We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Booking.comUSD 184*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

684 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 668: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 29 October 2016

I normally do not enjoy staying at Best Western, but this one surprised us with service quality, friendly staff, good breakfast, and clean room. The lobby makes a pleasant impression, and reception guys from Honduras were very welcoming and helpful in finding restaurant at the late hour. The room was quite clean and pleasant. Would be happy to stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Volga981
Laura F, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I'm happy to hear that the staff were so welcoming. we would love to have you stay with us again in the future.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed here with two young kids. The pool was a good size. The breakfast was great with tons of seating. Great location to be in order to visit Mt. Rushmore the next day. Room was clean, very spacious and had lots of extra pillows and blankets. We were there during the off season but it seemed like a good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica E
Laura F, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We thank you for staying with us. We were glad to hear that you rchildren enjoyed our pool, and that you were able to enjoy the sites. Thank you for your time and have a great day.

United States
Reviewed 22 October 2016

I enjoyed my stay at this location. It is near to Crazy Horse and Mount Rush More. The place was clean. The breakfast was very good, even fora vegetarian. The hotel staff was friendly. The check-in and check-out was easy. I will consider Best Western hotel chain when I travel next time. They are little bit more expensive, but the...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viral S
Laura F, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. We do hope you will stay with us in the future.

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 21 October 2016

This was a great find...very good value. Would highly recommend this hotel. Although their restaurant had closed for the season there were some excellent restaurants in tow. The night clerk who checked us in was very accommodating in changing our room so I (72 yo) wouldn't have to carry our luggage up stairs.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
Laura F, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our property. We were delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us, and that we were able to accommodate you. Thank you for your time, and we hope you have a great day.

Grand Rivers, Kentucky
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Perfect for travellers wanting to take in all of the sights. The location is so close to Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse that you can drive by them on each day of your stay without taking out too much time from your schedule to get just the right lighting and pics! The suites are clean, roomy and comfortable. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CDE2004
Laura F, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We have an amazing location here in the beautiful Black Hills, and it is just a short drive to all the great attraction. We do hope you will visit us again soon.

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We stayed there because of TripAdvisor, and we weren't disappointed. Very clean, close enough to all of the attraction, and was in a nice quaint lil town. The employees were very nice and helpful. I just wish we stayed longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
Laura F, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We have a lot of amazing attractions to visit in our area. We would love to have you back as a guest again. Hope you have a wonderful day.

Tigard, Oregon
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We stayed here for 5 nights while attending the chuckwagon jamboree as well as lots of sightseeing and it was a very good experience. We opted for the suite and it was very comfortable and clean. We had asked for a second luggage rack, and they found one for us promptly. Good location as it was close to town as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HARRY M
Laura F, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback and hope you will visit us again.

Corpus Christi, Tx.
Reviewed 11 October 2016

My wife and I spent two nights here while we went to Mt. Rush-more and the Crazy Horse monument. It is a short drive to both from Hill City. The Golden Spike is a clean, friendly, and nice looking place to stay. They also have a good hot breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 86josephn
Laura F, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We have a great location centered between all the must see attractions. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us.

Erie, Colorado
Reviewed 10 October 2016

What a nice surprise to find in the hills! My king room was spacious, clean,and beautifully remodeled, comolete with granite counter tops and stainless steel fridge and microwave! All the comforts of home....very good bed, a selection of pillows, and really quiet. The front desk person, Jason, was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was a dull hot buffet with lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosema_13
Laura F, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were delighted to hear that we could meet your accommodation needs. we do hope that the next time you are in our area you will stop and visit us again.

MILWAUKEE, United States
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We spent two night at the Golden Spike Inn & Suites and found it to be extremely comfortable. Great beds and and love the 4 pillows on each bed. The staff was very helpful, the amenities are excellent. This is the perfect location when visiting Custer State Park and the Black Hills area. Would highly recommend this Inn.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geri L
Laura F, Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate your kind words, and are delighted that you had a great stay with us. We do hope that if you are in the area again, that you will stop in and stay with us. Thank you and have a great day.

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
4.4 km away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
235 reviews
12.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
12.4 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Address: 601 Main St, P.O. Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-2002
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Price Range: $150 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try for a top floor room if noise bothers you.”
  • Vanity separate
  • Double queen suite.
  • View upon entry - reception to left
AGoingGal, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose an upstairs room to avoid the exterior door traffic/noise.”
CDE2004, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“top floor for quiet, no view to speak of”
Judy1966240, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the pool building appear to be newer and less motel-like”
DuffyB174, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for newer units next to the two story building.”
mparker, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 184* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUSD 219
Orbitz.comUSD 207
PricelineUSD 184
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates