We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Reef at South Beach

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Reef at South Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

480 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Reef at South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 480: English reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We were there last weekend it was the worst hotel ever!! the room was so NASTY, there was a leak from the old fridge they never came to fix it, and the manager Phillips he is not nice, nasty aptitude and treat customer disrespectfully. Furniture in the room is old really dirty. Bad experience I don't recommend The Reef in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LidiaM M
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear LidiaM M: Our housekeeping department works very hard to keep our rooms clean and comfortable for all of our guests. I am sorry that you were displeased with your accommodations. There are many hotels to choose from in Myrtle Beach and I hope that you will include the Grand Strand in your future travel plans.

Southern Pines, North Carolina
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We decided to go on a last minute trip to Myrtle Beach and within 1 hour we needed to find a hotel. We had a very hard time to find a pet friendly hotel on a Friday afternoon, right before the weekend started. We came across The Reef on Expedia and we booked it because it was the only hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claudia K
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Claudia K, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is very much appreciated and I do hope you will include Myrtle Beach in your next visit. We love our "dogs" ...

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

We were there this weekend it was the worst visit.The first room they put us in had mole all over the ceiling ,the sinks in the bathroom were clogged the TVS had alot of static ,let the front desk know about the mole they did move us but the second room had mole also.I couldn't get a hold of a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christina M
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Christina M: I was unable to locate your name in our guest list; nor did I find any information in our Front Desk Log Book. I am unable to personally comment on the complaints you listed above.

Jamaica, New York
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The absolut worst hotel I have ever stayed. Staff was super nice over the phone and in person (especially Jordan). But once in the room, I was speechless. The best thing about this hotel is the wonderful view of the beach. Smells Awful;Although non-smoking rooms,smoke smell may have been an improvement; Beds and Pillows were uncomfortable and slightly itchy; Free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anicole69
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Anicole69: I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Jordan is an excellent employee and we appreciate your comments. There are many hotels in Myrtle Beach to choose from; We hope Myrtle Beach is included in your travel plans.

Reviewed 7 September 2016

The worst place I've ever been damage furniture,walls, and columns. Not the most eye appealing place. Flooding in parking garage. Courtesy staff only good point. It should be closed down. I wouldn't recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juan S
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Juan S: There are hundreds of hotels available in the Myrtle Beach area, we hope that you will visit the Grand Strand in the future.

Reviewed 7 September 2016

To be honest about the place, the staff was courtesy. However, the property itself was rundown, caution tape everywhere, dirty carpet, old furniture with wooden dry splits in it. Only two slow elevators did know if it was coming or going. Too many rules a lot of No's and demands. Inadequate parking which isn't monitor I had to park across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juan S
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Juan S: I am sorry you were displeased with the Reef Hotel. We are an older hotel and we strive to deliver each guest with a clean room and courteous service. We have 2 parking areas at the hotel check in and another 2 areas across the street. During that time we had severe rains that flooded the streets...

Cumming, Georgia
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Positives for us: - Staff was really nice and accommodating over the phone when assisting with the booking of the room. Negatives for us: - Value of the rooms for the price is terrible - The rooms were very dirty; trash was still in the room. The tub was very filthy. My family was not even comfortable sitting down in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DemondOJones
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

I am sorry that the accommodations were unsatisfactory. Our housekeeping department works very hard to deliver our guests with clean rooms. I was unable to locate a room listed under the name listed on your review. Therefore I am unable to comment further.

Martinsville,Va
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The carpet was filthy. The door of the refrigerator had a big dent in it. Balcony doors wouldn't lock. Limited space in a 1 br room for 4 people. Overall dirty furniture. Bad smell in the room. Hotel staff was not friendly. Wifi would not work. We were told it was because there were too many people using it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulad59
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear pauld59: I am sorry that you were displeased with your accommodations. Our hotel was built over 31 years ago and the suites are somewhat smaller than the newer condos that many familes are accustomed to. We hope you will visit Myrtle Beach in the future. It is a great place to vacation!

Steubenville, Ohio
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

The staff are very nice, the 2 bedroom apt was small but was fantastic in price for 7 night stay. Can't beat price anywhere on myrtle Beach. Beautiful ocean view from balcony,ocean front, walk right on to beach fromy the reef. Loved it will be staying again very soon.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jodie L
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Jodie L: Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your room. We are pleased that you enjoyed the view and the beautiful Atlantic Ocean! Please visit us again!

High Point, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We've been going to The Reef for many years and there always seems to be something that goes wrong during our stays. This year is one day we didn't have hot water for a morning shower. The other problem which has remained a constant throughout the years is there is no internet. Oh, it will pop up occasionally but it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick F
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Rick F: I apologize for the the problems you encountered. Our internet service is provided by Time Warner and they have completed their site visit and we are waiting for their proposal on updating the internet. Thank you for taking the time to forward your review of the hotel. We appreciate your comments.

213 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#125 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
151 reviews
0.6 km away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#83 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,161 reviews
4.6 km away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#135 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#137 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
141 reviews
0.1 km away
Bluewater Resort
Bluewater Resort
#132 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
321 reviews
9.6 km away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#87 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All our suites are oceanfront with a private balcony. Our comfortable well-equipped rooms have kitchens with microwaves, coffee makers and toasters. Our prime location along the grand strand of Myrtle Beach makes area attractions easily accessible. Award winning entertainment and dining surround you. You can shop at the nearby Coastal Grand Mall and newly built Market Commons. Amusement parks and incredible miniature golf courses thrill the young and the young at heart. It's easy to experience all the fun of Myrtle Beach while staying at The Reef. We also sell tickets to many area shows and attractions, packaging is also available! Oceanfront or indoors, The Reef provides a lot of water fun for everyone. Swim from our oceanfront pool to our indoor swimming area. There you will also want to indulge in one our two relaxing whirlpools. There are 1o swim attractions available to you, including a lazy river and large ocean front kiddie pools! Children will enjoy free daily activities during the summer months and their parents will appreciate a night out while the children are entertained by The Reef staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Reef at South Beach

Address: 2101 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4734
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $97 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Reef at South Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Reef at South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef At South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Reef At South Beach Myrtle
The Reef Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Reef at South Beach staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Reef at South Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms have a beach view. The rooms above the 10th floor are suites.”
 of 5 bubbles Marqman, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose this motel”
 of 5 bubbles ldj589, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pet friendly, full kitchen, beach front, ocean views”
  • View from room
  • Sunrise from the balcony
  • Master bedroom
  • Bathroom
  • TVs
  • Kitchen
  • View from room
  • Entrance to the second bedroom
 of 5 bubbles claudiak836, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles anicole69, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles markuzzel, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5