We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Affordable Family Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Affordable Family Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Affordable Family Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 103: English reviews
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My family & I have stayed at this hotel for the past 3 years & will continue to stay there for each & every future visit. The staff is friendly & amazing. The rooms are clean, spacious & affordable. No it doesn't have all the luxuries of the bigger resorts, but that isn't what we go to the beach for.... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Shannon R
AFRadmin, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for that review, We are happy to have you come stay with us. I have just posted some new promo codes for our new online booking. save 5 to 10 per night by using promo codes june14, july14, or august14. More 

Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed last weekend 4/12-4/13 and we have stayed at this motel in the past. It was bad, carpets were dirty,took a shower walked from the bathroom to the bed and my feet were black from dirt, beds were awful, towels felt like sand paper. TV was fuzzy. It was noisy. Wont be back.

Helpful?
7 Thank Wanda L
AFRadmin, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Sorry your stay was not satisfactory. I looked in the history and the only room that match was on the first floor. One of our Double suites. We have our subcontractors once a month check the our washers to make sure the are dispensing the correct amount of fabric softener. I hope this resolved that issue. Here are some promo... More 

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

The location is great and the grounds (picnic area, slides, pool) are nice. But...the rooms are VERY dirty. We used to stay here every year as a big family get-together but every year the place just gets dirtier and dirtier. This last time, after getting ate up with bed bugs , I decided to never stay again.

Helpful?
9 Thank Jerzy6546
AFRadmin, Owner at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Own December 9th of 2013. We made contact with this reviewer via Tripadvisor and on December 31th we have not received a response. We asked the reviewer to provide us with information on their stay so we could investigate the matter. Keep in mind the review was not posted until 3 months after the stay. When I checked with the... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My church family and I stays every October and we never have any complaints. . The staff is friendly and respectful..I love this hotel. We never had a problem with bugs. The pruce is affordable and the rooms are clean

Helpful?
7 Thank fluffy1972
AFRadmin, Owner at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for you post on Tripadvisor and we wish you a very Happy New Year. We at Affordable Family Resort are focused on customer retention. Please fill free to call and speak to the new General Manager with any issues or positive comments. More 

Plumtree, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The staff was very nice. Our room was nice for the amount we paid. Alot of budget hotels are terrible but this one is doable. If your looking for fancy this one isn't for you but if your looking for something decent and spacious on a budget this one can't be beat.....it could use so e updates but nothing like... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Chris N Amanda N
AFRadmin, Owner at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for you post on Tripadvisor and we wish you a very Happy New Year. We at Affordable Family Resort are focused on customer retention. Please fill free to call and speak to the new General Manager with any issues or positive comments. More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel almost made our family vacation a nightmare. They advertise "large and clean suites" but this is far from the truth. We arrived to a VERY DATED cottage, but the large space was great so we decided to make due. However upon pulling the sheets back to the beds we discovered dirty stained sheets and covers with hair on... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank Ld S
Steven J, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

The "Little old lady" Is the owner. We did check the room after guest stayed check-in at 2:45 pm on 8-7-13 and first complaint was at around 1:00am 8-8-13. refunded at 6:07am the next morning. Did not leave until 4:48am per their words on the 8-8-13. Here are notes from the night shift: "At approximately 12:40am I got a call... More 

Albemarle, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed in room 210 and it was in great condition. There were 2 full/double beds and one queen bed. We had 4 adults and 1 child. Kinda outdated, but not important to us. Also, they are pet friendly rooms, which was very nice! Also, there are entrances to the beach on either side of the hotel; we used the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernPurple85
AFRadmin, Owner at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for you post on Tripadvisor and we wish you a very Happy New Year. We at Affordable Family Resort are focused on customer retention. Please fill free to call and speak to the new General Manager with any issues or positive comments. More 

Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The bathroom tile was chipped up and it smelled like pee. The stove was rusting on the bottom and so was the fridge. The vent was falling out of the air conditioning over my head. The back room smelled like vinegar. The TVs were small and snowy. The toilet had rust in it. Management was rude when we asked for... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ladean29
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

If you don't read any other post please read this one. This place is not a resort by any means. I was kick out of the hotel on my daughters birthday. The office staff had no consideration or sympathy. My daughter had her cousins come by to bring gifts for her birthday...her aunt came by after a long 12 hour... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Chicolove1
Steven J, Manager at Affordable Family Resort, responded to this review

Yes. I remember these guest very well. I got called in because a unregistered car ran over our back parking lot sign. It had been in place since end of May and no one else ran into. We had to replace it. We had neighbors wittiness it and I found the car. 2 hours no one claim the car till... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

It's not a resort in terms of luxuriousness but for the price you get what ou pay for. I was very nervous to stay there after reading the bed bug review but upon checking in I asked if I could see the room first. The lady didn't seem to mind at all and was polite and friendly. The rooms were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Monluc11

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 km away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#150 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
476 reviews
4.9 km away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#138 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
663 reviews
0.6 km away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#97 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
0.5 km away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.9 km away
Wave Rider Resort
Wave Rider Resort
#160 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Everything located on one city block between 23rd Ave South and 24th Ave South. Now even closer drive to Airport since the extension of Harrelson Blvd. Less than 2 miles from Myrtle Beach Internation Airport. Just accross street from ocean with serval condos we manage in the building in front of us. We check and inspect all complaints. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Affordable Family Resort

Address: 2300 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4745 (Formerly Monte Carlo Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $70 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Affordable Family Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Affordable Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affordable Family Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
#98 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Affordable Family Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Affordable Family Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bad beds, dirty pool area, good room lay out, private balcony”
 of 5 bubbles joanr639, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose this”
 of 5 bubbles 153shantellt, 16 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Check your room before you pay to make sure you are satisfied.”
 of 5 bubbles 757angic, 13 Jul 2015 | Read review
“No rooms are good here”
 of 5 bubbles ladrikaw, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Choose another place to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 367reneew, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay