We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 62: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My daughter and I stayed two nights and had a great experience. It's located just one block from Coligny Beach access and Coligny Plaza with many restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. It's just far enough off the beach to be quiet and relaxing but with easy access to everything. The property itself is less like a hotel and more like a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have stayed here a few times as the Quality Inn. Holiday Inn Express has made nice renovation job. We like this area of the island and the hotel is close to a lot of things to see/do and restaurants. It's quiet except when the people let the doors close on there own...very loud. The have garage parking and surface...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank txlnstr
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I didn't feel like fighting the traffic northbound on I95 anymore so I thought I would take a short respite here. Greta was welcoming and very sweet! A note to first time stays: don't be caught off guard by the rooms being in a separate building from reception, and all the alligator warning signs. I walked around alone this evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexa K
Management response:

Dear Alexa, Thank you very much for your welcoming comments. I will share your comments with the Team and we look forward to providing Great Southern Hospitality to you in the near future. Sincerely, Jay Robertson

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived very late at night after a ghost tour in Savannah. I was a little disappointed because I was under the impression the hotel was closer than it actually was and we were exhausted after a long day of driving then sight seeing, but this was my fault alone. The front desk was amazing, even changed us to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iceselarakarisma
Management response:

Hi Iceselarakarisma. Thank you for your great recommendations. We certainly are please that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will choose us again as your Hilton Head Island destination hotel. Sincerely, Jay Robertson

Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 6 December 2016

I was visiting Hilton Head recently with some friends and stayed here. I had an enjoyable stay. It was a unique hotel in that the front desk and lobby are about 2 blocks away from the building with the rooms. Rooms are top notch! Comfortable large beds. Good linens and soft blankets. Shower had solid water pressure, but bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
Management response:

Dear Brian, Thank you so much for your great review. It truly is appreciated by guest like you that our efforts in providing a great vacation destination is noticed. Sincerely, Jay Robertson

columbus, ohio
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Most of the other reviewers commented on the poor design of this facility. The signage is extremely confusing and as much as I appreciate the fact that the manager is reading these reviews, it would be nice to actually see change occur. There are several great things about this hotel: 1) The location is near the beach; 2) The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank critc17265
Management response:

Hi critc, I am truly sorry for your unfortunate experience. I will help to address some of the issues for you. 1. I can't see where IHG.com states only 6.7 miles from I-95, however, I will have the IT department try to see where it is listed. 2. I am unfamiliar with Waze, however, I can see that this is...

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel is well located near Coligny Plaza. Unusual layout. Reception, breakfast room located in a seperate building from the rooms. Our room was located about five minutes walk from the Reception building, a bit of a drag for breakfast. There is a shuttle available if you want it. The building our room was located in an open corridor to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roadwarrior1000
Management response:

Dear Roadwarrior1000, Thank you very much for your considerations and bringing them to our attention. We are please that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your possible visit with us in the future.

Edison, New Jersey
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Staff was friendly. Check in was easy. Clean comfortable room, clean common area. There is a short walk from the rooms to the office where breakfast is served. There is a shuttle from the hotel to the reception building, but this is really not needed, it’s a short walk. Breakfast was OK, room it’s served in is comfortable. Hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P F B
Management response:

Hello PFB, Thank you so much for your very fine comments on our facilities and friendly staff. We pride ourselves on striving to provide the very best in accommodations with a cheerful smile in our hearts and on our faces. We look forward to your visit in the future with us. Jay Robertson

Lakeland, Florida, United States
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Beautiful location, clean comfortable rooms, very friendly staff, great breakfast - but - I picked this hotel because every room had a balcony, the whole drive up I looked forward to relaxing on the balcony, we get there & indeed there was a great balcony overlooking the beautiful grounds but - no chair, no place to sit, no way to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan N
Management response:

Hi Jan, Thank you so much for the suggestion on balcony chairs. Unfortunately, town ordinance does not allow us to permanently place chairs here. So glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Lambertville, Michigan
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I have to start off by stating I have stayed in a lot of hotels over the years; yet this is my first review.....tells you how AWFUL HOLIDAY INN treats guests! I called in late on Sunday, August 21 to use my rewards as I was a Gold Elite Member. It was very late and lobby/check-in was in a separate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lambertville
Management response:

Dear Lambertville, I am so sorry this incident has at our hotel. As the new General Manager, I truly hope that provide us with another opportunity in the future to prove that we treat all guests in a cordial and professional way. Sincerely

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.3 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#9 of 29 in Hilton Head
193 reviews
9.8 km away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 29 in Hilton Head
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#14 of 29 in Hilton Head
725 reviews
2.8 km away
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
#18 of 29 in Hilton Head
577 reviews
8.4 km away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#19 of 29 in Hilton Head
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our resort style hotel offers 153 rooms with either a King Bed or 2 Queen Beds and many rooms additionally have sleeper sofas. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, Keurig Coffee Machine, Iron/Ironing board, free Wifi, additional plugs for electronic devices, 49" Flat Screen TVs, Programmable in room Safe, individually controlled air conditioning and heat, telephone and a radio alarm clock. Fully ADA compliant rooms are available upon request. Check in at our newly renovated Registration building just off South Forest Beach Drive and then just a short drive to the rooms building overlooking our wildlife lagoon and pool. Our entire complex is just a short stroll to Hilton Head's famous beach, Coligny Plaza with its shops and restaurants, the BiLo Plaza, and Van der Meer Tennis Center. Located just 45 minutes from Savannah Hilton Head International airport, 20 minutes from the Tanger Outlets and 15 minutes from Hilton Head Island Airport. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island

Address: 2 Tanglewood Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6244 (Formerly Quality Inn South Forest Beach)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Price Range: $114 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Forest Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Comfort Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Head Comfort Inn
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Bartlett, Illinois
Honea Path, South Carolina
4 months ago
Connecticut
over a year ago
Connecticut
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Read the details of my review.”
 of 5 bubbles critc17265, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The higher the better.”
 of 5 bubbles dos7940, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Even numbered rooms on the fourth floor are parking lot views, odds are pond and pool view.”
 of 5 bubbles Rod6760, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not on the bench about a mile away”
 of 5 bubbles demariomonicap, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room facing pool or lagoon”
 of 5 bubbles Yum4tum, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay