We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley

678 Citadel Haven Dr, Charleston, SC 29414-5642
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • American Military Museum
    0.7 km
  • 2 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 2 days ago
First Time in Charleston
Very convenient hotel, hotel was well kept. I enjoyed the social... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

781 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 777: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very convenient hotel, hotel was well kept. I enjoyed the social hour with complementary beverage and foods. Staff were extremely nice. Morning breakfast had nice assortment of foods, quality was excellent.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stay at a fair number of Hilton properties. This Hampton Inn & Suites seems to have recently refreshed - both in the rooms and public spaces. The staff (Fine) at the desk were helpful and prompt, so all in all, a good values. I did book this on the Hilton website - I believe the company is working hard...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eric W
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Clean and friendly staff. Rooms are a little dated but clean and perfect for work trips. Staff very friendly and helpful!! Breakfast has a great variety. Parking is a little limited but close to the highway!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daahern
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Bed Bugs......... room 416. Disgusted. I've been a Hilton honors diamond member for going on 5 years now, never ever had this happen. I travel weekly. Disgusted. Don't worry they refunded my company "last night since it happened last night" when I stayed two nights... oh and they offered to buy me a new suitcase since I had to throw...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank saragE4516YO
Greenwood,sc
Reviewed 1 week ago

We rented a suite with a jucuzzi that was very relaxing . The Heat in the room worked well and was very responsive. The hotel clerks were very informative on which restaurants were local favorites. Extremely great value to be in the heart of Charleston...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alfredgt
Sabrina H, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive words about our hotel! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. Our Jacuzzi room sure is comfortable! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future!

Augusta GA, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is in need of major renovations and no up to Hampton Inn standards or cost. Would have asked my money back if I had paid full price. Probably still should since I did have to use over 12000 HHonors points for my discount. The hot part of the breakfast was terrible. Rubber fried eggs and cold sausage.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank danbP3776AP
Sabrina H, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give our hotel a thoughtful review. I am so sorry you did not have an enjoyable experience with us. This is certainly not the type of visit we strive to give all of our guests. For the inconvenience, we have compensated the night of your stay and returned 50k points back to your...

Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Thank you for making our stay pleasant! All the staff were very friendly smiling faces. Much appreciated. The lobby and breakfast area was very welcoming and woman taking care of breakfast was very efficient.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmzfla
Sabrina H, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt welcomed. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future!

Knoxville, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here before our cruise. Traffic around this area is hectic but the shuttle to and from the cruise port is excellent! Rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast selection is great. There is a CVS, a grocery store and a mall next to the hotel in case you forget anything.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
Sabrina H, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback! We're ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! Hope you had a blast on the cruise, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Irmo SC, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was acceptable but not to the level of a Hampton Inn. Requested a whirlpool room which was in a corner. Hot water was minimal. Worst hotel experience in a while. I have stayed at Hampton Inns in the past so I was disappointed this trip.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ernestine S
Sabrina H, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give our hotel a thoughtful review. I am so sorry about the negative experience you had while staying with us, however I'm glad we had a chance to speak over the phone. If there is anything further we can do to make things right for you, please do not hesitate to let us...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff of this hotel is second to none. Very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is beautiful and inviting. It always smells fresh and is very clean. Sitting by the fireplace with always fresh coffee/cocoa and cookies is wonderful. Close to many shopping and eating areas. Downtown very convenient. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickey33
Sabrina H, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! We are so happy to hear about how comfortable you were while staying with us! Our fireplace sure is a nice feature, especially when the cookies are out in the evening! We hope to see you again in the future!

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
0.6 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
6.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
14.1 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
7.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Charleston/West Ashley is near downtown historic Charleston, off of Highway 17, close to Citadel Mall, golf courses, and West Ashley historic plantations. Wake up to a free hot breakfast before venturing out in Charleston. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley

Address: 678 Citadel Haven Dr, Charleston, SC 29414-5642
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $162 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn West Ashley
Charleston Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#25 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
North Carolina
over a year ago
Hazlet, New Jersey
over a year ago
Simpsonville, South Carolina

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Odd number rooms overlook the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles 699ericw, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I was on first floor, which was great.”
 of 5 bubbles tonivg, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms good”
 of 5 bubbles Spicysince2001, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“High floors are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Jack2960, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“It is a quiet hotel”
 of 5 bubbles A9218ASjamesl, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5