We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 109: English reviews
North Branford, Connecticut
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overnight stop on our way from Connecticut to Florida. Front desk staff was friendly at 11:30 pm. Our room was clean with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was included. Adequate breakfast. Breakfast staff (of 1) kept counters clean and food full. Very efficient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oblio13
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind response. My staff works hard to ensure that each guest has a great guest experience. We hope to see you on your return trip to Connecticut. Thank you for your business we appreciate it. Kind Regards Sherry Anders General Manager

Reviewed 28 September 2016

My fiancée and I stayed at Comfort Inn and Suites at 7337 Garners Ferry Rd., Columbia, SC 29209 for her birthday weekend September 11 - 12, 2016. The first day we were disturbed by all of the construction and ended up talking to management about the noise. We couldn't understand why they would put us on the side of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elynd 2
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

I’m concerned about the problem you experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. I’m writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention. We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of...

Lady Lake Florida
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Stopped on 9/16/2016, on our way to NYS from Florida. This is a very nice and updated hotel that is pet friendly. The rooms are clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly. It is right off Exit 21 at I 95, easy on and off. There are a few fast food places within walking distance. We ordered in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHUCKIEJR
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. The directions are a little off we at exit 9A off I77 but with your little dog being sick I can understand the confusion. I hope the little dog is doing well. AmberLynn is a valued member of my team and our hotel would not be as good without them. We hope...

Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 23 June 2016

stayed here just passing through to get home. stopped in late and there was virtually no place to park. the whole building was under construction. no floors, no ceiling tiles ect. I desperately needed to use a washer due to my child puking on a bunch of clothes. went the whole way to the receptionist (who was outside talking to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellen804207
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

South Carolina
Reviewed 6 June 2016

When I called to book this room, I only had two questions. Was it pet friendly and was the pool open. She answered yes to both. I even asked about the pool again before I hung up because I knew they had renovations going on. My 7 year old was soooo excited to use the pool. Well guess what? We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scnewlyweds
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

I apologize about the pool not being open. However, we were not expecting the pool pump to go out. The part had to be ordered and it took a few days for it to come in and be installed. The pool is now back open. We are doing renovations to enhance the look of the property for our guest. I...

Huntington, West Virginia
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Picture this: You have just driven 6 hours, leaving behind a great condo on the beach, and you get to Comfort Inn at 12:30 in the morning. You check in and are sent to a room on the 3rd floor in the front corner. You gt in bed around 1:00 and hear traffic noise outside. It's ok, you're tired and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ang724
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Orion, Michigan
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

Full reward point value agreed when booking. Arrived to find mess of floor and wall re-do underway. Pool and fitness rooms posted closed. Desk offers to open exterior access to pool. (65 F out, cool walk!) Changed room when a) refrigerator unit on truck outside room kept cycling and b) no heat in room 206, dropped out GFI in line...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michigan0662Fish
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Clayton, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 May 2016

When you arrive, the office manager comes out and gives you a kiss!....Just kidding. But the Managers, Staff, maintenance, everybody is so great. They are truly an asset to the place. Everybody makes you feel like family, and if you ever need anything just ask! If they have to run to the store to get you something they will and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael C
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. It is our guest that make us who we are. We appreciate your business and hope to see you soon. Kind Regards Sherry Anders General Manager

Palm Harbor, Florida
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way home. The beds were comfortable and the front desk staff were friendly. The breakfast is good with a good amount of options to choose from. The hotel is located near several restaurants and right off the highway. My only complaint is the dated bathroom. It definitely needed some work!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

Thank you Lauren for your review and thank you for your business we appreciate it. I am happy to say that the whole hotel is getting a remodel starting on Monday May 9th. I hope you get a chance to come back and see all the changes we're making. Kind Regards Sherry Anders General Manager

Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

We asked if they take dogs. The guy at the desk said yes. When we go to check out, they said they do not take dogs and it would be a $250 fee. Really? A scam I think! Also, the restrooms were out of paper towels (on order). Half of the lights in my room didn't work. Only one small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KPricetag2
Sherry A, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate, responded to this review

We do accept pets with a $25 non refundable fee per pet per stay, with a limit of 2 pets per room and a maximum weight limit of 50 lbs. per pet. If you were charged the amount you stated please contact me and email or fax me a copy of your receipt and I will look into it. However,...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.7 km away
Candlewood Suites Columbia-Ft. Jackson
0.5 km away
TownePlace Suites Columbia Southeast/Fort Jackson
0.3 km away
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
Sleep Inn near Ft. Jackson
#45 of 97 in Columbia
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/Southeast-Ft. Jackson
0.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Breakfast Available
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Comfort Inn & Suites is a 67 room facility located near the Fort Jackson Main Gate off exit 9A on I77. We are conveniently located near restaurants and shopping. The hotel is located near the Riverbanks Zoo and Gardens, 6 miles from the University of South Carolina and near the South Carolina State House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate

Address: 7337 Garners Ferry Rd, Columbia, SC 29209-2110
Region: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Price Range: $119 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate Hotel Columbia
Comfort Inn Columbia
Columbia Comfort Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Inn Ft. Jackson Maingate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suites are a little more and well worth it. Very close to USA Base Fort Jackson”
 of 5 bubbles CHUCKIEJR, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“go when renovations are done”
 of 5 bubbles ellen804207, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“stay away from 301”
  • bug in our bathroom
 of 5 bubbles Ang724, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Eat at Brazilian Cowboys! Best food in the Vista!”
 of 5 bubbles michaelc196, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“Top floor, away from Garners Ferry Road is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles BobL190, 28 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay