We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Chattanoogan

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Chattanoogan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Chattanoogan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,184: English reviews
Illinois City, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The cleanest bathtub I have ever seen. That tells you a lot about the rest of the place which was excellent. Good location to downtown and lookout mountain. Over all the best I have been in for a while

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sutter39
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

Thank you, for your review. It is great to know that you enjoyed not only your accommodations but also our location. We look forward to you staying with us again the next time you are in Chattanooga.

South Florida, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms were nice, car valet was very good, location is not correct on website - must enter on street behind address. Restaurant service is one of the worst ever! Chef at breakfast is very good, excellent t omelets - But the service is very bad!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan9969
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

Thank you, for your review. It is nice to know that you enjoyed aspects of your stay. However, we do apologize for any inconveniences or poor customer service that you experienced. That is not the standard nor is it acceptable. Your review will be shared with management and their team. It is our hope that you would consider staying with...

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful room on the 5th floor, and slept well. The space was clean and well maintained. It was my first visit to the property and I would recommend it to others, and would choose very preferentially to visit again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin B
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

Thank you, for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay from the time of arrival to departure. It is good to know that based upon your experience you will return. We look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Lees Summit
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Husband/daughter attended business conference ... Son-n-law, grankids and I tagged along. They were very happy with the meeting accommodations and facilities. Auditorium style seating with tables; Podium with microphone; in house projector. Very nice breakfast buffet with wide assortment of options. Lunch was served in the restaurant. Pastas, salads and deli selections were available buffet style. Drinks and snacks were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruvtoeatpetfriendly
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to hear that you were able to combine business and pleasure. It is great to know that the conference was a success and that they were able to relax and enjoy the hotel in the evenings. We hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights for work. The hotel is very comfortable and I have no complaints. The location is good for walking to bars and restaurants in the area. The one thing I would recommend improving is the directions and instructions for getting to the parking area. A great place to stay and I would bring my family if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

Thank you, for your review. It was our absolute pleasure to welcome you to The Chattanoogan hotel during your recent stay. We appreciate the kind words about our hotel! We know you have many options, and we are glad you chose us. It is great that you were able to enjoy the Southside area; home to several of the city’s...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The decor and ambiance was amazing. The rooms were very clean and the bed made me want to book another night's stay. I ate at the Foundry Lounge in the hotel and the food was awesome! I will definitely stay at this hotel again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lovie Y
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

Thank you, for your review. It is great to hear that enjoyed not only your accommodations but also the outstanding food in The Foundry. We look forward to when you can return to Chattanooga and stay with us again.

Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So, our family came up to visit our oldest son at college and stayed at The Chattanoogan Hotel for the first time. We reserved two connecting rooms to accommodate everyone. Upon arrival, we were efficiently checked in and pleased to find our rooms were ready and waiting. The hotel has a convention center feel to it. The lobby is nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jojotm7
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

Thank you, for your detailed candid review. We are disappointing to read about the numerous issues and extend our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and frustrations you encountered. Your comments will be shared with our entire team to make certain that our staff is committed to delivering top-notch service to our valued guests, which has always been our number one...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I chose the Chattanoogan for a family getaway for one night. Since we were going to visit Ruby Falls and explore Chatanooga parks on Saturday then the Aquarium on Sunday, I wanted an indoor pool for the kids and the spa option for me. Something for everyone. Overall very pleased with choice. If we had taken advantage of the free...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vizsla66
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

Thank you, for your review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family to our hotel during your recent getaway to Chattanooga. We’re happy to read that our convenient location made it easy to explore the numerous attractions nearby. We appreciate your helpful feedback. Thank you for providing your thoughts, we hope you’ll return again in the future.

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

only one elevator was working on Saturday, water damage on the night stand, wall paper peeling in the bathroom, sink drained very slow. staff was good, but it looks like no one cares about the upkeep of the rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joebE2949LL
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

Thank you, for your review. We are disappointed to read that your recent stay did not impress you in every way, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your visit. We will share your comments with our entire team to make certain we continue to provide top-notch service and well-appointed accommodations to our valued...

Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Used priceline, no one at the front desk knew where anything was locally or how to get anywhere. Was put in a ADA room that had small restroom. I complained and was moved into a room with no hot water. Paper thin walls allowed us to hear every door close and conversation in the two adjoining rooms. However the foundry...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K8167YZcharlesm
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

Thank you, for your candid review. We appreciate your feedback as it help us to determine areas that we need to improve. Please know when booking on a third-party website your type of room is not guaranteed. It is always best to call the hotel directly if you are needing a specific room type. We apologize for any inconveniences that...

643 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (198)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (420)
Viewed
Amenities (90)
Viewed
Courtyard Suite (64)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (44)
Viewed
King Deluxe Room (42)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Chattanoogan Suite (115)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.6 km away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
1.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 96 in Chattanooga
2,626 reviews
1.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
1.7 km away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Address: 1201 South Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Price Range: $216 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Chattanoogan staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Jacksonville, Florida
Minneapolis, Minnesota
over a year ago
Milton, Georgia
14 days ago
Atlanta
2 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Chattanoogan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beautiful place. Cold shower will ruin your day. ”
 of 5 bubbles 522lesb, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It's a large hotel that accomadates conferences etc. If it's important to you and family, might consider looking into rooms closer to the pool and spa on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Vizsla66, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“only one elevator was working on Saturday, water damage on the night stand, wall paper peeling in the bathroom, sink drained very slow. staff was good, but it looks like no one cares about the upkeep of the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles joebE2949LL, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The room was a little warm that night, we had to turn the thermostats fan from "auto to "on" to cool the room down some. Other than that, the room experience was great. Soft comfortable beds and very clean room throughout. We stayed on the 4th floor.”
 of 5 bubbles brandont510, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Floor 4 was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles rivergirl25, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5