We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Show Prices
#2 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Spearfish Canyon Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

384 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Spearfish Canyon Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 382: English reviews
Hastings, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 January 2016

My only complaint was a large wedding group checked in the night before we were leaving. This group allowed young kids to run WILD through the lodge and especially the lobby with no regard to other guests. It was so bad we had to retreat to our room. The hotel staff should have done something as we are paying guests...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stakevacation
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Stakevacation, Thank you so much for taking your time to review Spearfish Canyon Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we do apologize that your time in our lobby was disrupted. We hope you will come back and stay again! Linda GM

Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewed 12 January 2016

The lodge and location are beautiful. The rooms are clean. The restaurant food was good (not great) and the prices were reasonable, but slow getting your meals to you. Staff were professional, patient, helpful and courteous.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tammiw2016
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Tammiw2016, Thank you so much for taking to review Spearfish Canyon Lodge! We hope you will stay with us again. Linda GM

Dell Rapids, South Dakota
Reviewed 11 January 2016

The lodge was very clean and the rooms were great. I was a guest and part of the bridal party at a wedding at the lodge and I thought the lodge was beautiful; however I had some concerns regarding the bar services. We paid a decent amount of money to stay at the lodge and the bride and groom paid...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank olivia_braun
Marion, South Dakota
Reviewed 8 January 2016

The Rooms are fantastic, with Great hospitality and awesome food! The lobby is a good place to hang visit friends and play games, or just sit back and relax. Or you can jump in to the hot tub and soak well enjoying the beauty of the Hills!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank svbison
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

sbvison, We appreciate that you took time to review Spearfish Canyon Lodge and are so glad you enjoyed your time here! We would love to have you stay again. Thank you, Linda GM

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Beautiful surrounding, friendly and helpful staff, tasty breakfast (complimentary breakfast was a pleasant surprise) and diner. Big, clean and cozy room with a nice view. Trails to waterfall well-maintained and well-marked. Definitely will go back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tvm2016
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Tvm2016, Thank you for you wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the lodge and we hope you will come back to see us again! Linda GM

Gillette, Wyoming
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We booked the New Year's Eve package. The lodge was cozy, the room inviting, the staff courteous...but the buffet which was included was terrible. Cold pasta, overly sweet rice dish, nothing close to a green veg, tough meats and we envied the kids that had ordered burgers at the table near us. The next morning we took a lovely New...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank razorcityrunner
Bruce, South Dakota
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We were only able to spend 1 night at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, but we enjoyed the night we did spend there. Comfortable beds and quiet location were very nice. It looked like the place to stay for snowmobilers as there were a few groups of them there during our stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank becky_graff
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Becky, Thank you so much for your review. we are delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us. we hope you will come back soon! Thank you, Linda

Watertown, South Dakota
Reviewed 2 January 2016

The lodge is very nice. Hot tubs were smaller than expected (and not very warm) and the food was less than average. The views are gorgeous tho!! Also online we decided against renting snowmobiles because it is listed that they only have 570s--in actuality they have 600s so we were bumped because we did not bring our gear.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajh2016
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Ajh2016, Thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoy the Lodge and it's amazing views; we do really have a piece of paradise. I am so sorry that some of our amenities were not up to the standard we do expect from our facility. I will be sure to address these concerns. If you have any other concerns or...

Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Room was nice... The food was all cold what was there, not much to choose from and I am not one to complain ever about my food when I eat out but this was horrible. There were many people saying the same thing as we are. The walk over to the dinning area was snowed packed, hot tub was snowed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rwilc2
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Rwilc2, Thank you for your review. I apologize for the experience that you had at our Lodge over New Year's Eve. I would encourage you to discuss these issues with me so that I can help make this right. Please contact me at 605-584-3435. Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you.

Mayview, Missouri
Reviewed 1 January 2016

from the time we arrived at the lodge we were treated like family by your staff all paper work was in order no problems and the rooms were very clean and nice your snowmobile rental staff were very helpful and friendly this was my third time there will not be my last thanks

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ronbB148DC
GMLinda, General Manager at Spearfish Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

RonbB148DC, I'm so glad you've enjoyed your stays with us! Snowmobiling is one of our favorite seasons; hopefully you had a wonderful time on the trails and we look forward to seeing you again again soon!

173 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (161)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
12.1 km away
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
17.8 km away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#4 of 24 in Deadwood
481 reviews
13.2 km away
Town Hall Inn
Town Hall Inn
#1 of 8 in Lead
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
16.2 km away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
15.9 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 24 in Deadwood
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Spearfish Canyon Lodge

Address: 10169 Roughlock Falls Road, Lead, SD 57783
Region: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Price Range: $131 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spearfish Canyon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Spearfish Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spearfish Canyon Hotel Lead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Spearfish Canyon Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Spearfish Canyon Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was on main floor, at the rear entrance to the parking lot. Very accessible for handicap people and loading and unloading vehicle.”
 of 5 bubbles njsedor, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We only stayed in one, but it was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles joniew160, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the back side were super quiet! Nice robes to use for hot tubs!!”
 of 5 bubbles 138psa, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We happen to really like the suites. But I would guess the other rooms would be nice as well.”
 of 5 bubbles sharonmG8011SJ, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the back overlook the creek. I didn't think the romance package was worth it, but it was nice enough.”
 of 5 bubbles kc597, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5