We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

736 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Showing 727: English reviews
Huntingtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We made a last-minute (walk-in_ reservation here, to get out of another hotel where we were booked that was horrible. The staff (Zoe at the front desk) was so nice, helped us find a member) rate that was good. The hotel was very clean and inviting. Was in a great location, right in the middle of places to eat, drink... More 

Helpful?
Thank MMcAbee68
Jasmine S, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Dear MMcAbee68, Thank you for your 5 star review of the Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia Historic District :) I remember our conversation and I am happy we were able to accommodate you. I am also glad you found our location, breakfast and service to be great throughout your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!... More 

Huntingtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a wonderful visit here! We had to nook it last minute, to get out of a horrible hotel we were currently booked at. The staff found us a room at a great (member) price and they were absolutely wonderful to work with. Room was a bit small, but very very clean and comfortable and the bathroom was nice... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank MMcAbee68
Jasmine S, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Dear MMcAbee68, Thank you for your 5 star review of the Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia Historic District :) I remember our conversation and I am happy we were able to accommodate you. I am also glad you found our location, breakfast and service to be great throughout your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!... More 

Hom
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location. Right next door to the convention center. Surrounded by restaurants and close to campus. Clean. Friendly. 24 hour free coffee! Breakfast was complimentary. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 869coreyj
Jasmine S, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Dear 869coreyj, Thank you for your 5 star review of the Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia Historic District! We are glad you found our location, breakfast and service to be great throughout your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Thank you again for choosing the Hampton Inn! See You Next Time, Jasmine S. More 

Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

All of the Hampton Inns I have stayed in have been very good. This is the best one yet. Entire staff was friendly and helpful Beds and pillows are the best, just like any Hampton Inn. The location is surrounded by nice restaurants and night spots.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank richard s
Jasmine S, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Richard S, Thank you so much for your 5 STAR REVIEW on our property! We appreciate your feedback! We are glad to hear that our property was the best one yet. We are excited to you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location was accommodating to you and your travels. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
171 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Very nice hotel and friendly staff, who is eager to ensure you're happy during your stay. Only set back was the $12 parking fee/per night. Being downtown, it is understood parking is tough, but with the rate the hotel offers the $12 per day had me shaking my head. Other nearby hotels do not require this fee. However, that will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt H
Jasmine S, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Matt H, Thank you so much for your 5 STAR REVIEW on our property :) We appreciate your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Downtown as your home away from home! We hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels, Jasmine S. More 

Port Royal, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We were evacuated due to Hurricane Matthew and were traveling with my parents (Dad's health is not good). Even though the hotel was booked solid (for a football game and other evacuees), the staff remained calm, helpful, and nice! I'll mention a few that I got to know within the 5 days we were there, but there were others as... More 

Helpful?
Thank journey2455
Jasmine S, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Journey2455, Thank you so much for your 5 STAR review on our property here at the Hampton Inn Downtown Historic District! We appreciate your sincere feedback on our team and property! I will let them know how much you appreciated their help. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for choosing... More 

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Nice property well located. Igu f uyg I fudyxcglhhh. Ivifuxuvibobbobovicucogigucyxg igiguf igufe igiguf igufududn ogufygohoh yd TX TX ihbbivuxtxrx y cvobobutc Ivifuxuvibobbobovicucogigucyxg igydtci hgg

Helpful?
Thank charleyb418
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

We had to leave our home to escape Hurricane Matthew. These folks welcomed us and our pet, went above and beyond to make us comfy and endured our constantly changing need for yet another night as we waited to be allowed re entry to the island. The hotel is very well maintained but the staff is unlike any other, from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
Jasmine S, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Linda S, Thank you for your five star review! We are glad that you enjoyed our property and service! We hope that you get a chance to visit our property again under better circumstance ! Thanks again for choosing the Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia Historic District as your home away from home :) Sincerely, Jasmine S. More 

South Brunswick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We switched to the Hampton Inn after five nights at the nearby Marriott. I wish we found this first. The property was newer, cleaner, and less expensive than the Marriott. The location is great and the staff is very friendly, helpful, and professional. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
Jasmine S, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Margaret M, Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia! We appreciate your five star review :) We are glad you found our property to meet all your needs. Again, thank you for choosing our property and we hope to see you again soon ! Sincerely, Jasmine S. More 

Murrells Inlet, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Staff is most helpful and friendly. All facilities are neat and clean. Complimentary breakfast is adequate. We have stayed at numerous Hampton Inns up and down the east coast and have always had most pleasurable experiences and this Hampton Inn ranks right up there with the best of them all. I would definitely recommend this Hampton Inn when visiting Columbia,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James C
Jasmine S, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Dear James C, Thank you for your five star review! We are glad that you enjoyed our property, breakfast and service! We hope that you get a chance to visit our property again in the near future next road trip ! Thanks again for choosing the Hampton Inn Downtown Columbia Historic District :) See You Next Time, Jasmine S. More 

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
3:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.1 km away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.2 km away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#11 of 96 in Columbia
767 reviews
1.3 km away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
#6 of 96 in Columbia
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
14.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Northeast
1.0 km away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Step back in time to the southern charm of the past in the historic district of Columbia. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, and most major museums. Get a feel for the past by browsing the specialty shops and restaurants just outside our door in the Historic District, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to natural wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Ask the team at our Columbia hotel for more ideas on all of the incredible sights of this area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Address: 822 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Price Range: $141 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#9 Family Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“North side rooms face Gervais Street. South side rooms face the rear parking lot and are a bit quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles wayneh324, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Off Gervais street would be best - lots of loud bikes and trucks going till 2:00am +”
 of 5 bubbles roberteC4757UG, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Been there a few times and all rooms are great.”
 of 5 bubbles ronnierugger, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 506 is small with no view - but comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles MMcAbee68, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“n/a. Our room was on the third floor and was a spacious king room.”
 of 5 bubbles kristenheatherly, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay