We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hickok House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Hickok House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 255: English reviews
State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Staff was pleasant, room was spacious. Parking was a little tight because the hotel was filled the night we spent there. Casino is small be adequate. Although this hotel is at the end of town, it only takes about three minutes to drive into the main strip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mgblady
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. We are happy to know you found our accommodations to your satisfaction. Our small casino allows us to provide a more personal atmosphere. We hope that you will be our guest again the next time you are in Deadwood.

Cathedral City, California
Reviewed 7 June 2016

This was a nice retreat after a day spent touring The Badlands and Mt. Rushmore (the scenic drive up from Rushmore was spectacular!). The staff were pleasant and accommodating and informed us about the trolley car as a means to touring the downtown area. Overall, this BW was quite pleasant -the rooms were very clean and spacious; we were given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so happy that you had a great time while you stayed with us. Our goal is to make sure you have a clean, comfortable room. Deadwood is truly one of the last wild west towns in the country. We are proud of our history and try to keep it alive. I...

Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Reviewed 7 June 2016

In retrospect, in planning our vacation, I wouldn't have tried to stay in Deadwood, as all the hotels there are overpriced. But I did, and in attempt to save some money, stayed at this place, which was about a 20-minute walk from downtown. I regret it. The rooms were dated and musty. The toilet was noisy and seemed to run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smal0057
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We would have gladly moved you to another room had we been made aware of your displeasure with you room. We have a maintenance person available 24 hours for any situations that could arise, such as a running toilet or heaters/AC not working. We do not have microwaves or fridges...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 2 June 2016

The staff make the place,from check in,to checking out and everything in between.We loved the food,and the Maintenance Man was Jay and he had a Dog named hank,and I would have a pipe on the patio every night,and hank would come running around the corner to see me,with jay hot on his tail.The rest of the staff left nice little...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are so glad that you felt at home because we do want our guests to feel welcome and be comfortable. Hank has become our new welcoming pet. He loves to meet people. We truly are blessed to have the staff we do. We hope you will come see us again...

St Augustine
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Location is not too far from downtown. Disappointed that this Best Western didn't include refrigerator with room. Had to buy ice for our cooler. Bed and pillows were comfortable, room clean and quiet. Also disappointed that no breakfast was included with the room. Owner has a restaurant attached that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner but at an extra cost. Plenty...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank OldCity03
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. We are truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We feel that a made to order breakfast is a great way to start out your day. It is not included in your room rate but many people have told me that it is...

Hudson, Florida
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Hotel is older style, located conveniently in Deadwood, SD. Room was very large, comfortable , slightly dated. No refrigerator was a problem for us with needs for food storage due to medical problems. Beds comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful. Internet does not work well, and cell phone not at all. Restrurant next door is fine, clean and home style...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank floridagal893
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. We hope you will stay with us again if you are in Deadwood. We are sorry that you did not leave here 100% satisfied. We do have a refrigerator to store items for guests in our office. We wish we would have known you were having problems with the internet. Our staff is here...

Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We stopped here when passing through Deadwood. Room was clean and in good shape. It was fairly cold in the room, but we it didn't bother us once we tried to go to sleep. I would say it's within walking distance of downtown, however we did not walk downtown since it was snowing during our visit. I would stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SongBird1278
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for your room not being warm enough for you. I wish we would have known while you were here so we could take care of that for you. It is important to us that our guests are comfortable. If you do stay with us again please do not hesitate to let us know if there...

Belgrade
Reviewed 15 April 2016

The room was spotless, the staff was wonderful, and it was quiet in the room. The only problem we encountered was the heating system. The staf told us that the heating system relied on the outside temperature to deliver heat to the room. It did get a bit chilly in the room and the staff provided us with a electric...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al T
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to apologize to you for the issue you had with the heat. We hope you will come see us again. We appreciate your comments they help us to know what we are doing right and what we can improve on.

Reviewed 14 April 2016

Hotel was excellent. Clean. Wonderful customer service during our entire stay. The restaurant attached has great food along with a real hometown feel. Very friendly staff with excellent customer service. We would stay here again when in Deadwood. Within walking distance of town.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy Ron D
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. We appreciate your great review. Hope to see you again next time your in Deadwood.

Olympia, United States
Reviewed 7 April 2016

Wonderful, quiet motel 6 blocks from town. Great night's sleep and walking distance of restaurants and casinos but real Deadwood. I would prefer to stay here and not be bothered by the gambling and bars.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Now that spring is in the air the short distance to Main St. is a lovely walk. We hope you will come back and see us again. We are glad you took the time to let us know about your time with us as...

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
2.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.6 km away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.8 km away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
153 reviews
2.4 km away
First Gold Hotel
First Gold Hotel
#18 of 24 in Deadwood
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Address: 137 Charles Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Price Range: $66 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hickok House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Best Western, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hickok House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hickok House Hotel Deadwood
Best Western Deadwood
Deadwood Best Western
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Hickok House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Hickok House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room 106 or 107”
simpydone, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the café and casino”
TechyD, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms were available for motorcycle enthusiasts.”
R7459BCkathleenm, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“This is a motor Inn (drive up outside door)”
UtopiaCentral, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our room was directly above the front lobby where you go into check in and out. We faced the parking lot.”
Alloha2011, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5