We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avanti Motel

Orbitz.comUSD 109*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 109*
Great Deal
USD 111*
USD 109*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Avanti Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Avanti Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 64: English reviews
Faith, South Dakota
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We stayed 3 nights. Our room was clean when we arrived & was made-up nice each evening when we got back. It was nice to hear music from downtown, but we couldn't hear it when inside, so we were able to sleep well. Not much traffic on the street, so that was really nice. Close to a lot of different...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne-Evan
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

We are happy you had a great stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Edmond
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Room appeared to be recently remodeled. We were in the "apartment" which had a full refrigerator, stove and all necessary utensils although we did not need them. Room was very clean and comfortable, except the air conditioner was by the door. The way the room was designed, the cool air never made it close to the bedroom. Luckily two fans...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

We are working with a team to try to solve this problem, and hopefully can have it solved soon.

Reviewed 25 July 2016

Avanti Motel Rapid City was part of a road trip to Devil's Tower and Mt. Rushmore. It was our second motel out of four, and was our least favorite motel and our least favorite stop. We were there on a Thursday and went downtown for dinner. We could not find parking, so went a few blocks further back and found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

We do not advertise many amenities which keeps our costs low (even though they may be advertised as free, that amenity is built into your room price). Although I can do nothing about your trip downtown it is worth nothing that Thursday we do have a summer festival downtown so many tourists and locals will be down there and parking...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

This was the only place that we could find that had 1 room left, everywhere else was sold out. We said we would take the room over the phone without seeing it so we didn't know what to expect. It was horrible! It was a smoking room - it smelled really bad! The room looked like it hadn't been updated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

We are slowly updating our rooms and do still have smoking rooms. As these rooms are actually smoked in, you are correct they do not smell great. It is near impossible to get the smell out of a room that is constantly smoked in. Our goal is to have every room updated within the next few years, but as we...

Oegstgeest, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Stayed here for one night as part of a road trip. From the outside the motel did not look great but once we went into our room we were positively surprised. It was spacious, the wifi worked well and everything we needed was there. The location is good, really close to downtown Rapid City. It's a shame the motel does...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Loeszie
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

We are happy you chose us to be a part of your adventure and that you enjoyed your room! I hope the rest of your adventure goes smoothly and you have many great memories. If you find yourself back in the area, don't hesitate to give us a call and stay with us again.

Pueblo, Colorado
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

The motel was clean and quiet. We had a good time. We've paid more for less room. The motel is close to downtown Rapid City, which makes it convenient for shopping and restaurants. It's nice to be able to park right outside the door to your room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell E
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

Yes we are located approx 2.5 miles from downtown (maybe even less than that!) We are also only 23 miles from Mt. Rushmore and close to most other destinations in the Black Hills area. Being right off one of the main streets in Rapid City you can easily get anywhere all while avoiding the interstate traffic.

Temperance, Michigan
Reviewed 12 July 2016

This was pretty much the last room in Rapid City, so I wasn't expecting much. It's off the main drag in a light industrial area pretty isolated from any other touristy locales. Three of us were traveling and we were concerned that the place was a little shady, but were put completely at ease by Markie. She runs the place,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CSliwka
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again if you are ever in the area.

West Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 6 July 2016

I was a little scared when we pulled in, but this place had nice rooms that had been updated very recently (everything was new except for maybe the shower curtain rings that were pink). The rooms make up for what it is lacking in curb appeal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LifeAtlasTravel
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

I have made a note to double check and update all of our shower curtains! Thanks for letting us know. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and as soon as all of our rooms are up to date we will work on the exterior.

Casper, Wyoming
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

I would like to start off by saying that based on previous reviews I felt like I did pretty well in finding this "gem" prior to my stay. Also I would like to mention that I did stay on the single most busy day of the year according to Dave, the front desk employee. Upon arrival I was still hopeful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank outgolfing
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

All of our beds at the Avanti Motel are queen sized. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are working on getting all of our rooms newly updated and modern, which takes time. We do all of our work in house and were able to get 1/2 of our rooms done which are up on...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 4 July 2016

The location of the motel was a little odd but it was actually convenient to get to the major roads. It is an older building but the rooms have been updated and mine was fresh, clean and well furnished. The bed and pillows were good and I slept well both nights. The wifi also worked well throughout my stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nebulous77
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We may seem like an odd location, but when this was build Omaha (Hwy 44) was the main road in and out of town (so we were 'the' location to have), when the town started to expand hotels and motels were built along the interstate and other main roads that were developed. It is...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.1 km away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#24 of 51 in Rapid City
276 reviews
3.1 km away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#26 of 51 in Rapid City
295 reviews
1.6 km away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#12 of 51 in Rapid City
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#35 of 51 in Rapid City
216 reviews
0.9 km away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#36 of 51 in Rapid City
133 reviews
1.1 km away
Gold Star Motel
Gold Star Motel
#38 of 51 in Rapid City
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Avanti Motel

Address: 102 N Maple Ave, Rapid City, SD 57701-1535
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Price Range: $67 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avanti Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Avanti Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avanti Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Buckner, Missouri
9 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Avanti Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Luxury rooms at a budget price”
U6527YStimb, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you don't have a room that you need to use a sleeper sofa.”
E2946FIjosephg, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Our room was 11”
BandS2005, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“the renovated rooms are excellent!”
  • curved shower rods and updated tiles!
  • Neutral decor and clean!
  • Updated well furnished rooms!
Big_bro_1_usa, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room number 11”
Creamy1956, 7 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
USD 109* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 111
TripAdvisorUSD 109
Hotwire.comUSD 109
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates