We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (220)
Room & Suite (290)
Pool & Beach (110)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good20%
  • Average12%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible30%
Travellers talk about
“an older hotel”(14 reviews)
“the past years”(6 reviews)
“pools”(58 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (527)
There are newer reviews for The Reef
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveller rating
135
110
64
73
145
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
135
110
64
73
145
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan older hotelthe past yearspoolstubsocean
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
261 - 265 of 527 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We checked into the reef for a spring break vacation with our kids. We got to the room and found it to be extremely small, outdated, unkempt, dirty, and overall just disgusting. As if that wasn't bad enough when we pulled the top covers back...More

Thank Macally81
Response from Reef2101, Manager at The ReefResponded 8 April 2013

Dear Macally81, We deeply regret that you were unhappy with your stay at the Reef. While we do not claim to be a new hotel, the entire staff and management prides ourselves on providing clean, comfortable lodging. The front desk staff works hard to strive...More

Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Alan and Glenn were extremely nice and pleasant. I didn't have a reservation and Alan recommended a special to me which was great since it saved me money and was a bigger room than i expected. I will definitely be back.More

Thank LeslieC121112
Response from Reef2101, Manager at The ReefResponded 3 April 2013

Dear LeslieC121112, Thank you for staying at the Reef! We know that it can be a little uncertain when you don't have prior stay experience with a hotel. I'm sure that other readers will find your review helpful as it lets them know that during...More

Reviewed 20 March 2013

This was our 2nd year at the Reef We stayed Jan. & Feb this year. the front end staff were friendly and helpful (especially liked Ed) who also ran our bingo night. The cleaning staff is Terrific!!! Sandra, Luba and Julia were one of the...More

Thank Shirley C
Response from Reef2101, Manager at The ReefResponded 26 March 2013

Dear ShirleyC, Thank you for being a winter guest at the Reef. First, we miss you all, and can't wait to see you next year. We appreciated you taking the time to write a review and for mentioning our staff members. We feel so fortunate...More

Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed at Reef Resort Hotel in Myrtle Beach SC during the months of January and February 2013. We found the front desk staff charming, funny and accommodating during our entire stay. The Housekeeping staff, especially Sandra and Luba, we awesome and very personable. Oh...More

1  Thank maggie c
Response from Reef2101, Manager at The ReefResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Maggie C, We so appreciated you returning to the Reef again this year, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. You were kind to mention our staff, and in particular to acknowledge the housekeeping team. We are so fortunate to...More

Reviewed 25 February 2013

NEVER STAYED IN PENTHOUSE !!!!! but what the heck sure glad we did r eally nice huge kitchen and living room w/fire place nice beach front 3 flat screen tvs 2 bed rooms .indoor pool,hot tub,game room,great resturant,very friendly staff, we have allready booked a...More

3  Thank Sherriek0616
Response from Reef2101, Manager at The ReefResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Sherriek0616, Thank you for celebrating your birthday at the oceanfront Reef Resort, and we appreciated you writing a review on the Penthouse. Myrtle Beach is a great destination for girlfriend's weekends, birthday celebrations and other fun events. We hope to see you back soon!

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Myrtle Beach, SC
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Parking
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Meeting Rooms
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
USD 75 - USD 259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 75 - USD 259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (220)
Room & Suite (290)
Pool & Beach (110)
Dining (16)
Amenities (20)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
beanyboy103
7 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from briansR1774UD | Property representative |
Hi the hotel was built in 1984.
0
Votes
Bri05281
20 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from briansR1774UD | Property representative |
Hi, the bed sheets are changed after a guest checks out and the rooms are inspected to insure that this has been completed. If you encounter an issue with this during your stay you would need to contact the front desk so we... More
0
Votes
TeriSc
1 June 2017|
Answer
Response from briansR1774UD | Property representative |
Hi and thank you for your question and comments in regards to housekeeping. We are diligently working with the staff and bringing on new team members to assist with this department. We understand your concern and rest... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Make sure that they do an inspection before you enter your room"
Read review
"Do not book it."
Read review
"The corner rooms 1 & 10 are the niceset."
Read review
"12th floor balconies provide a great oceanview"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing