We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

692 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
See the most recent reviews
Showing 673: English reviews
McCormick, South Carolina
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night to bring furniture for my daughter at College of Charleston and appointment at MUSC. Very nice room- bed was extremely comfortable and check in desk person was super nice! Good breakfast also! Would stay again. Easy to get to also!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Cathy B, We are grateful for your stay with us and for your review. We are pleased you found us very convenient to MUSC and do hope you will choose to return to stay with us for any future visits to Charleston or MUSC. Best regards, HI Express Team

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel was quoted as historic downtown river No it's on a motorway awkward to turn into. The lobby furniture is old you can see where people have sat that many times cause the upholstery has worn away. The car park is very busy. So be warned The cabinet by the bed has been moved forward. Don't know why, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgiades1
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Georgiades1, We want to thank you for your stay and review of our property. We are not located in the 'Historic District' of Charleston, but we are located downtown on the peninsula which is fairly quaint. It is approx 1.5 miles wide and just over 3 miles long. There was never any intent to mislead or claim we were...

Reviewed 4 August 2016

We were visiting Charleston with friends from the US and chose this hotel based on price as the hotels in downtown Charleston were very expensive. With hindsight we should have paid the extra money to stay a little closer to downtown. The hotel itself was fine but I would not want to walk round the area at night on my...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank PandyPandora
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear PandyPandora, We appreciate you staying with us while visiting with friends from the US and spending some time in Charleston. We thank you for your comments and feedback and do hope you will stay with us again in the future should you return to the area. Best regards, HI Express Team

Manassas, Virginia
Reviewed 3 August 2016

The hotel is in a great location. It was very easy to get to various locations such as Folly Beach. Driving in downtown Charleston can be challenging with all the one-way streets. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a Keurig in our room, and the complimentary breakfast bar was excellent. The only downside was that there didn't seem...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christina K
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Christina K, We wanted to thank you for your review of your comfortable stay in Charleston. We greatly appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope you will be back again soon. Best regards, HI Express Team

Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We only stayed one night but it is an excellently maintained hotel. The room was spotless and bathroom was very clean. They entire hotel smelled clean and looked contemporary. They offer free breakfast and had a small gym that we took advantage of. The staff was extremely friendly, polite, and helpful. They are really what confirmed the 5/5 rating. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Aaron S, We greatly appreciate you choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express while visiting Charleston. Thank you for your review and we hope you will return again soon. Best regards, HI Express Team

Reviewed 2 August 2016

I would not recommend this hotel. The front desk staff is rude. Located far from downtown. They do not provide shuttle to nearby areas. They kept on referring me to walk over to the Marriott within walking distance to use their shuttle. The view is horrible. Location is in the middle of nowhere. Hard to get to from the highway....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edmundlee
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Edmundlee, We would like to apologize for the experience you had with us during your recent stay at our property. We are sorry you had an unsatisfactory stay. We do not have a shuttle, but the Free DASH Transportation system does come by the hotel on Lockwood Drive and go to King & Meeting Streets by the Visitor's Center....

Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel was easy to find, they might want a bigger sign though. Very close to downtown and the beaches. The rooms were clean, breakfast wasn't bad, and the people were very friendly. We had asked for extra towels when I made the reservation, at the desk during checkin they gave the towels because they knew they hadn't been left...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tara D
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Tara D, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. I am glad you were able to explore our city and try our staff's recommendations. We are fortunate to be located downtown and also close to the beaches! We hope to...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

This was my 2nd stay there for some medical procedures at MUSC and my mom came with me. The hotel was great with her and in accommodating our dates since I didn't know how long I would be in the hospital. Will be calling in the am for another stay on Aug.5th for post-op visit but bringing my son to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor! I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel and will be returning. We strive to provide exceptional customer service and I am delighted to hear that our staff was accommodating to your needs. We do offer Keurig machines in every...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 21 July 2016

A group of us stayed here 1 night while attending the Charleston Riverdogs game last week. It is very close to the ballpark, which was a plus for us, but is not all that close to downtown Charleston. They have a 4 PM check in, and at least based on our experience, you should not plan on being able to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tim R
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear Tim R, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear you had an overall enjoyable experience in Charleston and at our hotel. We are fortunate to be within 2 miles of the historic district and also close to the baseball stadium! RiverDogs games are a wonderful summer time activity. We...

Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Two day trip to Charleston, SC. Booked a hotel that states it's in downtown Charleston....not so much. It was about a 15 minute drive to down town. It's in a ok neighborhood. It was not what I was expecting and I probably will not stay there again. The whole hotel smelled like smoke. They were working on the roof but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leah b
Tyler D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review

Dear leah b, We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and thank you for your feedback. The HI Express is located on the Charleston Peninsula Downtown which in its entirety is 3 miles long and 1.5 miles wide. We are sorry you felt it was too far from where you wanted to be for your stay. We do hope...

310 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Double Queen Standard Room (33)
Viewed
Double Queen View Room (38)
Viewed
King Leisure Room (26)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
1.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 km away
No photo provided
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 60 in Charleston
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Address: 250 Spring St, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5102
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $224 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Brookfield, Connecticut
6 months ago
San Angelo, Texas
8 months ago
over a year ago
Wilmington, Delaware
over a year ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel until construction is complete.........”
  • front of building
  • Gravel driveway....
  • view from room 803
  • view from room 803
 of 5 bubbles 89francesm, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors away from the construction are better.”
 of 5 bubbles JaimeH601, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't pay extra for a riverview!”
  • Electrical outlet without cover, yikes!
  • Bathroom curtain would not stay open beyond this
  • Our sliver of a riverview from the 5th floor
  • Change left behind by those previously in the room
  • My
  • Our sliver of a riverview from the 5th floor
 of 5 bubbles NCRNmom, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try for floors 7 or 8 to at least get a view and try the river side”
 of 5 bubbles curtreich, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“River side rooms have nicer view.”
 of 5 bubbles Dougal71, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5