We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Booking.comUSD 184*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

684 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 668: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great place to stay in the middle of the Black Hills. Close to Rushmore, Crazy Horse, and Custer state park. Comfortable, quiet and affordable. We realty enjoyed the pool and outdoor deck area. Great breakfast, too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David O
Stillwater, Oklahoma
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 6 August 2016

This was our favorite hotel on our trip. We stayed in other Best Westerns, Hampton Inn and a budget/family owned hotel. This hotel had a family suite that we stayed in. It costs a bit more but everyone loved it. We appreciated the extra space. Two queen beds in one room with bathroom access. The sink was in the bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank panpan217
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Laura F, Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are centrally located here in the beautiful Black Hills for all your scenic drives and monuments. We thank you for your feedback and hope you will visit us again. Have a great day.

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel was very welcoming and comfortable and it was very clean. The pool room was spacious! I think they had every amenity you would want. Breakfast was good and had lots of choices. The eggs were a little watery for me. It was a great stay for me and my family to visit some local attractions. Would definitely stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cooper1607
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and little to complain about. Room was large, clean, and had fridge and microwave which was nice. Bathroom was good size with closet space. Shower pressure was good which is always iffy. Beds had lots of pillows and very comfortable. Free breakfast with lots of choices. Normally I snub my nose at continental breakfast but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katynycjc
Laura F, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We appreciate your feedback and will take everything into consideration. thank you again and have a wonderful day.

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved the hotel, staff, pool and breakfast. Everything was good I highly recommend this hotel. We were in Hill City off season and the staff at the hotel were very helpful for restaurant recommendations for rainy day activities

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X2110RRmelissak
Laura F, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We were pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We appreciate you taking time to write a review, and we hope you will visit us again.

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewed 19 April 2017

The hotel was absolutely empty when we came in November. They close for the winter, so we were there in their final weeks of the year. The hotel felt clean and the staff was friendly. The breakfast was average for a Best Western. One weird note is the clothing shop in the lobby?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank e449
Laura F, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are a seasonal property and were fortunate to have you as a guest before closing. We have a unique property and we do a have a Boutique Gift Shop in our lobby. thank you for your time and have a wonderful day.

Bogue Chitto, Mississippi
Reviewed 8 April 2017

The room was clean and breakfast was good. Hot breakfast with waffles and the workers are very friendly. We just stayed one night, so we did not have time to experience the pool area. We called and told we would be a late check in and they were very friendly and helpful getting us checked in.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger K
Laura F, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us. We were delighted to hear that everything went smoothly at check in for you. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future.

Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewed 27 November 2016

I was planning to hike up to Black Elk Peak and wanted to stay close to the trailhead so that I could get an early start. But many of the hotels in the Black Hill (and especially those nearer to Rushmore) were quite expensive or seemed like tourist traps. This one was cheaper, but the rooms were still spacious, clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark O
Laura F, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I do apologize about your restaurant experience with us. We have multiple trails just a short drive away for all outdoorsman. We appreciate your feedback and hope you have a great day.

Wheeling, West Virginia
Reviewed 26 November 2016

This hotel is wonderful , the suites a very large and done in a western decor , and the pool is big and with a beautiful view of the "hills " , I've learned not to trust some Best Western hotels ( as many are independently but the HILL CITY one is really nice ! It's been several years since...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _sbabeschmit
Laura F, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have a complimentary deluxe breakfast, and an amazing pool area. It is nice to have you back with the Best Western brand, and hope you will stay with us again.

Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewed 7 November 2016

The reception area/lobby is more like a gift shop than a lobby. I had a tiny hiccup at check in though. I had Included a note asking for a first floor room as it is difficult for us to take bags up stairs. I knew the hotel had a building with elevators so I made a note that any floor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AGoingGal
Laura F, General Manager at Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you review. I do apologize about the issues you had endured during the check in process and with your meal. I was happy to hear that the desk was able to move you to a more accommodating room. We have a great breakfast staff and an amazing location. Thank you for your time and I...

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
4.4 km away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
235 reviews
12.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
12.4 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites

Address: 601 Main St, P.O. Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-2002
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Price Range: $141 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Spike Inn And Suites
Best Western Golden Spike Hotel Hill City
Best Western Hill City
Hill City Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hill City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try for a top floor room if noise bothers you.”
  • Vanity separate
  • Double queen suite.
  • View upon entry - reception to left
AGoingGal, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose an upstairs room to avoid the exterior door traffic/noise.”
CDE2004, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“top floor for quiet, no view to speak of”
Judy1966240, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the pool building appear to be newer and less motel-like”
DuffyB174, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for newer units next to the two story building.”
mparker, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 184* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUSD 219
TravelocityUSD 207
Expedia.comUSD 207
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates