We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chattanooga Choo Choo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,586 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chattanooga Choo Choo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,552: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I checked out at $189 for a night at something way lower scale than a Motel 6. When you book the rooms, it looks like you are booking a standard train car. I actually had called and spoke with a reservations agent and she did not indicate there was a difference. When I got there though, I found that I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank KTMacATL
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I’m sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We are checking every balcony ceiling in the building that you stayed in. By the way, it is the most requested building on our complex. The one photo that looks like a crane is part of the history of when we were a train complex. Our CSI index with Tripadvisor for...

Suwanee, Georgia
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great hotel, great room, very clean and NO smell !!!! The carpet was clean, the linens as well, the bathroom- spotless ! Great week-end for a couple. We really recommend it , and we thank our friends for booking this hotel as a birthday present ! We look forward to go back in the future. Thank you management for keeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alliy27
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am glad that you found our hotel to be awesome and excellent. Your review says it all. Thanks again, and we look forward to your return. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM

Newnan
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Lets start this off by saying I read all the reviews for this hotel and was kind of worried because of the bad reviews yes they have many but I make it appoint to read the negative. The lobby is beautiful and so are the gardens. Most of the shops aren't open at least they weren't when we were there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank curleyc862
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Great! I am so glad that you were pleasantly surprised. Don’t let a couple of bad reviews influence your decision. Please focus on all the very positive reviews. Thanks for your fine compliments about the hotel lobby and gardens. Your room has been checked out for the water issue. It was a mixing control valve. On your other concerns I...

Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed there this weekend for a family wedding. I stayed there 30 years ago, and it has not changed except for new TV's in the room. The Restaurant was old and dirty. The Gardens outside were beautiful. I still have no idea why the place was packed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary C
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

You could not be further from the truth. We were packed this weekend, because we have a great property and a great staff. I have been here for 12 years, and we have renovated every guest room (363) at this hotel. Additionally, we have renovated all the meeting space. On average, we invest between $1.5-3 million a year in maintaining...

Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

This former historic station is an amazing hotel The reception is in the former booking hall and looks spectacular The old platforms are still there as are some of the old coaches in which you can stay The rest of the rooms are in three blocks in the old rail yard Although these blocks look dated, the rooms in side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David E
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. You must be travelling with the previous guest reviewer. Glad you had a great time in the Station House. It is a big hit with all our guests. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM

Broadway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2013

A night not to be missed! Rooms are a little tired, but the experance of the whole property, is great. Ride the old Train,Free tram ride to down town. Also don't miss out on dinner in the Station Resturant with good food and singing waiters.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham G
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thank you for recognizing the history of the terminal building. We love to hear that you not only were an overnight guest but enjoyed our other venues. Glad you had a great time in the Station House. It is a big hit with all our guests and it’s been here since 1973. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM

Franklin, TN
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The lobby is beautiful and historic as are the grounds. However, the rooms, train cars included, do not support the "hype" to stay at The Choo Choo. The traditional rooms have a musty, truly "old" odor and the furnishings are at best average. The hallways and elevators also offer the same odor. (And this is after two trips, staying in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TN_Traveler212
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am very sorry we didn’t meet your expectations. I have walked the hotels and I did not notice any odor, however you did. Here’s are some facts; in September, we have sold 7,332 rooms. We have had 6 reviews 2 stars and under (which we don’t like). That’s1 for every 1,222 rooms sold. I’ll email you via tripadvisor, I...

Indialantic, Florida
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Chattanooga Choo Choo was one of the most beautiful hotels I have stayed at in my travels. The room was excellent, the staff was very kind and the architecture was awesome. The old train station makes a beautiful hotel. I am happy they saved the building to show it off to travels from all over the world. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bm12000
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

BEAUTIFUL…that is what we love to hear. So glad that you enjoyed the history of the Train Station. Thank you for your fine compliments of the friendly staff. We appreciate you sharing your story with us. Thanks for your recommendation. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM

Seaville, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I recently stayed at the Chattanooga Choo Choo. What a wonderful facility! Best of all the food was excellent. There are many things to do within the hotel complex. Great banquet and lecture rooms. I would highly recommend this hotel. It's also a bit of history! Great job Choo Choo!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betty B
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments and a 5 STAR REVIEW. We will share your fine comments with our staff. We love for all our guests to have a memorable experience. Based on your comments, you and your friends did. We look forward to your return. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM

Woodstock, Georgia
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Had a wonderful time at the Choo Choo. Hotel is old, but comfortable. I only wish we had a refrigerator in the room which was the only thing missing. There is an electric bus system that is free and will take you downtown Chattanooga and back, runs until 11pm right at the hotel, such a convenience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helen a
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your story with us and you 4 STAR review. We love to hear that you had a wonderful stay in a great location. We are getting bids for refrigerators as we speak. Come back again soon. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM

1,158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1029)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (297)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (152)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (439)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (99)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (17)
Viewed
Executive King Room (14)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Pullman Train Car Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
1.1 km away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.5 km away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,124 reviews
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.8 km away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Price Range: $160 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chattanooga Choo Choo staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

I've been coming here 1-2x a year for about 7 years now-always in winter. This year I finally attended a convention there in summertime and I was STOKED to finally use that pool that had been vexing me.

All day long it was full of feral children and at night, when the con activities slowed the pool gates were locked. (9pm!) that was the only time I saw any security off their golf cart-to lock us out of the pool! Earlier in the day, we noticed a car POURING GAS from it tank in the parking lot. We flagged the centaurs (security/golf cart hybrids) and one said point blank that he didn't care because it "wasn't his car". I called the front desk 2x about it. No one really seemed to care.

I am SORELY disappointed, Choo Choo.

Also the renovations are terrible, did you have to tear out the station house and sandwich shop at the same time? The gardens breakfast we used to look forward to was awful, and the short male waiter was TERRIBLE. Overheard him telling a table of three ladies that unless they gave him another dollar he would have to pay a dollar to take care of them (not sure what he meant, but they coughed up an extra dollar, which he pocketed and left them without saying ty) ladies told us they'd never be back. When we paid him, he didn't even offer to bring our change, just took our cash and left.

He should be fired.

  We had silver car pizza 1x and it was burnt. We called out to papa johns and then city cafe after that.

We have always stayed here at the choo choo, and looked forward to it, but after this past weekend at the con, we're considering branching out and trying another hotel nearby...

over a year ago
Decatur, Alabama
6 months ago

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Chattanooga Choo Choo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would recommend the railway cars.”
 of 5 bubbles christophermK8070AD, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Train cars inside next to the water and lights”
 of 5 bubbles diamondj98us, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Look on Groupon for deals”
 of 5 bubbles mireina1675, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get the train car room!”
  • Gotta love those train car rooms
 of 5 bubbles kevingQ138ZZ, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Look at before staying, we didn't and will from now on”
 of 5 bubbles steveJ5323RU, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay