We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Reef at South Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Reef at South Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

476 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Reef at South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 476: English reviews
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

When we arrived to the hotel we were asked for a 100 dollar deposit for any potential damage to the room during our stay. Then we were provided a paper that included several rules during the stay including no smoking on the balcony ( which people on both sides of us were smoking daily). The room appeared dated but clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank JessIsAMess83
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Jessisamess83: We contract a reputable pest company in Myrtle Beach, who inspect and treat our rooms. In the event of bugs being seen, we immediately contact the company, so they may come immediately to treat the area. I am very sorry you experience this problem. More 

Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We stayed there 8/9 and 8/10. So many rules that could allow them to keep your deposit along with a possible 500.00 more if they deem fit, made this old hotel a horrible place to stay. I understand no smoking...but not even in your truck?? No vaping? At 55 years of age I hadn't planned on breaking any but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank markuzzel
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Markuzzel, I reviewed our Front Desk Log book and was unable to locate any information regarding your request to cancel the 2nd night of your stay or your displeasure with our smoking policy. We always offer our guests at check in the opportunity to check out with a full refund, if they are unhappy with the hotel or any... More 

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the reef on several visits to MB with my Grandparents. The reef held a lot of memories, so many that while on my honeymoon we stayed here for a night to swim. The place has not changed much it even smelled like I remembered it from 20 years ago. Very out dated and needs some TLC...that said, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank hankscash
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear hankscash, We appreciate your taking the time to publish your review of the Reef Hotel. Memories of the past are the reason that many of our guests return. Congratulations on your marriage! Thank you More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Ok so the first day it was a fire n the hotel the customer service ppl where extremely rude about it secondly the living arrangements were stupid thirdly we told them the tub stopped up they never came to fix it. The customer service just really sucked I'll never ever go there again. It was ran down n really bad... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

We regret that you were displeased with the accommodations at the Reef. Upon reading your inflammatory review, we searched through the Manager on Duty log book, but could not identify your reviewer name with a registered guest's room issue. Again, we apologize that you were dissatisfied, but we can find no information to address this. More 

Southwest Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is mid-grade at best but is not the worst. The good- beach front, balcony, great pool, Makos live DJ. Decent beds and pillows. The hotel has the worst check in procedure I've ever seen. We got there a little early and they refused to let us check in saying the rooms were not ready However, soon after, they... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sadilo
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Sadilo, The Reef is not a group hotel. We welcome all guests, but are not able to accommodate large parties. We do our best to monitor multiple bookings, but on this occasion this was unseen and the circumstances you described at the desk was unfortunate. Other guests as well as yourself suffered this inconvenience at check in, as well... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We stopped here on our way home from florida. The view was amazing. Everything else was okay. The room was clean but the pool area was quite dirty. The game room smelled very bad. The elevators were having issues while we were there and ended up having to use the stairs to our room on the 6th floor. This was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carrie C
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Carrie C, The view from our rooms is awesome; I am glad that you were able to enjoy ocean view. I am sorry that our pool area was not clean as it should have been. We will make sure that our staff is more attentive to this area. Thank you for being our guest and we hope that you... More 

Greensboro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2016

I grew up vacationing in Myrtle Beach with my family and still really enjoy spending time in the area. The ocean front hotel I stayed at when I was a kid was torn down and rebuilt after a hurricane. The Reef is two buildings down from that location so several years ago I started traveling here for my week at... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Scott E
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Scott E, I can't thank you enough for your kind and honest comments about the Reef. You know us well! I am sharing this review with all my staff...who will be thrilled...Please visit Myrtle Beach again and I hope that the Reef is part of your visit! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

After looking at more than 27 hotels on different websites,only some had the amenities we needed it was difficult to find a hotel that will accommodate my family of 6, icluding a pool,kitchenette,more than two queen beds,best of all a good price that will let us spend more on souveniers and not on sleeping also not to mention near the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosa J
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Rosa J, I am very glad that you were pleased with the reservation process and that Ramon did such a good job in describing and assisting you with your accommodations. Thank you for your kind remarks...we appreciate your business and hope that you will visit Myrtle Beach and the Reef in the future! More 

1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I booked this room for me and my daughter bc I found it for a "reasonable price" (compared to the other hotels around). My aunt often stays here and likes it so I was expecting something nice. When we pulled up, I noticed the white part of the exterior was dingy and had big brown streaks running down the walls.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Crystal P
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Crystal P, I am sorry that you were disappointed with the Reef. We are 31 years old and although we have not been renovated; our staff works hard to provide clean and comfortable rooms. We hope that you will return to Myrtle Beach area for your next visit! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Not once did our room get cleaned. We had to go downstairs everytime we needed toilet paper or fresh towels and ask for it. We finally just started putting our trash outside our door just to get it out of the room. We were on the 11th floor and the elevators were awful. It would... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie T
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie T: We regret that you were displeased with the accommodations at the Reef. Upon reading your inflammatory review, we searched through the Manager on Duty log book, but could not identify your reviewer name with a registered guest's room issue. Again, we apologize that you were dissatisfied, but we can find no information to address this. More 

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (198)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
4.6 km away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#138 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
663 reviews
0.9 km away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#97 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
888 reviews
0.2 km away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#96 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#85 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
1,141 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
#47 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
534 reviews
0.1 km away
Bluewater Resort
Bluewater Resort
#141 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All our suites are oceanfront with a private balcony. Our comfortable well-equipped rooms have kitchens with microwaves, coffee makers and toasters. Our prime location along the grand strand of Myrtle Beach makes area attractions easily accessible. Award winning entertainment and dining surround you. You can shop at the nearby Coastal Grand Mall and newly built Market Commons. Amusement parks and incredible miniature golf courses thrill the young and the young at heart. It's easy to experience all the fun of Myrtle Beach while staying at The Reef. We also sell tickets to many area shows and attractions, packaging is also available! Oceanfront or indoors, The Reef provides a lot of water fun for everyone. Swim from our oceanfront pool to our indoor swimming area. There you will also want to indulge in one our two relaxing whirlpools. There are 1o swim attractions available to you, including a lazy river and large ocean front kiddie pools! Children will enjoy free daily activities during the summer months and their parents will appreciate a night out while the children are entertained by The Reef staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Reef at South Beach

Address: 2101 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4734
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $85 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Reef at South Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Reef at South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef At South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Reef At South Beach Myrtle
The Reef Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Reef at South Beach staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
2 months ago
Charleston, South Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Reef at South Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms have a beach view. The rooms above the 10th floor are suites.”
 of 5 bubbles Marqman, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose this motel”
 of 5 bubbles ldj589, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pet friendly, full kitchen, beach front, ocean views”
  • View from room
  • Sunrise from the balcony
  • Master bedroom
  • Bathroom
  • TVs
  • Kitchen
  • View from room
  • Entrance to the second bedroom
 of 5 bubbles claudiak836, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles anicole69, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles markuzzel, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay