We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Econo Lodge Walterboro

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Walterboro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Walterboro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 439: English reviews
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Great rooms, clean and comfortable, great price. I will not give a top rating because I was charged $20 cash for checking in early....no credit card, no receipt. I was refunded by management when I complained at checkout. This seemed to be common practice, after talking with other guests. Also, when I extended my stay for two more nights due... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pmurray13
carolyn c, General Manager at Econo Lodge Walterboro, responded to this review

Dear pmurray13, Thanks for taking time to review your stay with us. We are glad that you were pleased with the accommodations . We are sorry that due to the power outage our pos system quit functioning, thus causing issues with creditcard payments. We hope you will come again if in the area and we wish you continued safe travels.... More 

Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

My husband and I had to evacuate from the beach because of Hurricane Matthew. We were lucky even to find a room for the 5 days we were there. We were very lucky to have landed at the Econo Lodge in Walterboro. This is the cleanest motel I have EVER stayed at anywhere. The owners work very hard to make... More 

Helpful?
Thank Retiredandhappy6563
carolyn c, General Manager at Econo Lodge Walterboro, responded to this review

Dear Retiredandhappy6563, Thanks for reviewing your stay with us during this terrible Hurricane. We are grateful that we were able to help during this time even though we lost power for a short period. I would also like to appauld our staff as well, as they were short handed as some of our staff evacuated too. We appreciate your letting... More 

1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

My daughter and her family stayed here when traveling to the area to visit one of the National Parks and had a great stay. The hotel was comfortable, had great amenities, was very clean and quiet and the kids loved the free breakfast. All in all it was a good deal for me since I was the one who paid... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C Clin... 6
carolyn c, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Walterboro, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen, Thanks for taking time to review your stay with us. We are glad that you were pleased with the accommodations. Please come again and safe travels. Kind Regards, Carolyn Caulder More 

Grimesland, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We stayed here on our way to N.C. The room was exceptionally specious and clean and impressively new hardwood floor. The bed and remodeled bathroom were very comfortable. Karen and the other staff seemed to go above the norm for a hotel. They provided their guest with a free breakfast daily. The free waffle house breakfast can't be beat as... More 

Helpful?
Thank vasantp2000
carolyn c, General Manager at Econo Lodge Walterboro, responded to this review

Dear vasantp2000, Thanks for the review. We are glad that our accommodations have been suitable for your needs. We are also pleased to hear that staff was on their A game. We hope you will come again and we wish you safe travels. Kind Regards, Carolyn Caulder More 

Tolland, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The room was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. Staff at the front desk was also pleasant. The only thing that bothered us was that the a/c was set on a very low setting and on auto to run constantly. It kept shutting off and it was extremely warm in the room, which made it uncomfortable to sleep.

Helpful?
Thank 33Darcie33
carolyn c, General Manager at Econo Lodge Walterboro, responded to this review

Dear 33Darcie33, Thanks for taking time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you had issues with the a/c unit. We do strive to provide each guest with a good nights rest. We do apologize for letting you down. We hope you will come again and we wish you safe travels. Kind Regards, Carolyn Caulder More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

This Econo Lodge was a great experience from the front desk to the cleanliness of the room. I booked the room on line after seeing so many splendid reviews and I was not disappointed. You can tell the owners care about their business because they were on site watering the many flowering plants that decorate the building. The room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Addictedtotravelnow
carolyn c, General Manager at Econo Lodge Walterboro, responded to this review

Dear Addictedtotravelnow, Thanks for the review. We appreciate knowing that your enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come again and we wish you safe travels. Kind Regards, Carolyn Caulder More 

west palm beach,fl
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Easy access to I95, clean rooms, comfortable bed and linens. Good customer service. Shower outstanding. Fridge and microwave in room, good lighting. All in all a great experience at an economy motel. You won't be sorry. Several restaurants in the area and right across the street is a great place with buffet.

Helpful?
Thank joanned1998
carolyn c, General Manager at Econo Lodge Walterboro, responded to this review

Dear joanned1998, Thanks for the review. We are glad that you were pleased with our economy hotel and the accommodations as a whole. We hope you will come again and we wish you safe travels. Kind Regards, Carolyn Caulder More 

Conifer, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We stayed going to Florida room was clean in need of new chairs for relaxing to watch t.v we enjoyed the nice breakfast we had at the pancake house at their expense we hope to be back real soon on our way back home for the price you cant beat it.

Helpful?
Thank Clarisse1877
carolyn c, General Manager at Econo Lodge Walterboro, responded to this review

Dear tabata171, Thanks for your review. We appreciate knowing that our guest leave feeling that they got their monies worth. We hope you will come again and safe travels. Kind Regards, Carolyn Caulder More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Renovated rooms. Clean. Convenient. Off 95. Close to restaurants. Comfy beds. Service was good. Would stay again. Breakfast two options at Waffle House (one egg, toast, grits and sausage or a waffle with sausage) or cold continental style with coffee, tea or juices at hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Margie G
carolyn c, General Manager at Econo Lodge Walterboro, responded to this review

Dear Margie G, Thanks for the review. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the accommodations and staff. We hope to see you again. Safe travels. Kind Regards, Carolyn Caulder More 

New Windsor, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Tahis was a great stop in South Carolina we were on our way to Florida the place was clean ..and priced right...coffee available all day and night ....and breakfast in the morning if u wanted waffles they hav a voucher for waffle house

Helpful?
Thank margaret s
carolyn c, General Manager at Econo Lodge Walterboro, responded to this review

Dear Margaret s, Thanks for the review. We are glad that you were pleased with the accommodations. Please come again and safe travels. Kind Regards, Carolyn Caulder More 

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Walterboro hotels
0.3 km away
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
#4 of 16 in Walterboro
224 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 16 in Walterboro
268 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Walterboro
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn Walterboro
Hampton Inn Walterboro
#6 of 16 in Walterboro
533 reviews
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN of Walterboro
BEST WESTERN of Walterboro
#7 of 16 in Walterboro
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
EconoLodge is conveniently located off I-95 at exit 53. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Walterboro

Address: 1142 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488 (Formerly Royal Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Price Range: $73 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Walterboro 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge Walterboro staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Orange City, Florida
over a year ago
Rocky Mount, NC
6 months ago
Roxboro, North Carolina
North Carolina
11 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Walterboro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for 2nd floor. Laminate flooring + thin ceiling = noise in ground floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Eeyore_MS, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms are a little difficult to get to, since stairwells and walkways are on the narrower side.”
 of 5 bubbles LG611, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Excellent location near I 95. Owners are eager to make your stay most comfortable. Professional staff. Clean room. Nice floor.”
 of 5 bubbles vasantp2000, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“has two floors, with no elevators”
 of 5 bubbles joanned1998, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not near the Soda machine we like first floor”
 of 5 bubbles Clarisse1877, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay