We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
The Palms Oceanfront Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

604 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 597: English reviews
Gallipolis, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Wonderful location in the small beach community of Isle of Palms. 2 great restaurants one on each side and shopping across the street make it a perfect stay. Also easy access to Charleston just over the bridge. We will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Neal P
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed it! The hotel has a wonderful location right on the beach and staff are friendly- they were not booked up so they upgraded our room for free! The island has a safe atmosphere you can just get out and walk around and feel comfortable doing so. Great amenities at a wonderful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tyler L
Stephens City, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2016

I understand the Palms is currently closed for renovations. However, I had the privilege of staying there a couple years ago. The staff was very accommodating and the breakfast was an added bonus. It is within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and of course on the beach.

Helpful?
Thank mindykelly
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning MindyKelly, Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your stay with us. Yes, the Hotel is currently closed undergoing extensive renovations. We look forward to the Hotel's Grand Re-opening later this year and hope we can welcome you back to the property for it. Thank you again! Matthew Cunningham General Manager More 

Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2015

We got an excellent AAA rate on our one night stay prior to our cruise departure. The hotel room, amenities and cleanliness were on par for the price of the room. Once the renovation is complete this could be a great boutique hotel that could command much higher rates if properly updated.

Helpful?
Thank ktownse1
Matthew C, General Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon KTownse1, Thank you for taking an opportunity to share your feedback during your most recent stay with us! We appreciate you have many choices in the Charleston/Mount Pleasant/Isle of Palms area and thank you for staying with us. We do hope you will reach out to us upon completion of our renovations and visit with us again. Thank... More 

Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
132 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

I had gotten a Groupon and read all the bad reviews, so we were prepared and pleasantly surprised. Yes, it is dated, but our room was clean. We had an interior room and there were some loud rowdy grown men making a lot of noise in the tiled hallway around 2 am the last night which was a disappointment considering... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
Michael S, Hotel Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Dawn M, Thank you for taking the time to share thoughts on your recent stay here with us.....sorry about the noise in the middle of the night. Please know you can always call the front desk and we will address noise complaint issues and make them stop. The next time you come here, please ask for me so we... More 

Kleve, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We we offered a free upgrade for a room at the seafront, which we appreciated very much, the room is quiet and comfy, although renewal would be recommended. We slept with open windows and had a good time. Sorry the elevator was out of order...

Helpful?
1 Thank TandaH51
Michael S, Hotel Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Guten Tag TandaH51, Ich danke Ihnen fur die Zeit nehmen, um Ihre Gedanken zu ihren letzten Aufenhalt bei uns zu... More 

Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2015

We stayed for one night in a beachfront room. We were greeted by the manager when we checked in who was very nice and our room was great. It was clean and just what we wanted. Would definitely stay here again!

Helpful?
Thank Murielhoek
Michael S, Hotel Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Murielhoek! Thank you for your kind words about our Hotel and Staff.....it makes us happy when we deliver against the expectation. Please remember to call us directly for your next reservation so we can offer you our Loyal Return Guest discounts. Have a great 2016! More 

Buffalo, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2015

We go to Charleston each November for our anniversary and this was the first time we stayed at The Palms. We loved it. It is under renovation, but we could see the potential and improvements being made. Our room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We will definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Donna S
Michael S, Hotel Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pioneerms, Thanks for taking the time to write a review on The Palms! We are proud to be one of the 3 oceanfront hotels in the Charleston area and are happy you found us to be a great spot. We do apologize about the renovations, but are happy to share that our brand new elevator goes back into service... More 

St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2015

The condition of the hotel is horrible. It could be charming and beautiful. The elevator which is how you reach the front desk/lobby is in terrible shape on the outside and the inside! It needs to be painted and detailed and maintain daily since this is the entrance to the property. It is such a turn off ! The underground... More 

Helpful?
Thank abovelamer
Michael S, Hotel Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Abovelamer, I just read your review and wanted to respond to your comments regarding your stay back in August. You were right.....the elevator interior and exteriors were not in good shape! You'll be happy to know we completely removed that elevator and have replaced it with a brand new model, which we expect to have back in operation shortly.... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

This was our second time staying at this hotel. We stayed there 8 or 9 years ago when it was a holiday inn express and enjoyed it then. This time was great as well! The location was just awesome. My family and I loved the whole area. We had a beachfront room which had the most beautiful view and great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura L
Michael S, Hotel Manager at The Palms Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Laura L, Thanks so much for the kind words about our hotel and team. We are fortunate to have such a great staff, so know we appreciate you recognizing them. Thank you again for taking an opportunity to share your feedback, and don't forget to contact us directly to take advantage of our wonderful Loyal Guest rates!! All the... More 

442 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (284)
Viewed
Beach (30)
Viewed
Coastal Guest Room (61)
Viewed
Oceanfront Balcony Guest Room (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (83)
Viewed
Traditional Interior Guest Room (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Palms
Seaside Inn
#4 of 5 in Isle of Palms
171 reviews
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
1,848 reviews
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt ...
#11 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
*** ATTENTION as of Friday, December 18, 2015 *** The Palms Hotel officially closed on Friday, December 18, 2015 due to extensive renovations to common areas, guest room, and guest areas! We look forward to re-opening the hotel late 2016. Thank you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Palms Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1126 Ocean Blvd, Isle of Palms, SC 29451-2281
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Isle of Palms
Price Range: $93 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Palms Oceanfront Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Palms Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Isle Of
Palms Isle Of
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Palms Oceanfront Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Cincinnati, Ohio
Charlotte, NC
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Palms Oceanfront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get an oceanview”
 of 5 bubbles ktownse1, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
“ask sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles TandaH51, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Ask for ocean front!”
 of 5 bubbles donnasN5234OV, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
“ask for there most updated room”
 of 5 bubbles abovelamer, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Rooms with ocean view or partial ocean view are great”
 of 5 bubbles 760gilbertg, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay