We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ansonborough Inn

Traveller (430)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (584)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
74Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
44Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1,099Reviews
1,019Photos
28Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 749
  • 245
  • 56
  • 30
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Beautiful place with a great location. Very pleased with this hotel. Walking distance to almost everything. Rooms are spacious and clean with very comfortable beds. Breakfast is fresh and tasty with a great view from the rooftop area! Lots of history with no ghost.
Read more
We have met here with friends for three years now. We all love this place! It has such wonderful ambiance and friendly staff members. We love gathering in their quaint little bar for predinner drinks and to talk over the days adventures. We feel like it's our own little get
Read more
Response from Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to share this great review to TripAdvisor! I am delighted to see that you and your friends have consistently enjoyed the time you spent at Ansonborough Inn. There is nothing more rewarding than seeing a familiar face walk in the door and having the privilege of saying, "Welcome Back!" I am so glad that the upgrades that were occurring in the hotel during your visit weren't disruptive to your travel planning. I hope that you and your friends have a wonderful Italian adventure and I also hope to see all of you again soon! Thank you for choosing Ansonborough Inn and for posting this glowing review! Arrivederci!
Read more
I came here on business and stayed at this Inn. It’s in a great location within walking distance of shops and restaurants in Downtown Charleston. It’s a nice, quaint old Inn with large rooms. They offer free wine and cheese in the evening and free continental breakfast which is
Read more
Response from Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Heidi28105--Thank you very much for posting this review to TripAdvisor! I am delighted to see that you enjoyed the time you spent at Ansonborough Inn and that you found our property to be quaint and comfortable. When I read your remarks about Wine & Cheese, I was very disappointed and went back and looked at the camera footage of the night you stayed with us. Although I am not sure why the empty wine canisters weren't removed promptly, we only serve two types of wine, some times in two carafes of each--we never serve four types of wine, so I can assure you that you saw all that was offered! I sincerely apologize that the Universal remote controls don't allow the CC on our televisions--we would have loved to have brought you the branded remote for your specific television. Thanks again for sharing this review and thank you for choosing Ansonborough Inn. I hope to see you on your next visit to Charleston!
Read more
If you want peace and quiet ask for Room 216....second floor in the corner away from cross traffic or elevator Benjamin at the front desk was extremely informative of restaurants and sights to see. Ansonborough Inn is a perfect location - historic picturesque part of
Read more
Response from Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you very much for posting this review to TripAdvisor! I am so happy to see that you enjoyed the time you spent at Ansonborough Inn. It is wonderful to know that Benjamin was exceedingly helpful with information about Charleston and the many things to do here. Thanks again for sharing this review and thank you for choosing Ansonborough Inn--we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Ansonborough Inn is a great place to stay. My ONLY complaint is that they deal with reservations.com and you get billed a separate service charged by them on your credit card. Reservations.com lists a service charge on their website, but you have click on it to find out they
Read more
Response from Carrie H, Manager at Ansonborough Inn
Responded 13 Feb. 2019
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this information on TripAdvisor! I am so glad that you enjoyed the time you spent at Ansonborough Inn and I'm sorry you had any issues with the third party through which you booked. I really appreciate you spreading the word about direct reservations! Our website (or better yet, a phone call to our front desk!) is the absolute best way to ensure you get great rooms, at the lowest possible rate. With direct reservations, final charges are posted at departure and there are no service charges or deposits taken at the time of booking. Thanks again for helping to inform others about third parties and thank you for choosing the Ansonborough Inn! I hope to speak to you soon! Carrie
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAnsonborough Inn
The Studio King Room at the Ansonborough Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAnsonborough Inn
The Premium Loft at the Ansonborough Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAnsonborough Inn
The Premium Loft at the Ansonborough Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAnsonborough Inn
The Double Luxury Room at the Ansonborough Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAnsonborough Inn
The Admiral Suite at the Ansonborough Inn
PreviousNext
123456115
Is there a bar on the rooftop that serves cocktails?
The rooftop is open for you to use, you can bring your own beverages and I believe you can get some beverages on request, but there is no attended bar on the rooftop.
1 vote
Show all answers
Are there in-room coffeemakers? We need our coffee first thing in the morning!
Yep, all of our rooms have Keurig machines, plus there's GREAT coffee in the hospitality suite from 6:45am on! Thanks!
2 votes
Show all answers
What floor are the loft rooms on? The first-?
Sorry i dont know
0 votes
Show all answers
You mentioned that the studio was on the 3rd floor. Is there an elevator in the hotel?
Yes there is.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is the area safe around this hotel?
Very safe. The entire historic Charleston area is very safe. I am a police officer in Nashville so I am paranoid and notice stuff. this little town obviously keeps riff raff ran out because not once did I feel something was afoot. After Dark you will find occupies patrol cars sitting just sitting near places that are open and busy.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123456
"They are all good"
"Room 216 tucked away in corner - Quiet - away from elevator or cross traffic"
"I think the street level studio room would be a bit noisy with traffic from the street. We upgraded one level and had no issues."
"Don't choose the first floor!"
"I think I was in 204....unbelievable 20 foot ceilings...."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
USD 231 - USD 442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ansonborough hotel charleston
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaCharleston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing