We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hickok House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Hickok House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 255: English reviews
Boulder, CO
Reviewed 26 October 2016

On a road trip in the Black Hills in early October and decided to stay here as we had had a good Best Western experience earlier in the week. Not so lucky here, although the price was reasonable (around $70). We were in room 106, which, as a couple of other reviewers have described, was in the corner near the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marleydog
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We certainly hope you will consider staying with us again and allowing us the opportunity to make a much more pleasant impression on you.

Reviewed 24 October 2016

This hotel is very good for the money. Would probably stay in it again. The bed was very comfortable and the room was nice and clean. We did not eat in the restaurant but when we were leaving it was very busy. Parking spaces could be a little bigger because we had a big pickup and space was a little...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank babbetteh2016
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this survey. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. The next time you are in Deadwood we would love having you as our guest again and maybe you will be able to try the restaurant. I think you will enjoy the food.

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We were quite surprised by this hotel. . .very modest, low ceilings, off the beaten track, but we had the quietest room we have had in a long time - tucked in the corner near the restaurant, but part of a two room hallway (kind of unusual). Quiet room, comfortable bed, friendly staff - including the housekeeping staff!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simpydone
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff is truly some of the friendliest group of people. They want everyone to feel welcome. We hope you will come and stay with us again. Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed it.

Cheyenne, United States
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The staff is really friendly and helpful. The only problem with this hotel is that it is a bit tired looking. It needs spruced up a bit and it would be the perfect place to stay in Deadwood. The location is excellent if you don't want to be in the heart of the activity and is a nice walk from...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for the compliments on our staff. They are truly the most important asset to our property. They are here to make sure our guests enjoy their time in Deadwood and to help them with any request they may have. The trolley is a convenient way to get around town. It makes parking a non-issue for the visitors of...

Hope, Rhode Island
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Door locking mechanism not working properly was reported to front desk. Later on that day the front desk said that maintenance was sent to repair. However, the problem was not fixed. As long as I stayed in the room, I could use the deadbolt. Once I left the room, the door would not latch, therefor left unlocked in my absence....

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank John K
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I would like to start by apologizing to you for not following thru with you when you reported the door problem. We dropped the ball with this, we should have called you to make sure it was working properly for you. Please accept our apologies for this.

Springfield, Illinois
Reviewed 1 October 2016

This is an older property that TRIED to be updated to BW quality, but failed. No fridge or microwave. There was room for them but poor planning and furnishing choices didn't allow for it. Poor lighting and a shortage of outlets made for an inconvenient stay. We had to take the coffee maker into the bath to make coffee, no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TechyD
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are truly disappointed that we were not able to exceed your expectations. Our staff strives to make sure our guests have a great stay. At this time we do not offer fridges or microwaves in our rooms and I do urge guests who do require these items to please...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Our room was number 106 very pleasant room, hotel has outdoor corridors but room 106 is through a lobby door that is shared with room 107 only. Good hotel clean and tidy, only dissappointment believed we booked room and breakdast but was told no only room so breakfast was extra. Breakfast was good though and worth the money. The added...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We like to hear how our guests felt about their time with us. We have an onsite restaurant that comes highly recommended by locals and visitors alike. We server breakfast all day and we feel a made to order breakfast is the best way to start the day. We are...

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

I got sick elsewhere and this is where we relocated to. Mold free (had allergic reaction at last place). Non smoking room but didn't smell that way. Slight burns in curtains only vise able when light came through just right. Garbage not emptied completely from last people, had a stinky chewing tobacco pouch in the garbage can liner. I get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brandi S
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I can not tell you how embarrassed we are that the trash can liner was not changed in the room. I would like to apologize for that not being done. We will be looking into the other issues you have stated above. We are so sorry that we did not surpass your expectations. I hope you will consider giving us...

Des Plaines, Illinois
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

My room was dusty, old, small, poorly decorated, and overpriced. Seems like tourist season is over after labor day, but the prices stay inflated. Nothing good to say, heard all the street noises and loud guests from my first floor room. No frig or micro in room. No continental breakfast. Not too close to town, especially when it is cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaisereds
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you had a bad experience with us. We want our guests to leave here happy and feeling great about their stay. We clearly failed you. Deadwood is a busy destination year around. We are located just 3/4 of a miles from Main Street. There is trolley service you can use. It does cost $1.00 per...

Parkville, Missouri
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Front desk was nice enough but room was not very clean (bathroom toilet seat was disgusting), parking was tight & the attached restaurant was only fair. Wish we had gone elsewhere, there are probably better places closer to town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cyndy S
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I would like to start by apologizing for not meeting and exceeding your expectations. We are truly embarrassed that your room was not cleaned properly. I can assure you this is being addressed so that it does not happen again in the future.

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.6 km away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.8 km away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
153 reviews
2.4 km away
First Gold Hotel
First Gold Hotel
#18 of 24 in Deadwood
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Address: 137 Charles Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Price Range: $66 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hickok House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hickok House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hickok House Hotel Deadwood
Best Western Deadwood
Deadwood Best Western
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Hickok House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Hickok House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room 106 or 107”
simpydone, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the café and casino”
TechyD, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms were available for motorcycle enthusiasts.”
R7459BCkathleenm, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“This is a motor Inn (drive up outside door)”
UtopiaCentral, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our room was directly above the front lobby where you go into check in and out. We faced the parking lot.”
Alloha2011, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5