We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Plaza Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Ocean Plaza Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ocean Plaza Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 244: English reviews
Princeton, West Virginia, United States
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I was worried about staying at this hotel with all of the bad reviews and when we got there the staff was very friendly. We stayed in Room 209. Our room was great and very clean. The only complaint that I have is out of the 4 nights that we were there housekeeping came everyday except for one day. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tammy C
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We would be happy to have you as a guest with us again in the future. If there is anything that you may need, please do not hesitate to contact...

Greenwood, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel is disgusting and it smells very bad. The parking garage was flooded with some kind of black filth and garbage.... I ruined two pairs of shoes walking through it. As soon as we got to our room, we noticed the doorknob was broken so we told the woman at the front desk and she gave us another key...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allie M
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us. I thank you for voicing your concerns and bringing these issues to our attention. I will make sure that your complaints are forwarded to the...

Durham
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I married in the fall of 2012 and had my honeymoon here at the Ocean Plaza Motel. My room was clean and they gave what I asked when I needed it, if they could provide. I loved the kitchenette and was surprised that I had dishes including pot and pans to work with. complete with a microwave and coffeemaker.. I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paulette B
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We would be happy to have you as a guest with us again in the future. If there is anything that you may need, please do not hesitate to contact...

Ellijay, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We arrived to the hotel and were so disgusted that we tried to find different lodging and forego our deposit. Unfortunately everything was booked. The pictures they display have to be 15 years old. The place is filthy, and the service is awful. We complained abount tub not draining it would get 8 inches deep while trying to shower and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Greg J
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us. I thank you for voicing your concerns and bringing these issues to our attention. I will make sure that your complaints are forwarded to the...

Reviewed 25 June 2013

Decent price considering it was an ocean front room. The safety plate in the room door is a hazard. My husband received a 1.5 inch cut on his finger when shutting the door. They said the plate was there to keep people from breaking in the room (what hotels even use keys anymore), and they have a sign posted regarding...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jenlynn1974
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us. I thank you for voicing your concerns and bringing these issues to our attention. I will make sure that your complaints are forwarded to the...

Reviewed 21 June 2013

The rooms were clean but probably in need of updating. The balcony door was difficult to open and close. The AC worked nicely and was not loud at all. I was under the impression that they had a fitness center but I could not find it and the front desk was closed when I went to ask. Otherwise they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaclyn08
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We would be happy to have you as a guest with us again in the future. If there is anything that you may need, please do not hesitate to contact...

Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed here with my family for our short vacation and it was so dirty that I wanted to leave the moment I stepped into the room. The sheets looked used and there was still sand in the tub. The room smelled like cigarettes and did have burn holes in the blankets. I was so discussed that we ended up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mindy N
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your recent stay with us. It is not typical for housekeeping to be lacking in the services that you have mentioned in your complaint, however errors are...

Reviewed 21 June 2013

We just left there Wednesday an this hotel is the worst ever!!! The black lady had the worst attitude we have ever seen!!! Room service didn't come clean the room or give new towels till two days before we were suppose to leave. We were told that we could check in any time before 4pm so we got there in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephie102690
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us. We apologize for the confusion on the check in time, but our published check in time is 4 PM or later. We always do our...

Deltona, Florida
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Clerk unfriendly, door lock broken, filthy floor, room smelled moldy, toilet not fastened to the floor, threadbare towels, no tissues, cups or ice bucket......should I go on? Needless to say we will not go back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annie K
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us. I thank you for voicing your concerns and bringing these issues to our attention. I will make sure that your complaints are forwarded to the...

Buffalo, New York, United States
Reviewed 13 June 2013

When we check inthe rug wasn't cleaned,paper behind toilet,crumbs on top of where the tv was,sheets had burn holes from cigarettes.Told girl @ front desk she told me I can change sheets told her she must be crazy...........Next day we were gone all day,came back to room to see it had never been touch.........girl @ front desk said she would...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Greeklady44
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your recent stay with us. It is not typical for housekeeping to be lacking in the services that you have mentioned in your complaint, however errors are...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.4 km away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#138 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
663 reviews
2.1 km away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#97 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
888 reviews
0.2 km away
Days Inn Myrtle Beach-Grand Strand
Days Inn Myrtle Beach-Grand Stra...
#151 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#134 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
150 reviews
1.3 km away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#150 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
476 reviews
7.3 km away
Myrtle Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Resort
#61 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Ocean Plaza Motel

Address: 1005 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4441
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $67 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Plaza Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Plaza Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Plaza Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
#94 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Plaza Motel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Plaza Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ocean front 4th floor or higher”
 of 5 bubbles SeneccaA, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ocean front, not the 7th floor as you have to walk up from the 6th to the 7th floor with your bags as the elevator does not go up that far”
 of 5 bubbles 133suzannes, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Just don't stay here”
  • Peeling paint
  • The lock to the room
  • Outside of Room
 of 5 bubbles nottien, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Cheap place to stay right on the beach, tv, in room phone and internet did not work at all”
 of 5 bubbles travlnsls67, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Had free wifi that didn't work”
 of 5 bubbles dirtyjeep13, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay