We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Reef at South Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Reef at South Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

476 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 476: English reviews
TN
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Check in was GREAT!!! Awesome friendly staff!! " House Keepers ( our room may have been a little outdated but, everything was sooooooo clean) spotless!! and Front desk give yourselves a big pat on the back and thank you!! ... When I walked in the lobby fall décor and the smells of apples & cinnamon was welcoming. We were coming...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pprecious
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear pprecious, Thank you for being a guest of the Reef. We appreciated you mentioning our Staff. The Reef is not new, but we strive to offer good guest service and clean rooms. Your remarks about the pool and spa have been communicated with my Maintenance Manager and Pool Operator. This situation will be addressed. We appreciate your business and...

Frederick, Maryland
Reviewed 1 October 2016

The location and views are great and the beach access is wonderful. The indoor-outdoor swimming pool is fantastic and the staff was very friendly. But the building is well used and it shows. There was only one elevator working for the entire week we stayed and the room HVAC equipment was noisy and blew directly across the bed. In short,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marqman
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Mr Marqman: Thank you for being a guest of the Reef. We appreciated you mentioning our pools and our staff. The Reef is not new, but we strive to offer good guest service and clean rooms. I reviewed the service log for our elevators and did not find that we lost service for 1 week. We hope that your...

Lumberton, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 September 2016

My family an I stayed at the Reef on 9/22/16. This is the worst motel I have ever stayed at in my life. The elevator didn't work the room was dirty the couch in the room was nasty and stained also the hot water didn't work the 1st night we stayed. Ask the staff to clean the room and all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ldj589
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear ldj589: I am sorry that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. The Reef is 31 years old and we strive to provide clean, comfortable accommodations for all our guests. Our housekeeping services consist of replacing towels and emptying of trash daily and every third day your room receives full service. We hope you will return to Myrtle Beach;...

Wallkill, New York, Usa
Reviewed 25 September 2016

My sister-in-law came down to Myrtle beach with their dog. Place was moldy, dated furniture, worn rugs and generally run down. Once checked in room was dirty and when they sat on balcony they were bitten by fleas to the extent they had to leave. Management would not refund any money and has a sign which if you do not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Frank D: I am unable to verify you or your sister in law as a guest. Therefore I cannot not comment on your review.

Fries, Virginia
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Check-in quick and easy,had reservations. Oceanfront view,clean pools.Rooms need an update.Very old furniture and carpet.Our sliding glass door to balcony wouldn't slide open or close good.Towels and sheets clean.But the carpet was filthy,you couldn't walk across the floor barefooted!There was mold on the walls and ceiling,and the dressers smelled like they had been in a fire! No housekeeping,they gave you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue S
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Sue S: Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and apologize for the room issues you encountered. Our housekeeping normally provides full cleaning, which includes linen changes every third day of your stay. I am sorry that you did not receive that service.

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

This was by far the worst hotel I ever stayed in. They had 2 elevators and one was broken when we arrived had to wait 45 min to get on the elevator. Would of taken the stairs but would of been hard to carry 5 luggages up 5 flights of stairs with 2 kids outside. The room reeked of mildew....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristal B
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Kristal B: I am sorry that you were not pleased with the Reef Hotel. We have encountered elevator issues this summer and Thyssen Krupp Elevator has been diligent in their repair work. In addition to the balcony door locks, we also have safety bars installed in each room. I am sorry that you were unaware of the feature. Safety...

Reviewed 17 September 2016

We were there last weekend it was the worst hotel ever!! the room was so NASTY, there was a leak from the old fridge they never came to fix it, and the manager Phillips he is not nice, nasty aptitude and treat customer disrespectfully. Furniture in the room is old really dirty. Bad experience I don't recommend The Reef in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LidiaM M
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear LidiaM M: Our housekeeping department works very hard to keep our rooms clean and comfortable for all of our guests. I am sorry that you were displeased with your accommodations. There are many hotels to choose from in Myrtle Beach and I hope that you will include the Grand Strand in your future travel plans.

Southern Pines, North Carolina
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We decided to go on a last minute trip to Myrtle Beach and within 1 hour we needed to find a hotel. We had a very hard time to find a pet friendly hotel on a Friday afternoon, right before the weekend started. We came across The Reef on Expedia and we booked it because it was the only hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claudia K
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Claudia K, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is very much appreciated and I do hope you will include Myrtle Beach in your next visit. We love our "dogs" ...

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

We were there this weekend it was the worst visit.The first room they put us in had mole all over the ceiling ,the sinks in the bathroom were clogged the TVS had alot of static ,let the front desk know about the mole they did move us but the second room had mole also.I couldn't get a hold of a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christina M
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Christina M: I was unable to locate your name in our guest list; nor did I find any information in our Front Desk Log Book. I am unable to personally comment on the complaints you listed above.

Jamaica, New York
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The absolut worst hotel I have ever stayed. Staff was super nice over the phone and in person (especially Jordan). But once in the room, I was speechless. The best thing about this hotel is the wonderful view of the beach. Smells Awful;Although non-smoking rooms,smoke smell may have been an improvement; Beds and Pillows were uncomfortable and slightly itchy; Free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anicole69
Reef2101, General Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Anicole69: I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Jordan is an excellent employee and we appreciate your comments. There are many hotels in Myrtle Beach to choose from; We hope Myrtle Beach is included in your travel plans.

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (198)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
4.6 km away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#138 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
663 reviews
0.9 km away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#97 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
889 reviews
0.2 km away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#96 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bluewater Resort
Bluewater Resort
#140 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
320 reviews
0.6 km away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#81 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
1,143 reviews
4.4 km away
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
#109 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All our suites are oceanfront with a private balcony. Our comfortable well-equipped rooms have kitchens with microwaves, coffee makers and toasters. Our prime location along the grand strand of Myrtle Beach makes area attractions easily accessible. Award winning entertainment and dining surround you. You can shop at the nearby Coastal Grand Mall and newly built Market Commons. Amusement parks and incredible miniature golf courses thrill the young and the young at heart. It's easy to experience all the fun of Myrtle Beach while staying at The Reef. We also sell tickets to many area shows and attractions, packaging is also available! Oceanfront or indoors, The Reef provides a lot of water fun for everyone. Swim from our oceanfront pool to our indoor swimming area. There you will also want to indulge in one our two relaxing whirlpools. There are 1o swim attractions available to you, including a lazy river and large ocean front kiddie pools! Children will enjoy free daily activities during the summer months and their parents will appreciate a night out while the children are entertained by The Reef staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Reef at South Beach

Address: 2101 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4734
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $84 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Reef at South Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Reef at South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef At South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Reef At South Beach Myrtle
The Reef Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Reef at South Beach staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
2 months ago
Charleston, South Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Reef at South Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms have a beach view. The rooms above the 10th floor are suites.”
 of 5 bubbles Marqman, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose this motel”
 of 5 bubbles ldj589, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pet friendly, full kitchen, beach front, ocean views”
  • Sunrise from the balcony
  • Sunrise from the balcony
  • View from room
  • View from room
  • Balcony
  • Bathroom
  • Bathroom
  • Kitchen
 of 5 bubbles claudiak836, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles anicole69, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles markuzzel, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay