We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Quarters on King

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Quarters on King
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 105: English reviews
Start your review of The Quarters on King
 Click to rate
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Fabulous place! We stay here for my 4oth birthday celebration. Perfect location! The rooms were very clean and everything was top-of-the line. Reed greeted us upon checkin. He was super nice and very helpful. We definetly plan to stay here again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephaniejX1144CV
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Quarters on King is a 200 year old building beautifully remodeled. We were given a third floor room and after the first night were given a second floor room at our request because of the significant number of stairs to the third floor. Our room was tastefully decorated and had two bedrooms and two baths. The shower in one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KateWheatRidge
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here over the 2017 Easter weekend, while visiting our daughter. The room was large and very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location can't be beat. We will stay here again if/When we return to Charleston.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jking77
Reid M, General Manager at The Quarters on King, responded to this review

Mr. King, We love that you and your family chose to spend the Easter with us at The Quarters on King! I am glad to hear that our staff was accommodating and that you enjoyed be in the heart of downtown Charleston. Let me know next time you are in town and we will be sure to take care you!...

Burlington, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a great time and loved it. However, If it were my 80 plus years parents or anyone that's handicapped. They need to be informed in advance of the three story climb and the three block parking. The condo is exactly what you see on the pics! My experience was great!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
Reid M, General Manager at The Quarters on King, responded to this review

Robin, Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review! We do our best to communicate the stairs for the property as well as the location of the parking lot. Clearly, we need to work on making that information more easily accessible. Thank again! All the best, Reid M.

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at our check-in time, room wasn't ready, wasn't ready over an hour later, so got downgraded, cleaning service started at 5:30am every morning we were there. Very loud. And the blonde receptionist was extremely unprofessional and disappointing. She was immature, inelegant and flat our rude. There were multiple couples in the lobby with us that were told their...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lizsO3085PT
Reid M, General Manager at The Quarters on King, responded to this review

Liz, I apologize for the less than perfect stay you experienced with us. It is always our goal to have the rooms ready by 3PM and on that day we failed. When I offered to move you into a one bedroom, instead of the two bedroom you requested, you accepted the offer and I discounted your rate due to the...

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A bit noisy because of the Bridge Run set-up but overall pleased. I will be coming back next year for certain. Love the location. Right in the heart of downtown. Much nicer than I expected. Room was perfect.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
Reid M, General Manager at The Quarters on King, responded to this review

Tony, The Bridge Run, while a big and fun event, does pose some challenges to our property. I hope the emails with information about road closures reached you ahead of time. It was our intention to notify all our guests about the difficulties of the weekend! Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again soon! All...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great value for the price, location is perfect amenities are very well stocked and replenished and having a serviced place is perfect. It was our first airbnb experience and we will certainly come back to this particular rental if they replace the very stained bedroom rug ;)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K8084OMmarie
Reid M, General Manager at The Quarters on King, responded to this review

Marie, Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! And yes, we are currently shopping for new rugs! The light colors, while nice, just show too much! Thanks for the information and give us a call next time you are in town! All the best, Reid M,

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The condo was very nice, the price was very reasonable and the location was super! The condo is right on King. We spent just one night, but would definitely recommend to others and use again in the future.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeAnn S
Reid M, General Manager at The Quarters on King, responded to this review

LeAnn, I am sorry that you could only spend one night with us, but next time, give us a call so that we may extend your future stays! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It really means a lot! All the best, Reid M.

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I have stayed at multiple luxury locations in Charleston, but this location currently rests above them all! I am reluctant only because now you know about this hidden gem. I am afraid that you will book it the next time I want to stay. You may get slightly better, somewhere, but you will spend 4 times as...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glendon L
Reid M, General Manager at The Quarters on King, responded to this review

Glendon, Thank you for the stellar review and sorry you had to share the secret! I was glad to hear that all the staff was so helpful and courteous. They make my job a lot easier! We look forward to seeing you again soon! All the best, Reid M.

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here in 2-bedroom, 2-bath apartment for a 2-day visit to Charleston. Clean, modern decor. The location on King is great, convenient for restaurants and just north of all the historic site-seeing. Full kitchen and separate bathrooms make it great for families. Only minor hassle is having to park 4 blocks away. Otherwise many great amenities, like keurig with Starbucks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ges5542
Reid M, General Manager at The Quarters on King, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review! We know that the parking lot being two blocks away, at the corner of George and Meeting Streets, is less than ideal. We do try to make the process as painless as possible with offer an unloading spot in front of the hotel and assisting with moving...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,727 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,680 reviews
The Restoration
#7 of 60 in Charleston
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
2,746 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Quarters on King provides the kind of privacy everyone expects and enjoys at home. More than hotel rooms, our one- and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens ensure no limit on personalizing the guest experience, going above and beyond what the typical hotel room offers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Quarters on King

Address: 292 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-1478
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $438 - $1,035 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Quarters on King 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Quarters on King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Quarters on King staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is no elevator, so request second floor room unless a steep stair climb is what you want. See third floor stairs pictured below.”
  • Third floor stairs from front door
KateWheatRidge, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Perfect 2 couple pad (2 bedroom) with pull-out for kids. Book early!”
glendonl2017, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Watch that last step on the stairs, it is higher than you think.”
joannebX7660CG, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If stairs are a problem these units are not for you. ”
729janett, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Must be able to walk two flights of stairs.”
Grandma_2_Leo, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5