We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

King Charles Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
King Charles Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,655 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for King Charles Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,622: English reviews
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 24 February 2015

The King Charles Inn was a great hotel for our trip to Charleston. The hotel is immaculately clean, the staff is friendly and helpful. I would recommend the King Charles Inn and will stay there during my next trip to Charleston.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate your kind words! I am glad you had a great time!

Anderson, South Carolina
Reviewed 24 February 2015

Based on the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor, I was a little disappointed in this property. First the good news. Hotel is ideally located on the northern end of the historic district, within easy walking distance of top notch restaurants, shopping and the old market stalls. Hotel common areas are undergoing renovation and are very attractive with lovely seating areas, a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FrankinSC
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your honesty. Although the hotel was built in 1959 and we cannot change the structure, we have however continued to upgrade everything from design to furnishings. There is always something that needs to be done and you are correct in noting the hallways. You will be happy to know we have several exciting projects in the horizon and...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 23 February 2015

Center of everything - even the free trolley is directly across the street as well as FIG - great restaurant w a walk up bar and communal table, and Jestines amazing Southern food on the other corner. I want to note that the staff was extremely helpful and knew lots about the town and things to do.. and I had...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 954wendy
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! I will certainly recognize Dimple for her helpfulness! Thank you also for nice review!

East Amherst, New York
Reviewed 23 February 2015

We like the location of this property. It is an easy walk to just about everything in Charleston. There have been a lot of changes in the property since our last visit. The lobby, common areas, and bar/restaurant have all been upgraded. It was a nice change. The parking garage is being redone as well. Part of it was already...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Henry D
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your loyalty! I am glad to have your repeat business! Have a pleasant day!

Kennett Sq, Pa
Reviewed 22 February 2015

This small hotel is right in the middle of everything and is reasonably priced. Friendly staff completes the experience. If you are looking for a hotel with an active pub and resterant this is not the place for you. If you want elegant friendly and quiet in the middle of everything this is your place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dickiebetz
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

I am happy to hear you enjoyed not only the great location but our service as well! Thank you for sharing your review with others!

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 20 February 2015

Enjoyed my stay at the King Charles Inn. Even though there was construction going on, the hotel was clean and the room was comfortable. It was convenient having a small refrigerator in the room. The location is wonderful, with great restaurants and shopping very close by. The staff was friendly also. One of the best things that the staff did...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank N M
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

I will certainly pass on your Kudos to Ross Transportation. It is nice to have a company be reliable and dependable! Thank you for choosing the King Charles Inn and whether its business or pleasure, I hope you will stay with us again!

Reviewed 20 February 2015

We paid €150 per night out of season. The King Charles was good value for money in the hub of the historic district. One of the reasons for choosing this hotel is the fact it offered free parking. On arrival we were disappointed to be informed by the doorman that the car park is under reconstruction and we need to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jon Dee J
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry if you did not receive the telephone call informing the guests about the temporary parking plan. Our Reservations department contacted each and every arrival to let them know we still offer complimentary parking whether it was across the street or in the adjacent lot. We appreciate your...

Gig Harbor, Washington
Reviewed 20 February 2015

We have just returned from a most enjoyable stay at this lovely inn. We didn't know anything at all about Charleston before booking a hotel and did we ever win! This hotel is not only charming with a very gracious staff, it is so well located on Meeting Street that we were able to walk everywhere with ease. The bistro...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pamm C
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the five star review! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit!

Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed 19 February 2015

The place is conveniently located on Meeting Street and about 3 blocks from the market stalls area. The rooms are nice (great mattresses) and have small refrigerators. Avoid the cheapest room since it is smaller and little room for spreading out suitcases. The next size up has plenty of room. A big plus is free parking, kind of rare for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bob R
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you found our rooms, services and location to fit your needs! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 19 February 2015

We Stayed overnight for a college visit . Property was clean, room was comfortable and hotel was well located. Price was good compared with other properties in the area. We had trouble due to storms in New England and hotel was helpful with flexibility with our reservation. Much appreciated! The Front desk provided a good recommendations for dinner. Very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mbjm17
KCIGM, General Manager at King Charles Inn, responded to this review

I am glad you made it home safe and sound! Thank you for staying with us!

704 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (257)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (94)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (396)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Bedded Room (89)
Viewed
Deluxe Junior Suite (96)
Viewed
King Bedded Room (86)
Viewed
Pool (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
2,689 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
2,703 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of Charleston's Historic District. Beautiful guest rooms feature hand-crafted furniture, flat screen HD TVs, Free Wifi and much more. The King Charles Inn is one of the only hotels in downtown that offers COMPLIMENTARY PARKING! Join us nightly in BREW Pub for complimentary snacks and Happy Hour. ... more   less 

Additional Information about King Charles Inn

Address: 237 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-1697
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $325 - $631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your King Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western King Charles Hotel Charleston
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Green Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from King Charles Inn staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question
Greenville, South Carolina
6 months ago
Nashville, Tennessee
Indiana
over a year ago
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
over a year ago

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from King Charles Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the north side face the parking lot, at least on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles datawest20, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get the luxury room”
 of 5 bubbles 245geq, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 241 overlooks Hassell Street (a commercial area), but is quiet at night”
  • So Homey and Welcoming
  • Simple Style, Nice Amenities
 of 5 bubbles HBSonGal, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sleeping for two people in one room with separate beds, choose 2 double beds, not a junior suite. Bathrooms are the same.”
 of 5 bubbles bonniebE5003ME, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“They are in the middle of the city. Ask for a room away from the street”
 of 5 bubbles Smith3835, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5