We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Breakers Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,646 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Breakers Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,629: English reviews
Chestertown, Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We just finished a 4 night stay at The Breakers Resort in two ocean front suites (4 adults, 2 children). Rooms were great, view amazing (18th floor), beds comfortable! Pools and lazy river opened on Friday and kids had a blast. The "free" breakfast was fantastic. Staff worked very hard to make sure everyone got seated as quickly as possible....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Denny47
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Poor service, pool was closed half the time and we were not told that when checking in or making reservations. We also had a leak in the room and had both closest soaked the week we were there. And supposedly someone fixed the problem the first night we was there. Room service was horrible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
Corey S, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review

Dear Heather C, I sincerely apologize for the poor overall experience. There is no excuse for the lack of information provided to you at check-in or at the time of booking. I would cherish the chance to speak with you about the specifics. If you have a moment, please contact me at (843) 444-4444. I don't want any of our...

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the 1st time my husband and I stayed at the Breakers but it wont be the last. We had a great time and the staff was wonderful. Breakfast every morning at Papas restaurant was phenomenal and the servers and staff were amazing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keishamoore74
Newark, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

Resort is in bad shape. Stayed here for a softball tournament. Rooms were outdated. Limited parking. Room condition was terrible. Stains visible on mattress and box spring. Bathroom small and cramped. Will never use this facility again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George B
Corey S, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review

Dear George B, I sincerely apologize for the poor experience you described. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly, in greater detail. Please contact me at your earliest convenience at (843) 444-4444. I hope to hear from you soon! Sincerely, Corey S. Resort Manager

Elkton
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the seventh year our group has stayed The Breakers for our annual buddies golf outing. There's a reason we keep coming back to The Breakers. It's Gloria Hums! Gloria is the golf director at The Breakers and she always goes out of her way to make our trip a success. We start planning for our trip in February,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darrell D
Liberty
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had non smoking 2bd condo, but people can smoke on balconies. I didn't like that cause their smoke would come into my room when I had sliding glass door open enjoying the fresh ocean breeze. The furniture and beds looked very dated, but not that big of a concern for me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was dirty, the toilet leaked all over the bathroom, could hardly turn the shower on. No hot tubs or pools open except outside pool and it wasn't heated. Lazy river closed down. It was nosier than hell because of the workers.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlotte B
Corey S, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced regarding the hurricane damaged amenities. It has been over a month since Hurricane Matthew swept through the Grand Strand, and we finally have the Paradise pool area back to 100% fully operational. As you mentioned, a majority of our water features are...

Butler, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not until we arrived were we told the oceanfront room we reserved was not available. We were then given a substandard room with a view of the construction dumpster, which was very noisy. I understand the issues with the hurricane, but believe we should have been notified of the unavailability of the room prior to our arrival. I also felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank connied444
Corey S, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor! We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced regarding the hurricane damaged rooms and amenities. It has been over a month since Hurricane Matthew swept through the Grand Strand, and we are finally putting the remainder of the affected amenities back into service. As you mentioned, the oceanfront accommodations suffered...

Rockingham, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First time at this motel. Rooms are a little small but still nice. Pools were being repaired do to the hurricane. They did have a couple pools open. Beds were just right and the pillows were to die for. Great motel with great prices

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy P
Corey S, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor online community! We are especially happy you had such a wonderful time, despite the Paradise pool area still recovering from the hurricane damage. You'll be happy to know we have taken the opportunity to improve the quality of decking and enclosure, rather than just replacing them with the same...

Powell, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am staying in one of the Seaside Oceanfront rooms right now. The view of the ocean is great, but the rooms themselves are far from what I was expecting from the pictures online. It's clean, but the furniture and fixtures are old and cheap. It works as a place to stay/sleep, but isn't exactly what I as expecting based...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikeP7464ZF
Corey S, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review

Dear mikeP7464ZF, I sincerely apologize if you felt misled by our website. In just the last few months, we updated the photos on our site to display the new all white bedding, which we have transitioned to for the entire property. I regret that your particular room did not live up to the expectations set by the photos. Please understand...

1,658 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (985)
Viewed
View from Room (133)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (189)
Viewed
Room/Suite (174)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (140)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
1:45
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (298)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (646)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Beach (26)
Viewed
Other (341)
Viewed
Pool (103)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
5.6 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
2,944 reviews
0.4 km away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
1,639 reviews
5.9 km away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#20 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
897 reviews
0.2 km away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#29 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
2,872 reviews
2.7 km away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3222
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $82 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Breakers Resort staff and other travellers.
107 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (107)

Questions? Get answers from The Breakers Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you get the Penthouse, you will not have an beach view”
 of 5 bubbles antoniop797, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“need toaster and chairs on the beach”
 of 5 bubbles carlaporter, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure your room is furnished and equipped with what was listed on the internet. ”
 of 5 bubbles keishamoore74, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We have stayed in the Palmetto and Paradise buildings. Both offer excellent oceanfront and oceanview accommodations.”
  • Sunrise over Myrtle Beach from our balcony in the Palmetto Building at The Breakers.
 of 5 bubbles 403DarrellD, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“pick oceanview”
 of 5 bubbles mikeP7464ZF, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay