We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

757 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Showing 748: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved the location of this hotel. We were able to walk to all our destinations. Lots of restaurants and shopping in the area as well as historical sites. We visited during the Christmas Holiday and enjoyed the festive atmosphere. We have stayed in another hotel during family visits in Columbia but this will be our hotel on future visits.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 965diannab
Jasmine S, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Dear 965diannab, Thank you so much for your 5 STAR REVIEW on our property! We appreciate your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location was accommodating to you and your travels during the Holidays :) Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Downtown as your home away from home! We...

Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I asked for a dark quiet room. Room was at street level at a traffic light. Trucks and cars pulling off from light all night. This is the second Hampton Inn in Columbia with breakfast food that has a strong chemical taste, disappointing.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevejE4131DX
Hampton Inn C, Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Stevej, We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues encountered at breakfast and that we were unable to satisfy your room request, and we’re working with our team to ensure the situations don’t happen again. Additionally, we are very sorry to hear...

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This trip was a family mini vacation to the Columbia area. We were impressed by the staff and convenience with parking in the small and busy area. No complaints towards staff. Our room was nice and clean.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesliebY1393US
Jasmine S, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Dear lesliebY1393US, Thank you so much for your review on our property! We appreciate your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with our location and staff. Thank you again for choosing the Hampton Inn Downtown as your home away from home! Safe Travels, Jasmine S.

Bowling Green, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything about this Hampton is first-rate, including the location. Slept well and enjoyed a good hot breakfast. The rate was amazing for such a nice hotel in a hip location. We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BGElisabeth
Jasmine S, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Dear BGElisabeth, Thank you so much for your 5 STAR REVIEW on our property! We appreciate your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location was accommodating to you and your travels. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Downtown as your home away from home! We hope to see you...

Washington DC, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Never stayed here before but was completely pleased with everything including the location. Very Convenient to great restaurants, quality sandwich shops; felt totally comfortable and safe venturing around this downtown location. Parking was right there; also safe. This is a great hotel!!!!

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
Jasmine S, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Deborah P, Thank you so much for your 5 STAR REVIEW on our property! We appreciate your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our location and staff. Thank you again for choosing the Hampton Inn Downtown as your home away from home! Safe Travels, Jasmine S.

Columbia, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Some issues but the staff made all well even thou the parking was overloaded. Some issues that were resolved which is all a reasonable person could expect. I would stay there again. The hotel being right downtown a plus for convenience to access all the centers events and the university/shopping.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dawnsO9359SP
Jasmine S, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Dear dawns09359sp, Thank you so much for your 5 STAR REVIEW on our property! We appreciate your feedback! We are glad to hear that our staff was able to accommodated all your needs for your travels. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Downtown as your home away from home! We hope to see you again soon. Thank You, Jasmine...

wilmington,nc
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Located downtown and walking distance to lots of restaurants. Rooms are clean and nice beds. Morning breakfast includes hot omelets waffles or oatmeal. Coffee available all day. Friendly staff and easy off street parking. .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenasa
Jasmine S, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Kenasa, Thank you so much for your gracious review on our property! We appreciate your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location, staff and breakfast was accommodating to you and your travels. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Downtown as your home away from home! Sincerely, Jasmine S.

Raleigh, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Seems the neighboring businesses have dumpsters emptied Tuesday mornings at 3:00 am. So, if you need to stay here on Monday nights, be sure you get a room facing the street! Otherwise, the staff, location, and breakfast were awesome.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F3380VIrobing
Shelby, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice, very clean hotel. Great location. Walking distance to dining, shopping, nightlife. The staff was very friendly and willing to help with anything. Very knowledgeable about the area. Highly recommend this hotel in this location.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aprilw565
Jasmine S, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Dear AprilW565, Thank you so much for your 5 STAR review on our property! We appreciate your sincere feedback on our property! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Downtown as your home away from home! Thank You, Jasmine S.

Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night (Saturday Night) - we were in town for the trans-Siberian orchestra. We checked in around 2:30 PM in the afternoon - we were able to get checked in a jiffy. I had booked the room via my Honors point and it was a breeze. The folks are the front desk were cheerful and gave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shanker B
Jasmine S, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Shanker B, Thank you so much for your 5 STAR REVIEW on our property! We appreciate your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location, staff and breakfast was accommodating to you and your travels. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Downtown as your home away from home! We...

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
3:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.1 km away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.2 km away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#12 of 97 in Columbia
781 reviews
1.3 km away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
#6 of 97 in Columbia
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
14.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Northeast
0.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Step back in time to the southern charm of the past in the historic district of Columbia. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Columbia-Downtown Historic District is located less than a mile from the University of South Carolina, the South Carolina State Capitol, and most major museums. Get a feel for the past by browsing the specialty shops and restaurants just outside our door in the Historic District, or get up close to history at the South Carolina Statehouse-both are within easy reach of our hotel in Columbia. Dig into more history at the South Carolina State Museum, the largest in the state. Our Columbia hotel also gives you easy access to natural wonders like Congaree National Park, one of the last old-growth forests in the south teeming with wildlife. You can also browse masterpieces by Monet at the Columbia Museum of Art. Ask the team at our Columbia hotel for more ideas on all of the incredible sights of this area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District

Address: 822 Gervais Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Price Range: $175 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#9 Family Hotel in Columbia
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“North side rooms face Gervais Street. South side rooms face the rear parking lot and are a bit quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles wayneh324, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Off Gervais street would be best - lots of loud bikes and trucks going till 2:00am +”
 of 5 bubbles roberteC4757UG, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Been there a few times and all rooms are great.”
 of 5 bubbles ronnierugger, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 506 is small with no view - but comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles MMcAbee68, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“n/a. Our room was on the third floor and was a spacious king room.”
 of 5 bubbles kristenheatherly, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay