We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tropical Seas Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tropical Seas Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tropical Seas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 208: English reviews
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 18 September 2014

One of the more affordable places at Myrtle, and you get what you pay for, people. Some people are complaining and saying it's "terrible"? You don't get 5 star quality for a 1 star price, OK? The rooms were OK, yes, a little damp, but hey this is the BEACH! There are nice ocean front balconies to enjoy the sunrise,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LGrebs
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your stay. We did complete renovations outside and now we are focusing on the interior of the building. When you are back in the Myrtle Beach area please allow us to be your chose hotel.

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 September 2014

Stayed the weekend on 9/5-9/7/14. Terrible. Cannot believe after staying here 2 years ago how run down the room was. The room smelled. Palmetto bugs crawling everywhere..... Very disappointed! Will not stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robin C
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

I do apologize for the disappointment in the rooms. We will be focusing on updating all rooms in the coming months. On the positive side we did complete the painting of the building (new color), balconies, new parking lot, both pools and installed all new 42" flat screen TVs.

Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewed 6 September 2014

This hotel is terrible. When I walked in the door I knew it was not where I wanted to stay. The staff and maintenance were very nice. However, they sent a guy out to get our baggage who just hung around there. The entire hotel was brick walls including the rooms. The balcony had the carpet tore up and rocks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clpindy
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

I want to apologize for the inconvenience of the outside construction on the balconies during your stay in June. There is never a good time for revocations and I am sorry the construction lasted as long as it did. I am glad to say the balcony construction is completed and we will be focusing on the inside (rooms) next. I...

Milton, Canada
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The hotel was actually very quiet for the area, the pools were very well kept, although occasionally kids would walk from the beach directly into the pools or hot tub with beach sand and spoil it a little. The walkout to the beach is amazing. The service staff very friendly. I would give the rooms a 3 out of 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank imelvin
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay. Now that we have completed the outside construction renovations we can focus on the rooms next. When booking again in the Myrtle Beach area we look forward to having you again as our guest.

Haysi, Virginia
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for about a week and the staff here is wonderful, I've never stayed at a place with a more friendly staff. The cleaning staff did wonderful, our room was spotless, and the hotel was always clean including the pools. We paid for a oceanfront room and the only things I disliked about the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank acerbwe85
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the food from Mama Mia's. I will let the owner of Mama Mia's know as well. We are still on going with renovations to improve our hotel. Again thank you and we look forward to having you in the future.

Owen Sound
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I are snowbirds travelling from Canada to Tropical Seas for Jan to Apl.1st. 2015 (if all goes as planned) will be our 8th winter there,and we are so looking forward to it. We are treated like family, and really have no major complaints. Yes we can all find something that perhaps is not quite what we like,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kinglimey
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Neville & Janet. We look forward to seeing you both this winter.

Lenoir, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The only negative thing I can say about our stay is that they only have one elevator (the steps where faster....that's if you were on the lower floors). My family had a wonderful time. I was pleased with our oceanfront room (gorgeous balcony view). We stayed on the 3rd floor. They have 2 swimming pools and a hot tub. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natasha R
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you again in the future.

Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was our first visit to Tropical Seas, although we had stayed next door at the Crown Reef (which use to be its sister hotel until the Crown was bought out). We were always able to use the pools at the Tropical Seas, and we loved it because it was clean and never crowded. We decided to stay here because...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christie B
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for deciding to stay with us. I will address the issue about the shower curtain with our executive housekeeper. I hope in the future you choose us as your choice hotel in Myrtle Beach.

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were hesitant to stay here based on the fact that we did not request a non-smoking room, which we didn't know you had to do, but we were assured by the General Manager that the room would be very well cleaned and to my surprise it was. You could not tell if anyone smoked in the room prior to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy D
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear you had a great vacation. Thanks for informing me on the internet problem. We just got a new company to set up routers in the rooms for better service. I'll look further into the situation. As for the cell phone service we need more towers in the city. Thanks for taking the time to tell others...

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Great oceanfront views the higher the better. The 5th & 8th floor ocean view is beautiful..Nice clean 2 pool and hot tube pool area oceanfront also..I had a great time..It is next door to the Crown Reef and they have a bar. The pizzeria on the 2nd floor has great food!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Debbie N
Robin T, General Manager at Tropical Seas Hotel, responded to this review

I agree the higher the floor the better the view. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come visit us again anytime. We are open year round. Thank you for your review!

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#140 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
140 reviews
0.2 km away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#106 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
892 reviews
4.0 km away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#74 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#133 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
664 reviews
1.0 km away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#124 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
151 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Sands South
Holiday Sands South
#66 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tropical Seas Hotel is located on the southern end of Myrtle Beach featuring beautiful guest rooms, efficiencies, and suites with private balconies and fully equipped kitchens. This beautiful oceanfront facility also features two sparkling oceanfront pools, a large sun deck, Jacuzzi, and a seasonal Pizza Restaurant. Tropical Seas is located just 5 minutes from the Myrtle Beach International Airport and provides easy access to area attractions, numerous golf courses, shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropical Seas Hotel

Address: 2807 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4853
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $79 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Seas Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropical Seas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropical Seas
Hotel Style:
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropical Seas Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago
9 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Tropical Seas Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book an Ocean Front room for perfect views of the beautiful sunrises.”
 of 5 bubbles 804alberth, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Better view from upper floors.”
 of 5 bubbles rrandall2, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“oceanfront definitely, great views”
 of 5 bubbles JustMe52_10, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“every room has a oceanview”
 of 5 bubbles IrenV59, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We like the higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles kinglimey, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5