clean up crew at tge end of the night. The beds were hard as rocks too and the interior needed a lick of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IrishFoodielover
Dublin
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel and could not wait to leave it, the hotel is half operational. We were put in the so called "new part", very far from reception. The carpets are unlevel and dangerous, the spot lights in the halls all have black burn marks around them and the place is a dormant mess. The food is poor and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kitser1
Ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at Jacksons for the Irish Dancing competition. First impressions of the hotel weren’t great, we parked in underground multistorey car park which had a lot of litter in it and pools of water on the floor which made moving luggage more awkward trying to jump over puddles. We arrived at around 12 noon and went to reception to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 086bigtom
Andrew K, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us at Jacksons Hotel. I will be looking into the items that you raised and I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our food offering. The weekend that you have highlighted was a very busy weekend and...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in this hotel 4 star ha now that's a joke!! from start to finish it was terrible. Costumer service was shocking from the guy in reception Calvin i believe was his name so unhelpful. I was told that i was being housed in the old part of hotel after my wife told him when she booked the hotel she...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Uiscema
Andrew K, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay in October 2016. I am happy that you enjoyed the "Cash Returns Event". We will be taking you concerns on board. Kind regards Andrew Keane

Carrickmacross, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dreadful hotel dirty furniture in lobby same in bar and i mean stained seating, dining room first evening was ok next morning we were in another dining room it was dirty damp and was like a room that had not been used for a long time. I would not recommend this hotel to any one. This break was on 29...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bernie M
Andrew K, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your recent stay. We are in the process of updating our hotel for our valued customers and we hope that you revisit Jacksons in the near future to see the improvements that we have made. Kind regards Andrew Keane

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As the review below says, Jacksons have ruined our christmas surprise weekend away by cancelling the Winter Wonderland and only letting us know a month before we were due to arrive! Same rubbish customer service- getting in touch via email to tell us then claiming they had tried to phone me 3 times (lies!) the only phonecall I missed from...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NL2009
Andrew K, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very sorry for any trouble caused. Please note that we send the last few remaining guests that where not contactable after several telephone calls over the past couple of weeks about the decision to not run the wonderland this year and outlined recommendations of where events are taking place in Donegal. Kind regards Andrew Keane

Reviewed 5 November 2016

What a devastating experience for our family the hotel cancelled our Santa trip without even telling us it wasn't until I emailed to check we definitely had a family room did they reply back four days later to say that the winter wonderland had been cancelled talk about disappointment!!! Try explaining that one to two small kids !! What rubbish...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine F
Andrew K, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very sorry for any trouble cause due to the Hotel not running the Winter Wonderland as we will be under going works around this time. Please be assured that once we knew we contacted all the guest and have made follow up calls along with emails to ensure that guest are informed as soon as possible....

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Just back from a fantastic relaxing stay in Jacksons Hotel every member of staff from housekeeping, waiters, and receptionist we encountered were friendly helpful and willing to assist with our requests. Our rooms while dated were clean spacious and beds comfortable the food was delicious the children in our party enjoyed the.goodie bags and movie nights. Definitely recommend for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
Andrew K, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very happy to read that you had a great stay with us recently at Jacksons Hotel. I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Jacksons in the near future. Kind regards Andrew Keane

Killinchy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

this was my second stay at this hotel and it was great. breakfast , dining room food and bar food were all great. rooms were spacious and clean. staff were very friendly and helpful. great touring base for donegal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snowgul
Andrew K, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am delighted to read that you had a great visit with us at Jacksons Hotel over the Halloween Weekend. We look forward to welcoming you back to Jacksons Hotel in the near future. Kind regards Andrew Keane

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Went here for a weekend sat and Sunday nite stay,and for the price we paid I was sorely disappointed in the hotel as a whole Our room was very big but dated and the hotel could have been a lot cleaner,the jacuzzi shower !!!!!!!! didnt work as per the sign they had put beside it in the room ,no point...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank kenzal909
Andrew K, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am disappointed to read that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay with us at Jacksons Hotel. We will be taking your concerns on board. We hope to welcome you back in the new year when you can see all the changes we will be making. Kind regards Andrew Keane

869 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (328)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (147)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (528)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Double Single Room (59)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Riverview Double Room (50)
Viewed
Suite (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (95)
Viewed
Traditional Double Double Room (46)
Viewed
Traditional Double Room (55)
Viewed
Traditional Standard Double Room (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.2 km away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,008 reviews
1.1 km away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
17.4 km away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#5 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,008 reviews
20.8 km away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
3,731 reviews
21.9 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the bustling village of Ballybofey, Jacksons Hotel is an award-winning Hotel on the banks of the River Finn and Drumboe Woods. Renowned for its hospitality and great food, Jacksons is the ideal base for touring Donegal and the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jackson's Hotel

Address: Main Street, Ballybofey, CO Donegal, Ballybofey, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Price Range: $80 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Jackson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksons Hotel Ballybofey
Jackson's Hotel Ballybofey, County Donegal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jackson's Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Belfast, United Kingdom
Skegness, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Jackson's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just do not stay here”
 of 5 bubbles kitser1, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms in the newer part of the hotel are best, but its a bit of a trek to breakfast. although its worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles snowgul, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles 281tomm, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be wary of the Sixth Floor.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnH313, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the new section of the Hotel for the best rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles rossfleming78, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay