We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,050 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,027: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
 Click to rate
Medford, New York
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel was clean and the free breakfast was great. The beds were very comfortable. The only surprise I had was that our room was on the 2nd floor. There are no elevators and I had to make three trips to get everything upstairs. When booking a room you can keep this in mind.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wiseone68
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here 4 days for our 24th Anniversary on our 2nd trip to Charleston. The rooms were immaculat, the grounds were beautifully landscaped and the common areas were tasteful. The staff was great. Short drive to the peninsula

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RogueWorldTraveler
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

A good option just a few miles from central Charleston with plentiful on-site parking. There’s a bus stop close to the hotel which has semi-regular services in and out of the city (just ask at reception for the schedule). It took us about 20 minutes to get downtown from the hotel on the bus. There are a couple of restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Twofortheworld
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Hi Twofortheworld ! Thank you for pointing out some of the positives we have of being here in the area. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope that you decide to stay with us again!

Portland, Maine, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is so nice for the price. Everything was very clean and felt up to date. The lobby area is lovely and the breakfast was pretty good. Beds and pillows were comfy,wifi worked well, nice sized fridge and microwave, and ample room in the sink area (separate from toilet and shower). The location is so nice as well, just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany E
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tiffany E, Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We really do appreciate the feedback. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. Our goal is to insure that our guests enjoy not only their stay in Charleston, but their visit with us as well. As we share these reviews...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Initially, I was a bit wary of this hotel because there are some negative reviews floating around. But, because of its close proximity to downtown Charleston and the lower price than any other hotels nearby, I decided to give it a try. And I must say that I wasn't disappointed. Check-in was handled professionally and courteously in the apparently recently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bradley G
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Bradley G, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We always appreciate the feedback we get from sites such as this one. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you were disappointed with your decision to stay with us. We do try to offer each guest a clean,...

Stow, MA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a pleasant hotel about four miles from the center of Charleston. Traffic can be heavy at rush hour, but otherwise it's an easy ride. Room was spacious and clean, with a comfortable bed. A main drawback was lack of fitness center: you can get a free pass to use a gym in a nearby mall, but obviously that's...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stowtraveller
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear stowtraveller, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your visit. We are always grateful for any feedback. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are quite proud of our pool area. We are so glad you noticed it. Hopefully you can return during the summer to...

New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was quiet. There were a number of places around to eat. The lobby was very neat and clean and well decorated and updated. Our room appeared to be recently redone. Room was clean and neat. Bathroom was new and very nice. Breakfast was really good and had quality foods to offer, and had everything. Very close to Charleston....

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dustyrusty56
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear dustyrusty56, Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your experience. We really appreciate the feedback we get from sites such as Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. We strive to offer each guest a clean, comfortable room with great service. It appears, in your case, we came close...

Athens, GA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this BW for 2 nights and were very satisfied with the stay. The rooms were clean, refrigerator was clean and worked well, linens and towels were clean and very adequate for our stay. The first night we were there the hotel was fully booked and we were a little concerned about noise. No need for concern; it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blueyesriding
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Blueyesriding, We're so glad that you and your furry friend enjoyed your stay with us! Talisha is one of our star team members here and I'm excited to share the kind review with her, I'm sure she'll appreciate it very much. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you come back to visit us again...

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Total experience at this Best Western was perfect. Couldn't have been any better. From check in to checking out every employee and quality of accommodations was excellent. Complimentary breakfast foods very good with wide variety of choices. Cost per night very reasonable.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Carol M, Thank you so much for posting your comments and also for choosing to stay with us! We're ecstatic that you had a great experience and we look forward to seeing you next time you're in visitng beautiful Charleston!

Liverpool, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was the best surprise of our trip. It was clean, and beautifully decorated. The grounds were very attractive. They had a nice breakfast and the staff was super friendly. It is only about 10 minutes from downtown Charleston and a beautiful drive in. Great value for what we paid. If I ever return to Charleston I will not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia H
Bill R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia H, We're thrilled to hear that you found our hotel to be the best surprise of your trip, that really means a lot to us! We strive to provide the best expereinecs possible, and hearing great feedback like this lets us know that we're doing a good job. Thank you for making us your go to destination while...

320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Pool (2)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (71)
Viewed
The Hotel (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.0 km away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#39 of 60 in Charleston
197 reviews
2.2 km away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.7 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
3.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn

Address: 1540 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7845 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sweetgrass Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $125 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sweetgrass Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It looked like it would be lovely to have a pool view room, but they all seemed like they would be nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 985tiffanye, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pet Friendly available on request”
 of 5 bubbles Shanghai-McCoy, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We like rooms on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles 379roberts379, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had room 120. Parked in front of room, in main building. Ice machine close. View of pool ( very nicely landscaped) very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles BarbaraB34, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I have only been on the back side”
 of 5 bubbles Z2038DEtinas, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5